We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Snug in Snowdonia!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Aran Cottage

Aran Cottage - front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aran Cottage - front view
kitchen diner small double
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
50 reviews
Aran Cottage - front view
kitchen diner
small double
Master bedroom
Snug - lounge
lounge off kitchen
Kitchen diner
Kitchen diner
Master Bedroom
Double bedroom
Small double room
Small double room
Twin room
Additional toilet
Main bathroom
Local area
The grounds
The front of the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bluenbell...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Snug in Snowdonia!”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a last minute break in Snowdonia and owing to a cancellation Claire was able to do us an amazing deal. We have stayed on the sight previously but wanted to upgrade to a larger property. We were not disappointed! Aran Cottage is snug and shabby chic in the best way - you really feel at home. The wine, bread, milk and chocolates on arrival are a lovely touch. The property is dog friendly and the hounds loved it. Based at the foot of Snowdonia this is the perfect location for walking. Claire will even act as an emergency contact which is very reassuring when walking in the area. The bathroom is large and practical not luxurious but perfect if you were getting a large group out on time and ample for just the two of us . If you are looking for cosy comfy accommodation then this is the place for you. A tiny minor point would be that other guests use the path which is in front of the property - if your dogs bark at strangers then this could be a problem - ours were fine though! The log burner was a fabulous addition for the cooler evenings and the beds were soft and feathery! We feel sure that we will return again and again. Thanks to Claire for a lovely lovely stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open plan kitchen
Liked least: Wished the outside space was a little more private
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen989
Bridlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect location”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

As a party of 7 adults we found Aran Cottage to be spacious and very well-equipped. We were made very welcome by the owner and the location is perfect for a walking holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spaciousness & equipment
Liked least: grubby windows
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict...
1 review
“North Wales is wonderful and the cottage made it all the better.”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Arrived and all was ready for us, the wine was a nice touch. The children settled in straight away although we were surprised that though it is a dog friendly site there were no kennels.
The cottage is just right and everything was clean, tidy and working and the kitchen was properly equipped with LARGE pans.
You couldn't stay closer to the summit of Snowdon if you tried and it was perfect for walking, swimming and climbing.
We have really enjoyed our holiday and will recommend Red Dragon to anyone.
Many thanks Claire, Neil and all the staff.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our stay at Aran cottage was better than we expected. The cottage is very spacious and had everything you could need for a short or long stay. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Aran is set within a beautiful area and we will definitely be staying again.
Highly recommended for a short or long break with all ages, (our age range was 5 - 54).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What an amazing cottage to stay in, clare and the staff are really friendly and helpful. The cottage has everything you need and is very clean and comfortable, this was our second stay at the cottage and we will definitely be staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoner666
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I can highly recommend this cottage, plenty of room and perfect for larger groups. Good location and only 15 mins to Llanberis route up Snowdon. There is another path near cottage but we wanted the gradual one!! Logs and wifi could be booked so great as no mobile signal. Lovely big fridge essential for the Tesco shop we had delivered! Owners will take delivery iand unpack if you give them notice. Everything you need!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen/lounge area
Liked least: Shower / bath
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jones8220...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely clean and cosy cottage in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Clare was very helpful in the run up to the stay. The cottage was easy to find. When we arrived there we were greeted by a bottle of wine and some other little treats in the kitchen!

The cottage was lovely, clean and well kept. It had great facilities and all kitchen equipment you would need. It was a perfect layout for a group of friends or family, however it would be much better to put the pull out bed in the separate living room so that it could in effect work as another bedroom when there are more than 8 people staying which we had.

On leaving we were surprised to hear we had to strip our own beds, something a few of us found a little cheeky...especially considering you have to be out by 10am and there is only one shower for ten people to use! It was a bit of a rush but we managed it :)

Overall we had the perfect weekend away with beautiful surroundings and in a cottage which is obviously very well cared for. I wish I could do it all over again!

I would highly recommend and definitely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing