We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince Llewelyn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Beddgelert B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 9, 2011

we have stayed at the prince Llywelyn on two occasions now, and i must say both times we where met with a warm and happy welcome, from the outside of the building it was very pictures, on entering the building, we found the decor a bit dated, but hay you are in a country bodkin part of the world, we found the owners Andrea and Gary very helpful and friendly, they could not do enough for us, the rooms where basic, coffee and tea making facilities, shower, (not much pressure in the water), toilet and a wash basin, the view from the window was to die for, if you like that kind of thing, witch i do, the bar area was cosy and very welcoming, the locals also very friendly, the food was good, over all i found the prince a very nice place to stay, excellent location, nice friendly people, good food,warm, if your looking for a 5 star hotel with satellite TV. and a lift to your room, then this place is NOT for you,

we are already planning are next visit to beddgelert and the Prince Llywelyn is a must for us,

Room Tip: the view of the river looking over the bridge, a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 142 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

Have been going to the Prince for a good 15 years now....During that time, it's always been tired and needing updating, (being just rooms above a pub) but the previous managers and manageresses have always had warmth and character, making up for the other missing qualities. Sadly after this last stay in September, I will not be returning. The new managers are quiet, and quite hands-off. Breakfast nowadays, is a do it yourself job of cereals and toast. The mattresses are now so bad, that I had terrible backache. I had emailed the Prince a week ahead of time asking for a four night stay...no response. I think I woud prefer to camp or stay in one of the lovely b and bs in the village than stay here again. Also, a first, I was asked to pay upfront on my arrival!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Manageress and staff was really nice but rooms tired and basic, not even a glass in the bathroom no tv no lamps burnt carpets ,very poor all round. The only good thing I can say about this Hotel is the bedding was clean and location is good!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Had not planned to stay at the Prince, unfortunately due to a mechanical breakdown I ended up there overnight, agreed as previous comments the place is well past it's sell by date.

However chatting to the pleasant and friendly staff including the new Landlady Gwenda who has only been in residence a few weeks, the place is soo to be completely refurbished to a very hight standard, the food quality was excellent, the rooms were basic, but CLEAN, I was there on a nice warm evening so no complaints about the temperature.

in my eyes somewhere I will definately be visiting in the future, in fact a good location for motorcycling the welsh roads, good food, decent pint and fiendy extremely helpfull staff :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maldwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We were quite worried after reading the reviews about this hotel. Yes it is basic, yes it is a bit dated but the welcome was friendly, the food and service was very good, the rooms though cold in the evening were clean. What do you expect for the moderate cost of the room compared to other hotels in the area.

We got chatting to the Manager (who had only just taken over the week before) and they are aware of the problems that they have at the moment and there are plans in place for major renovation at the end of the year, starting with central heating in the next month or so. Lets hope the place doesnt lose its character after the renovations.

We had a really good weekend there and will definitely go back there to stay

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jones42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

decided to stay here after many declining years at the saracens head, only to find out the saracens owners have now got this hotel as well.

so. no t.v no bulbs in any bedsite lights (in fact no lampshades). no glass in some window panes, and a chef who looks like he has just come up from the mines.

This stay was so bad ,we booked out (in a hurry) and unfortunatley left some things behind which have not been returned.

STAY AWAY!!!!!!!

Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
1  Thank shapendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We were meant to be camping in Wales, however under torrential rain we gave up. We wanted somewhere basic and cheap to stay. This place fit the bill pretty well. There were no mod cons, however the room was clean and we were so glad to be out of the rain. the place was very quiet and we were pretty much allowed to choose our room. It's a rabbit warren of corridors, with rooms everywhere. Our room was very dated, and was straight out of the 1970s. It is a long time since i have seen carpeted walls and a turquoise bathroom suite this took me back to my childhood. We were the only people in the pub and the land lord kept serving us till quite late on. This place needs a refurb both pub and room wise, but as mentioned was cheap and cheerful, and when there's so much to do in the area you don't want to spend it in the room anyhow.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lagermaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
0.1 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
241 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Plas Tan y Graig
Plas Tan y Graig
#1 of 12 in Beddgelert
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Saracens Head
The Saracens Head
#3 of 12 in Beddgelert
389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sygun Fawr Country House
Sygun Fawr Country House
#2 of 12 in Beddgelert
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Llewelyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Llewelyn Hotel

Address: Smith Street | Gwynedd, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4LT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Price Range: $81 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Prince Llewelyn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Have recently taken this Hotel over in the past few months as a manager to accomodate for better standards and keeping up our reputation for excellent traditional quality locally produced food at a reasonable price with a good selection on the children's menu and an outstanding reputation for real ale, lagers, ciders and a selection of fine wines. We are renound for being a children and dog friendly hotel and we are now working on our rooms re-decorating them but they all have a new comfortable bed with fresh linen and a flat screen TV with built in DVD player to make your stay as cosy as possible for a budget priced hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Prince Llewelyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Llewelyn Hotel Beddgelert, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing