We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting visit”
Review of Sygun Copper Mine

Sygun Copper Mine
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very different from most mines in the fact that its a self guided tour. We visited on a quiet day (in fact we were the only people in the whole mine!). The countryside is amazing as the village we drove through, the heart of snowdonia national park. We were given a piece of paper with instructions which guided us through the mine and this made the experience one to remember for a while. We climbed the 186 steps and the views at the top were breath taking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    160
    105
    34
    35
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
674 reviews
392 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Good Family Day Out”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went here on the 11th May ad it was fab. We had planned to go up snowdon however the weather was absolutely dire and the car park full despite the fact it was barely 8am, so we came here instead. Set in gorgeous countryside next to a lake and between huge hills! We came quite early and it was quiet but by the time we left the car park was about 2/3 full. We took our dog in the caves and she was quite happy, there are approximately 100 steps that are very steep but she coped fine as she is quite big but if you had a smaller dog you would have to carry them. The customer service was great, with a little cafe, shop and a museum and the self guided tour was very easy to follow. There are push pads at certain areas, which you have to press to activate the info, which was pleasantly up beat and very informative. We were in there about an hour and 10 minutes and would be more than happy to go again. The 2 walks around the site are also very beautiful next to the fast flowing river and the open lake.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ZBH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting Visit”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I visited recently and thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Yes you get handed a basic piece of paper with directions but what more do you need. Walking into the small tunnel entrance and walking along was a little spooky to start with but once you grow accustomed its a very interesting walk around a mine finding out how we used to work. The 186 steps up through the mine are quite steep so you need to take your time but there are stop off points on the way but the view at the exit of the mine make the trip up well worth it. It was a clear day and the view was breath taking. Stayed for a cup of tea and pasty in the café which were very nice and reasonably priced. Went to a slate mine on the same weekend and thought Sygun was a much better experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lacklustre”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Paid £23 for 1 adult and 2 children. Charged an extra £1 for the privilege of using a debit card. Handed a laminated sheet with brief instruction on the tour. Basically walk into a hole press a button and listen to semi interesting information with basically nothing to see. I would avoid unless you are very interested. You see a hole in the ground and no industry. £9 for an adult is a ridiculous price.

Beautiful valley but mine itself is extreme disappointment if they charged £3 for an adult I would consider it value. Otherwise avoid... Typical example of ripoff Britain.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely find”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Have read some of the previous reviews and can only say that if you are expecting some kind of interactive Disney experience then go elsewhere. If you are interested in social/industrial history and are prepared to spend some time and effort this place is great. You are given a hard hat and a laminated card then off you go. I've visited a lot of show caves and this place reminds me of them, it's dark, drippy and has a lot of steps. We were lucky to be the only people there at the time so we could take our time and listen to each of the audio presentations. I wouldn't like to be there in peak season because if you really are interested then you wouldn't want to be having to share the confined space with lots of impatient people. The view when you finally emerge into daylight is fab and there is a path so you can go up even higher. There are a lot of steps and they charge for paying with a card but overall I thought it was great, informative and quirky.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jax051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sygun Copper Mine also viewed

Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
 

Been to Sygun Copper Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing