We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really really narrow road access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sygun Fawr Country House
Ranked #1 of 11 Beddgelert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really really narrow road access”
Reviewed August 14, 2010

What an absolute delight snowdonia is. Sygun Fawr is hidden away and access is via a really narrow road. There's no guarantee you'll be the only one on the road so be prepared to reverse. Ruth is a delightful host and the staff are very attentive to your needs. The rooms are smallish and ours looked onto a wall, a shame when the mountains are so beautiful but it is peak season and the House was full. The bar and conservatory are lovely places to have a drink and anticipate a beautiful dinner

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    34
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
140
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

I found this hotel very disappointing. The place itself was quite hard to find and the road up to it was very precarious to say the least!! The hotel looked very welcoming pity that could not be said for Ruth, the owner. We were informed that as we were not staying for dinner she would not be opening up the bar and if we needed her for anything to ring a bell as she was going back to her home!! Not a great start but then it got worse wehn she showed us our room. The hotel at this time was quite empty so my partner and i were very surprised when she put us in a bleak room facing a wall. The amenities were also very poor in the room, no radio which my partner likes very much. Many of my friends love to visit North Wales and i have recommended many places to them to stay but Sygun Fawr would certainly not be one of them!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank NWilliams94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We were on a schedule and only had one day in Beddgelert. We arrived in the rain, and were warmly welcomed by Ruth. We also ate dinner in the inn's restaurant, which was delicious and served piping hot by friendly and warm staff. Our rooms were spotlessly clean, and the triple (a double with fold-out sofa) was huge and comfy. The double room was a little cramped, but still very clean, with delightfully fresh linens. Breakfast was delicious, prompt, and a great start to the day. The layout of the inn is very homey, with a conservatory, small bar, and restaurant all snugged together on the first floor.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborTownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in London
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Sygun Fawr definitely exceeded our expectations. The room was lovely and the food excellent. The staff is very friendly and was rather helpful in planning our hiking in the area. Overall, a great value for the money and a pleasant experience. If we are ever back in the area we would be pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeepGorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We went to celebrate a Birthday and what a wonderful time we had. Ruth and her staff were great and did all they could to make our stay a memorable one( it was)
Jim in the kitchen provided some great food and Doris and Aled catered for our every need
We arrived in the dark and I was back to the days when I followed the RAC rally around the forests of Wales tight and twisty and up and up. Next day Wow what a view and peace and quiet.The rooms were superb,warm and comfortable
A great base to discover Snowdonia or just relax
We can't wait to return
p.s They do a lovely English Breakfast!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skinna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2009

A brilliant place to explore snowdonia or just chill out surronded by magnificent scenery. You can walk up Snowdon from your door.Tasty breakfast freshly cooked and delicious evening meals.Rooms comfortable and clean.Plenty of space to relax in the bar and conservertory.
Staff welcoming and friendly, very accommodating.
Overall we had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex,uk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

This hotel is fantastic .We stayed for 2 nights this week to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary ,

The owners made us very welcomeand the food was out of this world .

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice quiet break .

Will be back next year .

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micksussexuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
0.5 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.7 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
11.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
526 reviews
13.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sygun Fawr Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sygun Fawr Country House

Property: Sygun Fawr Country House
Address: Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sygun Fawr Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sygun Fawr is located in the heart of North Wales' beautiful Snowdonia National Park, just a short walk away from the picturesque village of Beddgelert.Set within 22 acres of mountainside and gardens, peace and tranquillity are assured at this ultimate mountain retreat offering an idyllic setting for exploring the magnificent natural beauty and the dramatic scenery of North Wales' coasts and mountains.Located in an unrivalled position our style is relaxed, friendly and informal and is the ideal base for walking, mountain biking, relaxing or touring the nearby castles and historical sites. There is something to suit all tastes in this beautiful part of Wales.Nestled into the hillside and built of solid stone, Sygun Fawr has exposed walls, oak beams and inglenooks, which all add to the traditional character, ambience and atmosphere of this unique country house.We offer bed and breakfast with the option of dinner and have a residential licence - our restaurant has featured in the Michelin Guide for 5 consecutive years. We aim to make your visit as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Sygun Fawr has a home from home atmosphere and we are sure that you will enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sygun Fawr Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sygun Fawr Country House Hotel Beddgelert
Sygun Fawr Country House Beddgelert, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing