We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and idyllic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sygun Fawr Country House
Ranked #1 of 11 Beddgelert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Benfleet
2 reviews
“Fabulous and idyllic place”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband's famiy of eight spent 3 nights in this lovely place managed by Ruth, who runs the place with her husband. She is an amazing cook and a very accommodating person. The rooms were impeccable and had the most amazing views. We had a lovely time there and we will definitely be going back for another visit .

Room Tip: All the rooms were comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    34
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
138
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here whilst pursuing a painting course. The hotel is cosy, warm and very friendly. The bed was lovely and comfortable and the facilities good. The food was excellent with good wine to wash it down! The views from my bedroom window were to die for. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin4847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here for a night in early September and found it to be a quiet and homely venue, which is ideal for staying right in the middle of the National Park. The room was clean and comfortable with stunning views. The proprietors friendly and happy to help us with arrange transport from a local wedding venue late at night. The hotel also has a great homely bar and restaurant area all at a very reasonable rate.

Only two (very minor) issues; the small road leading to the hotel is very narrow and can be a little hairy especially if you happen to drive a larger / wider vehicle - a heads-up rather than a criticism. There was also no TV in my room, which considering you are in the middle of Snowdonia shouldn't really be an issue but I know some people may find this to be an issue.

All-in-all, a great little country house to use as a base to visit the area and I would definitely stay again given the opportunity to do so.

Room Tip: My room only had a shower so if you do want a bath, ask beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhyd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We recently spent our honeymoon here, the staff were all friendly and happy to help where they could. it has amazing views and the rooms are well presented and offers a homely atmosphere, great value for money, the food is just amazing and we will be returning in the very near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samhallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently attended at a venue near to Beddgelert and decided to make this our base for the weekend. Upon researching the most appropriate hotel/bed and breakfast to book, I was taken by how bad the majority of the reviews were for places which usually crop up on search engines or lists under general tourist board sites. Equally, the pictures that were presented on respective websites were really not up to much.

Our last real chance was to search the Welsh Rarebits website and its affiliate 'Places of Distinction', where I noted that Sygun Fawr was listed. Having stayed in some of their establishments before, I trusted in ths general standard and booked a standard double for two nights via the telephone. In calling Sygun Fawr, I spoke to the owners' son Owen who was nothing but helpful in describing the rooms available and providing general directions/information on the area.

We were met by Ruth, who showed us to our room and provided a most helpful overview of what to do and the best options. Having looked over the dinner menu, we had already made up our mind to eat at Sygun Fawr on that first evening, but we were more than willing to pass on this knowledge to other wedding guests staying in the area. The food at Sygun Fawr was not a disappointment - Ruth is a wonderful cook as has already been mentioned in previous reviews. My partner had a slow-cooked lamb shank, with berry jus (correct me if I am wrong Ruth!) and home made mash, which she rates as the best that she has ever had. My chicken dish was also exceptional. The price of the food is very good value for money and I would recommend to any potential guests that they look to dine there...and maybe also non-residents.

The bar is small, but stocks an impressive range of spirits and beers. The spectrum of local ales is actually very impressive. Lounge space is varied and very relaxed - be it the conservatory, the adjacent Chesterfield populated room or even the space abutting the bar itself.

Sygun Fawr is found to the east of the village of Bedgelert, accessible from the main road by a single width track, with a healthy slope just before you arrive at your destination. It is an easy walk in to the village...save if you are accomapanied by your other half who is wearing heels! As it is a private lane, we also had reservations about using this at nightime upon our return from the wedding when it was going to be pitch-dark. When discussing this with Owen, he reassured us that it wasn't so bad, but neverthless volunteered to provide us with a lift not only from the bottom of the lane but from the venue itself some 3 miles away. This was going beyond the level of service one would expect and he would not accept any gratuity for his efforts. May I take this opportunity to thank him once again via this forum.

Overall, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Sygun Fawr, which is an exceptionally well-run family establishment.

Room Tip: Some rooms have baths and others showers. If you have a preference, then please indicate that when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thegeufron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a really enjoyable family celebration at Sygun Fawr over a long week end at the end of July. The hotel is situated in the most beautiful mountainous countryside. There are hikes for all abilities and the picnic we took with us from the hotel one lunch time was just incredible. Breakfast is traditional British, supper delicious and imaginative, all meals using fresh local produce. The rooms are very comfortable (our family and friends occupied several), the bathrooms with heated towel rails and everything impeccably clean. The hospitality, information provided on the area and Wales at the hotel and the generosity of Ruth and her staff to our family and friends will be remembered by us all. We highly recommend this hotel. Elizabeth and Hans, Switzerland

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a lovely few days at Sygun Fawr at the end of July. Ruth and her team made my husband and I, and our four children very welcome and was attentive to our every need, without being intrusive. We ate all our meals at the country house and enjoyed all the fresh local ingredients and Ruth's wonderful cooking! Ruth was even more than happy to make us a very delicious and generous picnic and gave us recommendations for different walks/hikes and locations to have our picnic. Even though the guest house has set times for meals, Ruth is extremely accommodating and will cater to your needs.
We were at the guest house for a family celebration. There were 12 adults and 4 children. Ruth and her team were more than capable to make us all feel comfortable and looked after.
If you are looking for a relaxing environment in an idyllic setting, this is the guest house for you. We will most certainly return!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 which is their biggest room. View of the garden and a hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FourGreenPeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
7.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.7 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
220 reviews
13.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
13.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sygun Fawr Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sygun Fawr Country House

Property: Sygun Fawr Country House
Address: Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sygun Fawr Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sygun Fawr is located in the heart of North Wales' beautiful Snowdonia National Park, just a short walk away from the picturesque village of Beddgelert.Set within 22 acres of mountainside and gardens, peace and tranquillity are assured at this ultimate mountain retreat offering an idyllic setting for exploring the magnificent natural beauty and the dramatic scenery of North Wales' coasts and mountains.Located in an unrivalled position our style is relaxed, friendly and informal and is the ideal base for walking, mountain biking, relaxing or touring the nearby castles and historical sites. There is something to suit all tastes in this beautiful part of Wales.Nestled into the hillside and built of solid stone, Sygun Fawr has exposed walls, oak beams and inglenooks, which all add to the traditional character, ambience and atmosphere of this unique country house.We offer bed and breakfast with the option of dinner and have a residential licence - our restaurant has featured in the Michelin Guide for 5 consecutive years. We aim to make your visit as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Sygun Fawr has a home from home atmosphere and we are sure that you will enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sygun Fawr Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sygun Fawr Country House Hotel Beddgelert
Sygun Fawr Country House Beddgelert, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing