We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Caffi Gwynant

Caffi Gwynant
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Beddgelert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Caffi Gwynant (Gwynant Café) is located near the base of the Watkin Path up Snowdon in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park in North Wales. It is an ideal place for a drink or food before or after a walk to the summit of Snowdon, or if you are just touring Snowdonia.
Livingston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Found this place after Snowdon on route to Portmeirion. Excellent food and great service. I would recommend the ice cream.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulLivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    25
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Only had some waffles and bacon for breakfast but it was excellent and great value.

Right next to the start of the Watkin path too so perfect for a pre climb feed

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l3nny600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Breakfast”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A really fantastic place to get breakfast before a walk and just what the Nantgwynant side of Snowdon has needed for many years. Great selection of food, from toast and jam to a full breakfast. My mate is a fussy vegetarian and they were happy to change the standard veggie breakfast for him. The homemade flapjack is great to take on a walk, and is both tasty and rucksack proof! Oh and the cakes are almost a spiritual experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ice cream fly by”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stopped for ice cream, owners were nice, polite, and happy. Alls good. Would have stayed for food but we were off back to our rented cottage at Red Dragon down the road. Looks a superb place and the food looked very nice. Will be back, boots un all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ffdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely place to top up energy levels after a lakeside walk”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stopped at Cae Du campsite, and took a short walk up to the Sygun Copper Mine. From there we decided to walk around the nearby lake. The description said that the walk was all on level ground but this is not the case if as we did, you continue along the right hand side of the lake. There the going can be muddy, and you do have an increase in gradient and a decrease in path conditions. Still very enjoyable though. Anyway we eventually resurfaced at the top end of the lake and took the path back down to the main road. If you take this route and then look to your right you will see the café sign. We were expecting a shack in a layby, but instead we found a lovely little café located in what looks to be a converted chapel. There is also a lovely little covered sun terrace, where dogs are allowed.
We were delighted to find that in addition to teas and coffees, we could also buy Copper Dragon bottled beer , lagers or cider.
The Café offers breakfasts, light bites and main meals. We don't usually eat much at lunchtime so we shared a delicious lamb burger (£5.50) served with caramelised onions and salad, and finished off with a really yummy scone with jam and clotted cream (bliss)!
The service was excellent and the staff very friendly. The café seems to be very popular with cyclists. It is suitable for persons requiring wheelchair access.
Would definitely call here again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KaraokeSue7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffi Gwynant also viewed

Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
 
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Caffi Gwynant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing