We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY”
Review of Royal Goat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Goat Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beddgelert
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“GREAT STAY”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Went with a coach party for 5 nights in July 2014. The staff were very friendly and welcoming nothing too much trouble. The food was very good and there was plenty of choice, with good sized portions especially breakfast.The room we stayed in was clean and bed comfy would recommend.
Enjoyed our stay and it was in a beautiful location.
Mr & Mrs C Floyd

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    94
    49
    16
    9
See reviews for
37
77
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and absolutely loved it! Our room was very affordable and looked like we were staying in a palace! Service was good ,breakfast was yummy and staff were friendly and helpful! Thank you royal goat hotel !

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a great week in Beddgelert in a house by the river. During our stay we ate out every night and all the food was excellent - except this place.
It was my parents Diamond wedding anniversary, telegram from the queen, everything, very special day. The mistake we made was choosing the Royal Goat for our evening meal they ruined everything.
After waiting 3/4 hour to be served My father in law and I had inedible, grossly overcooked food and when this was pointed out we were met with a shrug of shoulders "would we like to choose something else?" - (and wait another 3/4 of an hour???).
No apology, no chef popping his head out to find out whats wrong, no manager to talk to, ( I left my name and number for him )
We walked out in disgust and ate elsewhere.
There are plenty of excellent eating places in and around Beddgelert do yourself a big favour.....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beddgelert hotels

sthelens
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in the royal goat hotel for two days while we attend a family wedding in Bangor the staff can't do enough for you all thought the hotel is a little tired it was spotless ,cooked breakfast was excellent and we had a lovely T-bone steak in the grill room .i would highly recommend the hotel and will be visiting it again .

Room Tip: No swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthelensbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
531 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was our second stay at the Royal Goat, that’s how good it is. It’s ideally situated in Beddgelert, perfect for walks. On this stay, the price was a bargain, and the room was perfectly adequate. There’s a large sitting room downstairs with leather sofas, TV, a piano, and wifi.

It also offers what’s probably the best dining in Beddgelert. They offer a high end dinner cuisine, and the service is excellent. Without hovering around or coming to the table time and again, the servers watch for when it’s ready to remove plates and bring the next course. Although why they bring out bread with frozen butter that won’t spread, like some cheapo place would, is beyond me. But if that’s the only thing I can find to pick on, they’re doing something right.

We were ready for an early start, around 7am, before breakfast was available. We asked where we could find somewhere that would be open. We got some suggestions, none in Beddgelert, then they offered to whip us up a couple of bacon sandwiches if we like, which we were grateful for. That’s service, meeting a customer requirement beyond their normal offering. Kudos to them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. When we arrived we were given a room on the third floor. Getting up was not easy as the lift was minuscule and the stairs steep. The room was very cramped and the shower was useless! We complained next morning and I will say that the staff was helpful and when we returned later in the day we had been moved to a much better room on the first floor. Breakfasts were good and it was located well for looking around Snowdonia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

As part of a coach party my wife and I stayed here for 4 nights from 9th June and we loved it. The room was comfortable , clean and spacious and all the meals we were given were superb and all the staff so friendly and all in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul493243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
7.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
13.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
12.5 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
13.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
710 reviews
13.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Goat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Goat Hotel

Property: Royal Goat Hotel
Address: Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4YE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Goat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Royal Goat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Goat Hotel Beddgelert, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing