We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colwyn Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beddgelert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colwyn Guest House
Ranked #5 of 11 Beddgelert B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The interior is decorated to quite a high standard, really friendly people running the place, very good breakfast, three of our friends dropped in to plan the day and they were welcomed offered tea and toast without any hesitation, all you could wish for in a B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
16
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed with friends for two nights on a walking trip. Colleen, the owner, is warm and friendly and gave us a welcome to match. Staying in someone else's home can be a little awkward but not here. Colleen gave us our own room/house keys and we were able to come and go as we pleased and the atmosphere was very relaxed. The rooms aren't large but perfectly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and there are plenty of good places for lunch and dinner right on the doorstep. We will definitely stay at Colwyn House on our next visit to Beddgelert.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stonier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

My daughter and I knocked on the door of this guesthouse one August evening while were staying at the nearby youth hostel in the hope of finding somewhere to stay for the following night with a few more home comforts. The owner, Colleen was extremely friendly and even gave us the key on the spot, saying we could just return the next morning with our luggage- very trusting. The room was pleasant and comfortable with a beautiful view of the bridge and the rushing river in the lovely village of Beddgelert. The breakfast was very good and the owner went out of her way to be helpful. We ate at the Tanronnen Inn across the way. This is one of the nicest guest houses I have stayed in and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, Essex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

My first visit to Wales and I've come away with wonderful memories. On arrival at this B&B we were welcomed with such warmth. The house has a wonderful friendly feel of it's own as is reflected by Colleen it's owner. Immaculately clean given the 'animal' friendly status, going on previous places I have visited with this status. Our room was at the front of the building on the 2nd floor, bright and airy and the windows opened much to my delight, I prefer to sleep with air circulating. I could hear the river running by and it gave a wonderful peaceful mood to settling down for the evening. Breakfast the next morning was provided and was a full cooked special all sourced locally, from the pork and leek sausages down to the lovely deep yellow yolk hens eggs from the local farm. The villiage of Beddgelert is charming and atmospheric with spectacular views and friendly people. For a perfect centrally located holiday in Snowdonia/North Wales you would be hard put to beat this!
Thanks Colleen - it was worth the drive and hope to see you again soon :o) Lynne

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

After a very stressful time at work Colleen welcomed me in to this idyllic guest house. She has got to be one of the most charming women on earth and a wonderful stay in a fabulous room in a gorgeous village. My view was the bridge and river and it was cream come true. Thank you so much. Andy

Room Tip: If you have a dog you are welcome - how cool! My Springer Spaniel "Pepper" loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst walking in Snowdonia, my partner and I had no complaints at all the owner was very welcoming and nothing seemed to be to much hassle.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stayed here on a cycle trip from Warminster to Carrickfergus and it was absolutely fantastic. Coleen did everything she could to make me welcome and helped is all sorts of ways, including providing secure bike storage. The guest house is located right in the centre of the village with lots of good pubs nearby, and situated close to Snowdon and other places of interest in Snowdonia. The breakfast was the best of the entire trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbingdonCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
0.1 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
8.3 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.0 mi away
The Saracens Head
The Saracens Head
#1 of 11 in Beddgelert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sygun Fawr Country House
Sygun Fawr Country House
#2 of 11 in Beddgelert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colwyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colwyn Guest House

Property: Colwyn Guest House
Address: Colwyn Caernarfon Road | Gwynedd, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4UY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th century listed buildiing In the centre of Beddgelert overlooking the river. Ideally situated for tackling Snowdon or for taking it easy on the beaches nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colwyn Guest House Beddgelert, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing