We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location, great food,comfortable and friendly, if you want to enjoy North Wales this is the place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beddgelert
Certificate of Excellence
salisbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location, great food,comfortable and friendly, if you want to enjoy North Wales this is the place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

Beautifully located in the pretty village of Beddgelert and within the Snowdonia National Park. The Hotel is very comfortable and well appointed - all rooms have been recently refurbished and have wonderful views over the surrounding countryside. Lyn and Kevin Lambert are excellent hosts providing a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The food (cooked by Lyn) is excellent - varied and delicious. If you want a restful holiday in North Wales this is the place to stay - within easy reach of Snowdon, Portmerion, Harlech,and the coast. In particular, the walks from the hotel are varied and suitable for all levels of expertise.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applemart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    41
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
46
185
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
stockport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

We have throughly enjoyed visiting this hotel over the past 5 years. We keep returning due to the wonderful location and hospitality. Dinner is excellent with many choices for each course. Its a struggle to fit in a pudding! After dinner you can retire to the cosy lounge for coffee or with its own bar, the choice is yours. The rooms now have beautiful, modern bathrooms and new digital TV's. When the weather is fine you can sit outside and enjoy the spectacular views. It's a fantastic place to stay and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StockportTulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

Stayed here for three nights at a cost of £96.50 per night for a double room with breakfast. The best about this hotel is the wonderful location just few minutes walk from the center of Beddgelert village, but well away from the rather busy road. It is situated very quietly and with nice views. The hotel itself, however, is dated and tired, the furniture in the room was white at some stage (20 years ago?) but is now that horrible yellowfaded offwhite. A leak from the roof in the corner of our room had resulted in badly stained and damp wallpaper and carpet underneath a chair. Overall the place needs some serious TLC and could be made beautiful with such a great location. Owner seemed really fed up and talked about selling up and moving abroad so is clearly not interested anymore. He also moaned about guests “expecting too much” in a general conversation with us. We never saw the landlady once. Cooked breakfast of mediocre quality and definitely not on the generous side. The girls in the breakfast room were very nice and friendly. Did not try the evening meal but at £30 per head it better be good…The place is riddled with cats everywhere so anyone with allergy beware. In summary, definitely not worth the price. Beddgelert village is incredibly pretty but unfortunately seems stuck in a timewarp when it comes to value for money hospitality, with the few hotels all charging the same hefty prices and presenting the same type of chintzy dated décor and overpriced, overcooked food (where is the local produce!). Next time we will stay in a B&B and save some money, hotels that charge premium prices without investing it back into the hotel are best avoided.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happybongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RatterWales, Owner at Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
I am surprised that a review such as this (which has just been drawn to my attention) that is filled with inaccuracies, irrelevancies and wild conjecture is allowed to remain on this site. The reviewer has misquoted the tariff and the meal price (and didn't, as she admits, dine with us); she has complained of damp wallpaper in a room with emulsioned walls; she has complained about my retirement plans and the fact that my wife was not available during her stay. She then has a rant about Beddgelert in general, questions the provenance of the produce used (as if she has the remotest idea where any of us in Beddgelert source our foodstuffs) and then informs her readership that hotels that charge premium prices (which we do not) and who do not reinvest in the business (we have just carried out extensive refurbishment over the winter) should be avoided.

I am at a loss to think what provoked this spiteful tirade, but it was not sufficient for any of these issues to be mentioned at the time, largely, I suspect, because they could be shown to be without foundation.

Reviews that do not give an accurate and objective assessment are best avoided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

My companion and I just spent three very relaxing days at the Bryn Eglwys Country House. Having no idea what to expect but having been very disappointed in similar hotels in Scotland, we were consistently and pleasantly surprised time after time. Kevin, Lyn and the entire staff were gracious and welcoming, our bedroom was spacious, nicely decorated and spotless and the hotel was nicely situated in a beautiful setting close to the lovely little village of Beddgelert. We are both ova-lacto vegetarians and they accomodated us without any problem. In fact, I can say without reservation that the six meals we ate at the hotel were probably the six best we have ever had in Great Britian. The hotel is very conveniently located beside several hiking trails also which was a real plus, since we both try and walk at least 10 miles a day. Finally, being cat lovers and longtime backers of feral cat care and adoption programs, we were both extremely pleased with the efforts the Lamberts have made to care for cats as well as efforts others in the town are making. Our hats are off to them and the entire town for caring.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wabasherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

My wife and I really enjoyed our visit to Bryn Eglwys - a real 'find'. It was well up to our hopes for its friendliness, good staff and superb scenic setting near to the delightful village of Beddgelert. Strongest point of all was the excellent food. Lyn makes great soups and produced one of the finest rump steaks I have ever had. The menus are varied, and the vegetable style differs each evening. Breakfast too was very good - though my hopes for kippers one morning were not fulfilled.
Our room was comfortable and clean if a little dated in decor (though we understand some bathrrom improvements are planned soon).
We took away happy memories and hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHBewdley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

We spent a night there and we wont stay anywhere else in the future. Nice breakfast, clean and quiet room, superb location and beautiful view across the river.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almosthereni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

We received a warm welcome on arrival and good service from the owners and their friendly staff during our 4 night stay. The breakfast and dinner menus offered an acceptable choice (5 starter and 5 main courses changed daily) and the food was of a very good standard.
The location of the hotel is excellent, being located just 5 minutes walk from the centre of the charming village of Beddgelert and fairly centrally located within Snowdonia National Park. It provided us with a first class base for mountain and riverside walks from the hotel and for visits to Llanberis, Carnarfon and Portmeirion all of which are within approx. 30 minutes drive away. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripreporter_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beddgelert
13.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
13.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
13.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel

Property: Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Address: Bryn Eglwys Hotel, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4NB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Georgian farmhouse standing in one of the most enviable locations in Snowdonia, Bryn Eglwys Hotel has been refurbished to a high standard. We offer good food and comfortable, well equipped en suite rooms with superb views. We are pet friendly; have on site parking and easy access to the attractions of Snowdonia. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel Beddgelert, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing