We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an achievement”
Review of Snowdon

Snowdon
Book In Advance
More Info
$693.79*
and up
5-Day Heart of England Tour from London: North Wales, Stratford-upon-Avon...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The highest mountain in Wales (higher than any in England) at 3,560 feet.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What an achievement”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Me, my partner and my three children (aged 11,10 and 8) spent 6 hours getting to the peak, having to stop every 200 yards for rest breaks for the last mile, but it was really worth it. The views are amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Turkish_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,238
    232
    34
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We took a diesel train to get to the top of the Snowdon mountain.It took us an hour and then 30 minutes break on the top and an hour down. AMAZING VIEWS. Beautiful place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pati6b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overwhelming views!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We climbed Snowdon in April while training for the three peaks challenge. You certainly need a good level of fitness, but its defiantly worth it for the stunning views at the top on a clear day.
It took about 6 hours to get to there and back, and wasn't easy, but is doable. The café is OK, but nothing special.
I would advise that you are very prepared while climbing the mountain, as it was glorious, warm sunshine on the way up, but on the way down it got very nippy, with hard hail and pouring rain.
If wildlife is your thing, then look out for wheatears and water pipits, as well as peregrine falcons if your lucky.
I would also advise that you stay at the Snowdon Ranger Hostel as it was meters away from the ranger path.
Overall, Snowdon was a great climb, but a very good level of fitness is needed to get to the top without struggling.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacob_Beswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesomely Beautifullllll !!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Beautiful landscapes....lot many attractions (lakes, railway, museum, tiring mountain biking etc) ....Although we could not enjoy the mountain railway due to bad weather but still we could enjoy various landscapes via roads. Do all the bookings online to avoid long queues. One can easily spent the whole day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashutosh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Snowdon”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Walked Snowdon yesterday making our way up the PYG track from pen-y-pass. A gorgeous view and scenery to walk up in. Had spectacular views from the cafe at the top and then returned down the Miners track, back to pen-y-Pass

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank f1tzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snowdon also viewed

Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Snowdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing