We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowdon busy - full of unprepared chavs!!”
Review of Snowdon

Snowdon
Book In Advance
More Info
$681.27*
and up
5-Day Heart of England Tour from London: North Wales, Stratford-upon-Avon...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The highest mountain in Wales (higher than any in England) at 3,560 feet.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Snowdon busy - full of unprepared chavs!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Walked the llanberis path to the summit today walk nice weather good except the summit was cloudy so no view.
The trig point was hogged by the those that had gone up by train couldn't even get to it, queue for the ladies 20 deep.
If you are going to walk up this beautiful mountain prepare!!!!
Wear correct footwear!! And waterproofs!!
It's a mountain please respect it

Helpful?
Thank 306NickiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,214
    229
    33
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“early bird”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

we travelled on the 9 am train which is 7 pounds cheaper and is woth the effort to get up early although i wasent happy i couldent spend more the 30 mins up ther

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sueflintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic sense of achievement!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Me and my 3 middle aged mates decided that before we were 50 we should climb a mountain! So last Friday we made the 230 mile trip to Snowdon and camped at the fantastic http://www.campinginllanberis.com/ camp site which is based at the foot of the mountain. A great site where you can camp anywhere you choose build fires get a hot shower and use the toilets. Pretty basic, but perfect for out trip. Saturday we got up early and walked from the camp site to join the Llanberis Path (the easy one), the weather was perfect and after almost 3 hours we managed to reach the top! Fantastic views that you really have to see to appreciate! We had done no training at all so it was a tough walk, but even tougher coming down!! I would recommend everyone to try this climb - just do a little training before and take the right equipment. It's an experience we will all never forget!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank complic8ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great day out for family”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It goes without saying.... check the forecast. Wonderful walking for aged about 6 and up, depending on fitness of course. Try and avoid the Llanberis route, very boring. The best route up for a family is the Rhyd Ddu. My husband and 8 yearold returned by the Miners Track, not for the fainthearted but evidently amazing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“on a good day the views are hard to beat..”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The train was ancient slow and huffed and puffed its way up the mountain. It gave a real sense of the effort needed to get up this impressive wonder of nature The slow journey gives plenty of time to take in the splender that surrounds you..
Its pricey at £25:00 each for the two hour up and return journey but when the weather is good the views are priceless

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snowdon also viewed

Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Snowdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing