We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the garden - overlooking Red Wharf Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the garden - overlooking Red Wharf Bay
Welcome... Ground Floor Open Plan Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
View from the garden - overlooking Red Wharf Bay
Welcome...
Ground Floor Open Plan Living Area
Fitted Kitchen
Lounge Dining area
Twin Bedroom - Sweet Dreams
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom and the view over Red Wharf Bay
Double Bedroom and ensuite
Outdoor dining area - where the seaside meets the countryside
View from the garden - overlooking Red Wharf Bay
View from the garden - overlooking Red Wharf Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pentraeth, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DorothyMG
Alcaucin, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not quite up to expectations!,”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
4
people found this review helpful

The location was excellent, just where we wanted to stay. We required a 2 bedroom both with ensuite & that's what we got, but on reading previous reviews I expected great things from the cottage. We were 2 couples, seniors, & used to & expect a bit more luxury on holiday, certainly not less than we enjoy at home. It is in a terrace, it wasn't quite as pristine as it could be. There had obviously been a family with young children in before us as there were hand prints on the windows & mirrors. Bathrooms had no shelves to use for toiletries etc, no towel rail & the smallest corner washbasin I have ever seen. Extremely awkward for my husband to shave at!! I presume that's why there are no pictures of the bathrooms online. Shortage of storage in the bedrooms, the house is more suitable for a family with young children. The kitchen is well equipped although the oven doesn't heat up properly. It was nice to find basics like salt & pepper, tea coffee & sugar. There was even cling film & foil in a drawer, & detergent & conditioner for the washing machine. There was only 4 dishwasher tablets for a week, which wasn't enough as there aren't enough glasses, dishes or cutlery to use it every other day. But be warned you are only allowed ONE toilet roll for each bathroom for a week!! We had to buy more!! I found that strange considering all the other things that were provided. The outside space is small & wasn't particularly clean, bird mess on the cills & table, we had to clean before we could use, but it was worth it as we sat nearly every morning for breakfast.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2017
Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do appreciate guests leaving us feedback so we know what we are doing
right and where we can improve. I hope you won't mind us responding to each of the points you raise, just so as you know we have listened and been proactive in making improvements.
With respect to cleanliness, we spoke with the housekeeping company we use. They acknowledge the finer details of cleaning such as dusting and window/mirror cleaning can be less frequent due to their workload and it being the height of the holiday season. They have apologised for the cleaning oversight regarding the mirrors and windows.
We do only provide a "STARTER" pack for guests, which among other things includes a toilet roll for each bathroom, a few kitchen essentials such as tea, coffee, sugar, salt, pepper, foil, cling film, kitchen roll, a few dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid along with a bottle of wine, milk and Welsh Cakes as refreshments to get your holiday underway. We debated whether to even include any consumables as so many guests have their preferences for products and brands; and we are noticing many items are being left unused. However, we fell down on the side of a 'starter' pack that would suffice for guests choosing to shop once they got here, but possibly arriving after local shops have closed. I'm sorry if the information we supplied on the Tripadvisor website did not indicate
this and consequently we will update it to ensure potential guests are made aware of what our holiday home does and does not provide.
Regarding the oven, the next set of guests informed us that the 'lower oven' was not working. We have since replaced the whole oven, so this resolves any and all oven-related problems. Unfortunately we didn't know there were oven issues until the next guests informed us.
RE: bedroom storage - alongside the bedside cabinet drawers is an integrated drawer-wardrobe system for clothes storage; a double system in the twin room and a triple in the double bedroom; along with a full length mounted mirror in each room. We appreciate this may not be sufficient for some guests' needs and we will look into improving on this with additional storage. We also appreciate the limited en-suite shower room storage: with only a hand towel holder by the sink, hanger-hooks for bigger towels on the bathroom doors, and 'shelf' storage on the window sills. Based on what you have said, we will place shelving under the mirrors above the sink; and this should improve bathroom storage for guests.

RE: the outside 'garden area'. At approx 5m (L) x 4m (w) (18ft x
16ft) the garden really is only a seating area to enjoy the views; it is not a large garden for wandering around in, as the vicinity provides ample amenity for that. Our holiday home would not be the right choice for guests looking for a 'garden experience' and this will be amended accordingly in the information.
RE: the rear outside windows not being clean; unfortunately (or perhaps
fortunately for bird enthusiasts) we have had swallows nest under our
rear guttering. The nesting was their 2nd nest of the season and the window cleaner we have would not disturb them. Their nesting has now finished with the 2nd set of fledglings having flown the nest and we have removed the nest and will remove any nest formation next year so they
look for somewhere new to nest. Unfortunately it will have meant windows and the outside table being 'decorated' by the swallows, but hopefully it won't be the case for next year.
As we said at the beginning, we are sorry your holiday accommodation didn't meet your expectations and for that we can only apologise, but we have listened to what you have said and remedied things for future
guests. Where our accommodation didn't meet your expectations, I hope
the island of Anglesey did. Again, thank you for taking the time to
leave us your feedback. Kind Regards, Maryam & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
753jeanne...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I had a perfect stay at this well-equipped cottage. 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a downstairs loo - beautiful kitchen, sitting room, great TV reception and free wifi. The views from the patio at the back are stunning. The cottage is equipped with everything you need for the beach - chairs, windbreaks and beach towels. This is a real bonus. Local pubs, handy shops and petrol station. One mile down the lane near the Bull Inn and you are on the coast path. Loved it.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our holiday home. I'm glad you found everything to your liking and that you had a good holiday. I have to say it's the view that takes your breath away...just sitting out and looking at Red Wharf Bay is the ideal way to relax and forget about day-to day life. We hope to welcome you back again in the future...Kind Regards, John &Maryam...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer67...
1 review
“Really lovely holiday accommodation.”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Lovely, well equipped, spotlessly clean comfortable house. Close to the beautiful beaches at Benllech & Red Wharf Bay and well situated for touring the whole of Anglesey. We had a relaxing few days in spite of storm Doris (!) and hope to return.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2017
Thank you for your taking the time to review your stay at out cottage. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the property and found everything you needed. It was a pleasure to welcome you and would love to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crobinson...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this cottage for my mum and dad and this is what they had to say:

We have stayed at a number of cottages in Wales but this has blown them all out of water. The area was quite and peaceful just what we wanted and it was even more amazing because we stayed for New Years Eve weekend which most properties don't accommodate so this earned major points. Even though it was very windy it was still lovely to see the view of the bay and the fields plus with being all wrapped up cosy wind never hurt anyone. Welcomed with welsh biscuits which we couldn't find to bring some home with us. Inside was clean to perfection and the underfloor heating was heaven, there are no faults with this property. Very modern and keeping with the sea theme with blues and whites very pristine. We would definitely go again and would recommend anyone who is looking for great views, peace and quite and great location for travel distance for the beaches and shopping then this is the property for you.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
I am so pleased to read how much your parents enjoyed their stay at the property. It's always a risk booking somewhere for someone else so I am pleased it was a success. it was a pleasure to welcome them and thank you for booking with us. I hope to welcome you again in the future. Best Wishes for 2017....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is the perfect retreat with the most amazing views of Red Wharf Bay. The house is well equipped, nothing has been overlooked. It is clean and fresh and feels like a true holiday escape. With fields next to your patio, sheep grazing and swallows nesting, there is nothing more idyllic. There are some lovely walks down to the bay and it is well situated for exploring Anglesey. Can definitely recommend.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your holiday home. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It's a thrill to watch the dam-buster antics of the swallows isn't it? I hope to welcome you back. Best Wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dencot201...
Chinley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true gem!”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Pentraeth Cottage Retreat last week and loved every moment of it. The place was a credit to the owners and we honestly couldn't fault it. From the decor to the many facilities, nothing had been left out. The view of Red Wharf Bay from the back patio was amazing and the cottage itself was superbly located for exploring Anglesey and North Wales. We particularly enjoyed the coastal walks, Moelfre and Benllech. The fact that the cottage was dog friendly was a real bonus. We found the nearby Panton Arms Inn very welcoming and its food excellent; also the local Chinese takeaway was really good. Last but not least, the welcome pack was a lovely touch...... Our favourite wine no less! We plan to return next year.

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2016
I am really pleased you enjoyed both your holiday and the stay in the cottage. The view is something you can never tire of...and certainly to be enjoyed with a nice glass of wine...I hope your dog enjoyed the walks and the sea... I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best Wishes...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpa_7201
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning holiday home”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed with my wife and son. Pentreath cottage was clean, well decorated and well appointed, the icing on the cake was the view of red wharf bag to the back of the house. Makes a great base to explore both Angelsey and north Wales, the welcome bottle of wine went down well!. We really enjoyed staying here and are looking at going back next year, a real credit to the owners.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property and view
Liked least: Could do with summer quilt on double bed
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2016
I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay on Anglesey and at the property. The view is certainly something to enjoy ....and certainly goes well when relaxing with a bottle of wine... I look forward to welcoming you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing