We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night, 4 cyclists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holyhead
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We all thought this was a really good Travelodge! Comfortable beds. Perfectly clean and prepared room. Plenty of parking spaces and a Macdonalds over the road. Would definitely stay here again if on way to Ireland for instance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 506 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have stayed at a few Travelodge hotels within the last few years but this one comes out on top. Incredibly comfortable bed, quite surroundings and super helpful staff. Only a short walk to the town and very clean in the whole area. TV reception was a little poor but don't forget this one is located on the tip of Wales. Great value for money, very happy with my stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is literally diagonally across the street from the train station so you can walk there very quickly. As it is where you catch the ferry to Ireland, it can often be booked in advance as it is the only hotel in town, especially if there is a charter bus so book in advance. The hotel is new, clean, large rooms, comfortable beds, quiet, and nice staff. I will say that when I asked the girl at the desk for a local map she said "why? there is only one street?" :) It is very small town, but it was a lovely 2 mile walk down to the beach. We stayed there twice - the first time on the second floor which was greatwith a queen bed, and the next time on the first with a queen and fold out sofa, and yes people do walk right by your window and you back on to the parking lot. As it was very hot and no air conditioning when we were there, we were concerned that people would peek in while we were sleeping. They sell a breakfast box which is not included. Overall very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I found the travelodge very comfortable and very clean and because I booked early it was very reasonably priced. I found the staff friendly and helpful would definitely recommend it it and will be staying again


  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank maz4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I reviewed Holyhead Travelodge a few years ago and as it has been refurbished I decided to review it again.

We stay here once a year on our annual trip to Ireland. We ask for a ground floor room overlooking the car park as we bring our dog and on the other side sometimes people knock on the windows and the dog barks.

The room was lovely - it was freshly painted with a fancy bed runner and new curtains and a new painting.

The location of this Travelodge for the ferryport is perfect - literally just across and down the road. There was no noise at all at night and we had an excellent stay.

The retail outlet park one junction back down the A55 is superb for bargains with a Tesco, Morrison's, a food pub, Wilko's, Poundland, KFC, Poundstretcher, Homebase and many other discounted retail outlets. It has killed the town centre of Holyhead though.

This Travelodge never seems to offer bargain prices (at least when we travel in July!) but it is always very busy and seems full.

We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Never stopped in a travelodge before but chose this as an overnight stay when sailing from Holyhead to Dublin. Very good for the price as booked quite a while in advance. Very quiet, room very spacious for a family of 4- 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Our room overlooked the carpark but still very quiet and besides we did not go for the view! Plenty of hot water, towels, tea, coffee and milk. No shower gel or toiletries but we knew this before we booked. Also no food at the hotel, again this we knew before we booked! There was an Asda and Macdonalds just up the road but we decided to have breakfast on the ferry. Overall a great stay and would highly recommed expecially as being so near the port!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireCazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you need to stay the night to catch an early ferry, then this is *the* place. A few minutes from the station and ferry terminal, perfectly clean and serviceable room, and the Travelodge 'breakfast box' system means you can get up when you need to. (If still hungry, Stena Line ferries have a cooked breakfast - with vegatarian option!) Our tip for the best way to get there is to use the station/ferry terminal exit on the Platform 3 side, walk up the slope and then cross the road bridge that spans the railway lines, then you can't miss it.

When we arrived, reception told us they had 11 bookings for just ten remaining 10 free rooms, and offered us a room in a better hotel 5 miles away for the same price, which we declined, since we have no car, and were allocated a room OK. No idea is this happens often.

One small moan: why do pedestrian guests have to walk round the end of a barrier to reach the front door? Everone doesn't come by road, you know!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwrail422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
10.6 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
261 reviews
20.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,058 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
664 reviews
12.6 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
13.5 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Holyhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Holyhead Hotel

Address: Kingsland Road, Holyhead LL65 2LB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holyhead
Price Range: $50 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Holyhead Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early Check-in and Late Check-out service available at this hotel for an additional charge. Early Check-in available from 12 noon, subject to available rooms. Late Check-out available until 2.00 pm, subject to available rooms. Transport Links: Nearest Major Road - A55 0.1 mile Nearest Port - Holyhead 0.2 miles Places To Go: Port - 1 mile Marina - 1.5 miles South Stack Lighthouse - 1.5 miles Country Park - 2 miles Nearest Towns/Nightlife: Holyhead - 0.5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Holyhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Holyhead
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel Wales
Holyhead Travelodge
Holyhead Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing