We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishguard to Rosslare and return.”

Stena Line Limited - Day Trips
Ranked #5 of 33 things to do in Holyhead
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stena Line, one of the world's leading ferry companies, offers low fares and a speedier ferry travel service to Ireland, Britain and Holland. With our extensive route network, Stena Line gives you more flexibility and choice. As well as a range of hotel breaks, self-catering, landbridge holidays and the option to travel by car, by rail, by coach or on foot, you will enjoy excellent service and value for money. Book early and online for our lowest fares
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fishguard to Rosslare and return.”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were forced to change from our normal choice of air to ferry due to short notice of arrangements.
Highly recommend the premium service. Good comfortable lounges with TV, computers and workspaces.
Complimentary TV, coffee, wine and newspapers.
Fast boarding and disembarkation with friendly staff.
I am now a convert! By the time you have added in car hire and the fiddle of airport security and cabs this comfortable experience makes visiting Ireland a pleasure at a competitive price.
Goodbye bucket airlines!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juju149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    181
    63
    39
    59
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hoek to Harwich”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Took this crossing with Stena Line to save a long drive to Calais and back up in the UK. Getting a good nights sleep was a real bonus, and overall only a couple of hours longer than the road drive. Didn't really know what to expect from the "ferry", had expected it to be very basic and mainly for freight traffic. Very pleasantly surprised by the standard of the ship, it's facilities and the friendliness of the staff. Had a single external cabin and was expecting small bunk beds with a tiny porthole. Must have been some time since I travelled overnight by ferry, as the room was better than the last hotel I stayed in. 1 x very confortable double bed and above was a very easy to fold away additional single bed. Shower, toilet, wash hand basin all very clean and modern, and a huge outside window.
Will definetly look at this as an option when travelling with my family next time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike504170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“No doubt- the improvements are working”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Belfast to Birkenhead return
Having travelled this route over several years I can say the efforts by stena are starting to make a big difference in the right direction. The cabins, especially the beds are very good and the powerful showers are a glory to use.
Downstairs, gone are the days of dirty plates and rubbish lying all over the place. With staff always observable they were constantly busy tidying up and clearing tables. It really is a joy to travel on this boat now. Unfortunatly on our sailing we were very late leaving on the night sailing (over an hour and half late) and they wouldn't open the cinema until near midnight but I hope that is the exception to the rule. No real complaints at all so all I can say is keep up the good work and if stena maintain these standards and dont let them slip as can often be the case, then these trips are well worth the time and money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PP29th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenton, Florida
Level Contributor
290 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Champions of the Sea”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Have used the Harwich to Hoek Route since the 60s travelling with my parents and now with my family.It has always been a great adventure. Just returned from a recent trip and as always both ships on this route were spotless and staff excellent throughout the ship. Being recognised by long term crew members is really special. Long may they sail the seas around us. Thanks to all on the Harwich-Hoek van Holland route.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil-KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stena Line Belfast-Cairnryan”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I travel frequently between Ireland and England by car as I don't fly. Stena have always been reliable and the staff friendly. On my last visit past (Feb 2013) we only just made the outward Ferry by seconds and the boarding/loading staff were good enough to flash us a reassuring smile as we frantically boarded and made our way up the stairs, easing the embarrassment of our very late arrival.
When onboard we settled in and the crossing was fine. The surroundings of the Stena VII are extremely comfortable, and very spacious and well laid out. It is well sectioned and big enough to roam around should you get bored on the 2hr15 minute crossing, although there is a cinema, bar, restaraunt/cafe and free wi-fi and papers to pass the time, making it very comfortable on any sea, rough or smooth!
The only downside to the ferry is that the food is what you'd expect from a mediocre cafe and the prices are quite high, so I would recommend a pack lunch or fill up before your journey, although when you buy one expensive cup of tea or coffee you get free refills at any of the conveniently placed stations (self serve).
On the return journey there were blizzards in Scotland, so we left pretty early to ensure we weren't late, again!, but we had left so much time that we were an hour early for the ferry departing before the one we were booked on (about five hours difference!). We spoke to the friendly lady at the stena info desk at Cairnryan and she made it possible for us to board the earlier ferry without any fuss.
Driving through to get our boarding pass the gent sorting this out was more than friendly, enquiring about our journey and the weather etc.
Great Service, very comfortable craft and great staff. Stena will be my crossing of choice in the future.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stena Line Limited - Day Trips also viewed

 

Been to Stena Line Limited - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing