We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a miss, there are surely better options.”
Review of Wavecrest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wavecrest
Ranked #2 of 24 Holyhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
293 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Give it a miss, there are surely better options.”
Reviewed July 30, 2008

My wife and stopped here on the night of the 11th Jun, as a convenience to catch the ferry to ireland the next morning. I was confident after reading a couple of reviews, but was extremely disappointed. There was no one home when we arrived in mid afternoon, the room was dirty, the door to the ensuite was literally snapped in half and held together with flat headed nails. It would struggle to make one star. Breakfast was OK. I would not recommend it.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Misrepresentation
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holyheadcarl, Owner at Wavecrest, responded to this review, August 8, 2008
Very harsh comments in the circumstances.
I had just returned from Hoilday with an injury.
The panel on the en-suite toilet door had split in my absense. I temporary repaired and it functioned fine. I have had chance to replace the door since.
I was called out in an emergency as I work for the Coastguard and left keys with neighbour and a phone contact number pinned to the front door. I had arranged for a person to attend from 4pm.
The Guests commented that they enjoyed Breakfast and seemed satisfied.
As for value for money, on their visit of Western Europe,it was the Cheapest of the lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    27
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
21
55
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North West
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Just back from another visit to Anglesey, and stopped again at the Wavecrest B&B. As always the breakfast was fantastic, and the room clean and welcoming. Carl the host and his staff are friendly and will help with any queries you may have.

Will be back again!!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank rainhillgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascot
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Needed some where to stay after late night ferry.
Single room so small you couldn't swing the proverbial cat.
Tiny washbasin in room but no hot water available.
Beats sleeping in the car ..just !!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — leaving it
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank miss-heli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

I stayed at this guest house for 2 nights while on my way to Ireland. This little gem was not only charming,but comfortable. Carl (the owner) goes out of his way to make you feel right at home, offers you advise on things to do, helps you book your ferry, and cooks an awesome Welch breakfast!!! (By the way Wavecrest is located so close to the coast that you literally walk out the front door, look to your left and the ocean is at the end of the street. WOW!!!). We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor that was very nice, comfortable bed, and nice linen. The shared bathroom was always clean and lovely. I think most people stay here on their way somewhere else, but Holyhead actually has a lot to offer. You can drive down coast, grab an ice cream, walk the beach, hike the cliffs, or simply enjoy this small Welch town. One night we went out to a local pub and watched the locals sing their hearts out. Very fun and everyone was friendly! But the very best part was, at the end of the eve you can simply walk "home to Wavecrest". At any rate, I highly recommend this guest house, I think you will love this place, leave well rested, and with a full belly ;-) I have included some photos of the area. (Sorry can't find the photos I took inside the guest home, but their web pages can show you that). Enjoy!

  • Liked — Location and owner
  • Disliked — That I could not stay longer ;-)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CinderTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2007

Warm and friendly.A great hearty Welsh Breakfast too.
Specialises in Ferry schedules and well organised for the early departures.
Holyhead has some lovely areas close by.Beautiful beaches and The South Stack Cliffs is a must.

  • Liked — Convenience for Ferry and town centre.
  • Disliked — Limited private lounge area
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank seahamlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarnsleyBill, Owner at Wavecrest, responded to this review, July 23, 2008
This is the first major unsatisfied customer I have received,in the many years of running the establishment.
I had to wait until 1 am for the late arrival and then I was up again 5 hours later for Breakfasts. Considering the inconvenience for me, the overheads and for a cost of just over £20 including Full Breakfast,I am disappointed that I have been marked down for value for money.
The room albiet on the smaller side is adequate for a short stay if not longer. It has a large single bed plus all the facilities as advertised. Desk space and a nice view too!
The hot water was switched off to the sink that evening due to a leak in the pipe joint. I had requested a plumber to attend and consequently let down! Hot water was temporary available by use of the kettle in the room and cold water tap in the sink was fine. There were also 2 bathrooms close by too!
Should any single traveller request a larger en-suite room then no problem,however they will be charged a supplement for the use of a double room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

We arrived around 6 pm and had a warm greeting by Carl. The rooms were tasty with TV,teamaking etc. It is a place mainly for one nite visitors and is within easy walk of pubs and eating places. We caught the early ferry and a lovely Welsh breakfast was served at 7-30am. Good value for money. Not 5 star but for a break of journey,especially if cathcing early ferry, a lovely place to stay.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Parking limited although safe
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Salfordlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2004

My Husband and I stayed at Wavecrest for one night, it's a convienent stop for the Ferries to Ireland. We were to have an En-suite room, instead we had a room with a sink, Carl said that the bathroom down the hall would only be used by us (it wasn't). We could not use the shower in that bathroom since only the hot water would turn on. Had to use another bathroom that was shared by others. If we were to stay in Holyhead again we would look for another location.

Helpful?
14 Thank Jdehaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
2.4 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
616 reviews
13.2 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Blackthorn Farm
Blackthorn Farm
#1 of 24 in Holyhead
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Boathouse Hotel
The Boathouse Hotel
#6 of 24 in Holyhead
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wavecrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavecrest

Property: Wavecrest
Address: 93 Newry Street, Holyhead LL65 1HU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wavecrest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to Ferry Port and town centre. Ideal stopver for Ireland. Cater all timings. En-suite rooms available. TV in all rooms with multi choice. Teamaking and extra facilities in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wavecrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wavecrest Hotel Holyhead
Wavecrest Holyhead, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing