We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice breakfast”
Review of Wavecrest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wavecrest
Ranked #2 of 24 Holyhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice breakfast”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great for our late booking for a quick one night stay before heading elsewhere. Bathroom was shared which we didn't mind for the one night. Towels and soap provided. Clean for the most part. Nice breakfast. Unfortunately like most b and b's the walls were thin and I was kept awake by someone's snoring!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    27
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
21
55
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Decided to stay in Holyhead to break the journey to Ireland. Wanted to see local area and Snowdonia. The owner kindly planned a route with a cheap day rover ticket. I must say it was excellent and a great adventure too. Trains and buses through the lovely Welsh scenery all for less than £15!
Place was clean and a great breakfast to continue my adventures in Ireland.
Thats another story! Owner helped us throughout the stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at the Wavecrest for one night before touring part of Ireland.I could only rate the room as adequate but it was clean and the host was very friendly and helpful.However I must say that the breakfast was the best that we had during our entire holiday.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CatherineD300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart tasmania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

This guesthouse is a little tired but very clean. Had a nice feeling to it. Host was welcoming and gave us a bottle of red for the inconvenience of the fire alarm going off at 5 am. Breakfast was good. Would stay here again

Room Tip: For the weary dont forget to ask how many steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenHobartTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holyheadcarl, Manager at Wavecrest, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Hope you enjoyed the wine! Sorry about the disturbance.
That was the first (hopefully the last )time the fire alarm went off at an anti social time!
A faulty fire detector which has been rectified.All OK since.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I have stayed at four B&Bs in Wales and England recently all in the same price range. The Wavecrest is fine but lacks some details that the others had in terms of repair, coveniences (no shampoo or hair dryer) and although it is clean enough it could use a scrubbing here and there. I would consider staying there again after looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamGorchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Cheap and comfortable. close to Ferry and Town.Owner gave good advise on local cheap travel. Some nice walks to close by, Great breakfast to last you till the evening.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunderlandisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I found the owner of Wavecrest to be one of the most helpful and pleasant hosts I've ever run in with at a bed-n-breakfast, and he helped me on every score: taxi, internet, directions, luggage storage, and returning a lost item left at his b-n-b to a country over the Atlantic! I can't thank him enough, or the experience he afforded me in his lodging. Breakfast tasted good and fine. -Nathan of Wisconsin, Great Lakes

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gjavarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
2.4 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
616 reviews
13.2 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Blackthorn Farm
Blackthorn Farm
#1 of 24 in Holyhead
274 reviews
2.1 mi away
South Stack Coastal Retreats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wavecrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavecrest

Property: Wavecrest
Address: 93 Newry Street, Holyhead LL65 1HU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wavecrest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to Ferry Port and town centre. Ideal stopver for Ireland. Cater all timings. En-suite rooms available. TV in all rooms with multi choice. Teamaking and extra facilities in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wavecrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wavecrest Hotel Holyhead
Wavecrest Holyhead, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing