We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The welcome was friendly, the rooms clean, giving great value.”
Review of Monravon

Monravon
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monravon
Ranked #10 of 25 Holyhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2011

After a long drive, the welcome could not have been better. Jean and John were a great team, making sure that we were provided with clean, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. A guest lounge was available for refreshment and relaxation and provided an opportunity for a chin wag with a fellow guest lasting 'til midnight! Continental breakfast was included in the price, cooked breakfast was available for £4 a head. Altogether a lovely place to stay at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConcordeSST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2011

We always stay here when we are on our way home to Dublin from the UK.
Perfect location for the ferry (approx 3 min drive) and near some nice fields so we can take the dogs for a walk.
Always get a friendly welcome.
Free internet on the computer in the tv room which is handy to check your email.

Room Tip: Perfect for the ferry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseybecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My wife and another couple were traveling extensively throughout Great Britain and used The Monravon as our overnight waiting for the ferry to Dublin. The Monravon is a very handy choice for the ferry as it is and easy drive from hotel to ferry. The rooms are VERY small but clean and adequate. The breakfast was very good and well prepared and presented. The owner is a genial fellow and there is a good restaurant within walking distance. The WiFi is a little weak. Overall this is a good choice as a stop in Holyhead when planning to board the ferry the next day

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadeMillsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Very friendly on arrival and throughout. Rooms were a little dated and milk at breakfast was sour, as per one of the of the previous review.

Wifi didnt work, which was why we booked this B&B and computer didnt work either.

Would recommend if you just want somewhere to stay before/after the ferry but beware the sour milk and no wifi access.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gjclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed here before getting the ferry to Ireland, and on our return. It isa friendly guest house with comfortable, spotlessly clean rooms, and comfortable beds.

The 'free' buffet breakfast is very good, as was the £4 cooked breakfast.

A nice room at a very fair price, would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_East_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Stayed here before getting the boat home last xmas.
Booked at very last minute! 2 hours before,no problem to them.
Lovely clean welcoming place, great breakfast. Ideal for when getting the boat.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommytyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

What a great, convenient place to stay. A lovely relaxing walk to a great restaurant, The Boathouse. Nice walk to town to shop. Convenient lovely walk to Country Park. Had only planned on being there for the Angelesey Agriculture Show but fell in love with town and our whole stay. Will definitely come back to the Monravon. Staff was excellent and helpful. Very friendly. Great stay and very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasinausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holyhead hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
0.3 mi away
Stanley Arms
Stanley Arms
#16 of 25 in Holyhead
13 reviews
1.9 mi away
South Stack Coastal Retreats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
5.3 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holyhead Lodge
Holyhead Lodge
#8 of 25 in Holyhead
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monravon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monravon

Address: Monraven Porth y Felin Road, Holyhead LL65 1PL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Holyhead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range: $81 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monravon 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern purposely build hotel near to the ferry port & train station, all bedrooms have their own bathrooms, car parking, open 24 hours 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monravon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monravon Holyhead, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing