We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accomodation at a reasonable price”
Review of Holyhead Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holyhead Lodge
Ranked #7 of 25 Holyhead B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 9, 2013

From entry to departure was excellent and the outstanding service by EMILY who was at the reception answered and handled my every query with upmost professionalism , the room I stayed in was spacious , comfortable with.super cleanliness . I was very impressed by this particular travel lodge , inparticular by all the staff , especially Emily who made my stay all the better . Travel lodge should be proud to have staff working for them such as EMILY ! I recomend this hotel to anyone . Bravo travel lodge

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

After three weeks of travelling, we wanted nothing more than to relax without anyone disturbing us.

We found the lodge owners to be more than accommodating. We arrived on the 0200 hours on the ferry from Dublin, they offered to collect us. Something most hotels would not even consider.

A lovely room and very private off the main road, with a great breakfast. Very accommodating and well worth the money. We will be back to stay with them in August.

Lovely people.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deedee411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Great local family run B&B, good location, easy to find
Good sized room, very clean
Breakfast in the morning was great, locally sourced food :-)
Picked me up from the ferry at 2am, very helpful
Would recommend this to everyone

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattGrosvenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We choose Holyhead lodge for its proximity to the port as we were returning from a cycle holiday in Ireland. We were attracted to use Hollyhead lodge as the owner was prepared to meet the late ferry and take us to the accomodation should we have needed it.
The owners were very friendly but the cost of the room was 4 star hotel prices for what was an an annex. The breakfast in the morning was average and slightly cold.

I would not recommend this accommodation unless the price was much lower at average bed and breakfast prices (£55).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. Lovely couple who run this place. Even offered to pick us up from ferry and take us back to train station next day. Accomodation very nice and very clean and up to date. Breakfast EXCELLENT. You have cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt and then your choice of fried welsh breakfast. Yummy. The hostess even looked up train times for us and the best route to take to our next destination. Would highly recommend to travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stormyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments
we aim to please
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Our stay at the Holyhead Lodge was amazing. it was the best value B & B we have ever stayed in.
The owners could not have been any nicer or helpful, they picked us up from the Late Night Ferry terminal at 0045am, (saving us a walk) the Lodge is great, very clean and modern.
Be warned though breakfast is massive, fresh fruits, yoghurt, cereal, full cooked, and lots of it.
Check out was midday so no having to rush away, it was a fantastic stay, and we will definitley be back
They even dropped us at the Train Station the following morning.
.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank marilyn198907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thanks for your lovely comments,
and we hope to see you again
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
1.8 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
652 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
The Boathouse Hotel
The Boathouse Hotel
#9 of 25 in Holyhead
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edinburgh Castle
The Edinburgh Castle
#16 of 25 in Holyhead
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyhead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyhead Lodge

Address: 63 Maeshyfryd Road, Holyhead LL65 2AP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range: $77 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holyhead Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run bed and breakfast about a five minute walk from the ferry/railway terminal (we do run a shuttle service back and too). We also pick up from the late night ferry.The Lodge rooms are across the Courtyard from the main house, each has its own private entrance off the driveway, one is a double and the other a twin(the twin has two ensuites, and a small kitchenette).The rest of the rooms are in the main house. We have private gated parking with CCTV cameras for your security.All rooms are ensuite.All rooms have drinking stations with a selection of tea / coffee / chocolate / decaff / green tea / biscuits ect. All rooms have filter jugs for fresh filtered water, there are docking stations in all our room for your iphones or ipods.All rooms have flat screen tv's with free view or free sat channels, and clock radio alarms.We pride ourselves on getting it right for your stay and nothing is to much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holyhead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyhead Lodge Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing