We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bridge!”

Celtic Gateway Bridge
Ranked #15 of 31 things to do in Holyhead
Attraction details
USA
Level Contributor
304 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“Great bridge!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Went to this bridge shortly after arriving in Holyhead, it really is a great place and has a good view.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    12
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Saves time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Getting from the station/ferries would be a heck of a lot harder without it. Although not the most beautiful structure I've ever seen it is pleasing on the eye.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cls14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I had a lot of fun on this bridge (although there's no wheelchair access). It's a beautiful structure and a stunning design. Don't come to England without getting your photo taken here - it's a modern classic.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning bridge with great views over the harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Being a local I was probably a bit sceptical about the value of the bridge to the town, but every day when I look at the bridge there are people using it. Some are travellers going to / from Ireland, some are locals and some are tourists.
All in all a wonderful bridge that I do believe is of use to the town, it allows people to get from the busy port to the town in a few minutes rather than the 20 or 30 mins it used to take.
Town is getting better, neww cafe / restaurant open off the bridge (Venue Walkway), with a balcony that makes a great vantage point for photo's of the bridge, plus new shops opening in the town..hopefully the start of good things for Holyhead

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank AWJ58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,090 reviews
735 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 875 helpful votes
“Pretty funky bridge that achieves a good purpose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

The CG Bridge was built to link the Holyhead train station and ferry terminal to the city centre. It allows passengers to walk from the terminal across to the main street of the town in just a few minutes. The bridge itself was a funky and unusual design, with both steps and wheelchair ramps. It certainly caught my eye and I did make the trip across to the town, so I guess it was a success! If you are taking the Holyhead ferry, take a look at the bridge and use it to check out this nice little town.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Fiver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celtic Gateway Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Celtic Gateway Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing