We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for large families - and dogs!”

Review of Glan Tywyn Hall

Glan Tywyn Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glan Tywyn Hall
Kitchen/dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Glan Tywyn Hall
Kitchen/dining area
Reception room
Lounge/ sofa-bed  with Cathedral ceiling
Top corridor
Double bedroom
En-suite bedroom
Twin bedroom
Main bathroom
Christmas at Glan Tywyn Hall
Large walled garden at front
Local beach 5 minutes drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Holyhead, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandy G
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great for large families - and dogs!”
Reviewed April 6, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Location "away from it all" but not too remote, nice beaches nearby and surrounded by farmers fields and wetlands with birdlife. Our family of 8 and two very large dogs found the house perfect for our needs, good garden and bbq area, spacious with 3 separate lounges (although we all preferred the upstairs lounge with great views). Despite being an old house and needing a little attention or updating décor-wise we loved the character - all bedrooms were a good size for the kids and the 2 king size rooms were beautiful. Beds comfy, kitchen great,modern with good stock of all you would need. Double oven and large fridge loads of storage. We would definitely recommend it especially to those with dogs who find large properties few and far between. The owners were very friendly and accommodating, wish we could have stayed longer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2018
Thank you so much Sandy. So glad you enjoyed your 'short stay'. We look forward to seeing you again. Take care Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oohbratt
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great house, great location, just lacking in a few areas”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Couldn't decide between 3 and 4 stars, but went for 4 because the owners seem to have responded really well to all comments mentioned here before.
This is a lovely property perfect for a large group of people, the kitchen and dining area is particularly good, especially if you have a mix of younger children and adults as we did. There is plenty of storage space in the kitchen and it is fairly well equipped for making meals etc.
The garden is excellent for the dogs to roam in and the children to play in - especially with the pigs at the end, which provided a constant source of interest for them.
No issues with the bedrooms, all beds were comfortable and clean, as was the whole house.
The bathrooms were ok but needed some attention. Little things, like the shower heads in both of the upstairs bathrooms refusing to stay in position were annoying, toilet seats not staying up and one of the doors not locking all just took away from the experience somewhat. The first shower of the stay was interrupted by furious knocking at the door due to water going through the floor and dripping into the kitchen and onto one of the children eating their tea! We contacted Jacqui the next day and this was fixed by the time we got back in the evening.
The lock on the back door was a constant annoyance, despite having been "fixed" at the same time as the leak. The door was virtually impossible to lock or unlock - although we were told we didn't need to lock the house when away, we would still rather have had the option (we had to use the front door twice to get into the house).
The main downstairs lounge was a good focal point for everyone and had a large TV with plenty of chairs for lounging in, plus games and books to entertain. The WIFI was disappointing with very slow rates, most of us chose to use the 4G phone network instead as it was faster and more reliable.
The house itself was excellent, just needs a bit of work doing on the bathrooms, and the WIFI needs a bit of a boost. Oh and one final whinge on behalf of the children, the ice didn't work on the fridge, we were told this had only just happened, so hopefully will have been fixed by now!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2017
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to meet you all and despite some ‘whinges’ I was happy you had all enjoyed your holiday. As previously mentioned, we do not live in the Hall and we rely on feed back from guests if they encounter any problem during their stay.

As the kitchen is ‘fairly well equipped’ what was needed or did you feel was missing to improve things?

The garden is excellent for children to play - enclosed and safe. It is not so much for the dogs, but the rear yard is excellent for them and for ? clearing up after them!

Thank you for letting me know, via Tripadvisor that the shower head was slipping. Had we known earlier, this I am sure would have been fixed, saving the next guests from having to mention it.

I did chuckle at your comment on the toilet seat not staying up. They are designed to self close, sorry.

I cannot seem to find a toilet door that does not lock. Can you help?

The shower was easily rectified by placing the shower curtain inside the shower tray. We found no leaks - but the floor was soaking in front of the curtain where the leak came into the kitchen.

You stood with Eric when he fixed the lock and you both agreed it seemed to have been fixed. Once again, sorry this caused a problem. There is now a new lock on the door.

It may have been mentioned in passing that we do not tend to lock the door, thank you for advising the world!

Wifi is totally out of my hands and despite ongoing Local petitions etc - the whole area is still very slow, not just Glantywyn. Location and age of building can affect Wi-Fi. This house is solid and built in 1700’s. They were not designed to accommodate Wi-Fi signals especially in an area like this. Though slower, there is WIFI. Thank you for your advice on 4G.

Oh, and finally, the ice making machine on the fridge/freezer, despite having been reported on 14th August is still awaiting fixing. Thank you Domestic & General. I have now cancelled my policy with them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer...
nottingham
1 review
“Wonderful house in super location.”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A fantastic week had by all 11 of us. Amazing house with so much room and perfect for our 3 families and 2 dogs. Lovely to meet Jackie and chat. Thank you for the warm welcome and eggs!! We visited beaches and towns close by and easy to stock up on food. Kitchen and dining brilliantly well equipped.
Would certainly like to return and can recommend for big family groups.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2017
Thank you, would love to see you back, Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emloudav
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent family house and super clean!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

An extended family stay of 11, ranging from grandparents to grandchildren and four dogs! Great spot to stay within driving distance of many restaurants, beaches and 10mins to the big supermarkets. The house was perfect, large enough so that people had space and the big lounge upstairs was perfect for all sitting together. The house was spotlessly clean and you felt right at home straight away. The enclosed garden was a god send for the dogs and ball games, with the pigs just over the wall. There were walks from the doorstep and you could walk to Rhosneiger in about 40 minutes following the local paths. Jackie was really friendly and was quick in replying to emails prior to our stay and popped over to say hi when we arrived. All in all we had a fabulous time and would return in a heart beat .... Thanks Jackie for sharing your place :0)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2017
Hi Emma, thank you for your kind review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay. I am always around if you need me ha ha. Look forward to meeting again, thanks Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchy35
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Family of 11 , mainly adults ! What a great house , no one got under each other's feet , it's just like walking into your other home . Loved every day , we all did . Would we go back ? .... yes in a breath !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2017
Hi Zoe, thank you for your kind review. So glad you enjoyed Glantywyn. The nicest part was meeting you all. Look forward to seeing you again. Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamzin H
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful House”
Reviewed April 28, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed here for a week in the Easter hols. 5 adults 8 children & a baby. What a Wonderful house, truly comfortable, with so much space & the kitchen facilities were Fantastic!
Jackie the owner was so lovely & so welcoming.
The outside gardens were Perfect for the children to play in (& to see the pigs) also for the adults to sit out in & being on the farm was great for the children too.
I would highly recommend staying here, it was definitely 10 out 10 for all of us. Thank you Jackie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2017
Hi Tamzin, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Bonus with the weather though. It was lovely to meet you all and look forward to seeing you again, Jac
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly D
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An Experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This year we decided as an extended family of 3 generations to celebrate New Year together. I set about finding accommodation to fit us all in comfortably. We had 7 adults & 5 children. We had a fair few requirements due to disability but on paper Glan Tywyn Hall seemed to fit the bill.
When we arrived (stress free, thanks to Jackie's directions) we were completely overwhelmed, it was far better than we could have imagined due to the sheer size of accommodation on offer.
We arrived in the dark so bundled into the property and worked out bedrooms before exploring what was on offer. Jackie called in to check we had settled in and to see if we needed anything as well as having a chat about the history of fantastic building we were to live in for the next few days.
The property itself is practical in terms of kitchen use, we stayed 4 nights and ate in for every meal in fact the days out we planned never happened because just being there was holiday enough.
We took a long walk in the surrounding countryside and read some of the many fabulous books they have whilst sitting on big comfy sofas or chaise lounges. There is an abundance of antique furniture and we found the whole place to be decorated beautifully. The icing on the cake were the Christmas decorations which were tasteful and really pretty all lit up in the evening.
We had a New Years Eve party and filled the house with food, drink & music with the children dancing around like something out of a movie!
If you like traditional properties full of history and character then this is the place to go, we felt it was a privilege to stay in such a wonderful property and will certainly return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
Hi Kelly, so glad you all enjoyed yourselves at Glantywyn Hall. Thank you for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure [and a laugh!!!] to meet you all. Look forward to you coming back again. Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing