We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic spot, stunning views, a real gem of a...”
Tan-y -Cytiau Lodge and part of the view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tan-y -Cytiau Lodge and part of the view
From the drive From the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Tan-y -Cytiau Lodge and part of the view
From the drive
From the garden
Holyhead mountain from the lodge field.
Lounge
Dining room.
Landing.
Bedroom 1.
Bedroom 2.
Bedroom 3.
Bedroom 3.
Porth Dafarch beach
South Stack Lighthouse 1/2 mile from lodge
High seas at Trearddur in January!
Newborough Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Holyhead, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LongInThe...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic spot, stunning views, a real gem of a cottage, perfect!”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Tan Y Cytiau Lodge is a lovely three bedroom cottage in an idyllic spot on the lower slopes of Holyhead Mountain. It is just a short walk from the Ty Mawr ancient hut circles, the RSPB Centre, and South Stack Lighthouse and has spectacular views along the cliffs across Anglesey to Snowdonia and down the LLeyn peninsula. The cottage was built around 1915 as the chauffeur’s lodge for the big house further along the private drive which was owned by Miss Arabella Antonia Williams (1856-1928) daughter of Sir Hugh Williams 3rd Baronet of Bodelwyddan Castle. Her brother Watkins was Bishop of Bangor (1899-1925).

Since then the Lodge has undergone extensive modernisation and is now centrally heated and double glazed throughout with a hall, lounge, conservatory, kitchen, utility room, dining room, shower-room, three upstairs bedrooms and a bathroom. The off-road parking area can easily fit three cars. The cottage was spotlessly clean and tidy on our arrival thanks to Teresa, and a generous welcome pack from the owners David and Lindsay was a pleasant surprise much appreciated after the journey down.

The large garden is a sunny oasis of peace, tranquillity and solitude and the trees and shrubs on the lawn make a useful wind-break from any chilly breezes that may arise. There is a good sized garden table with bench seats for al fresco eating on warm summer days and a BBQ is available for Dad to burn the sausages.

The kitchen is well equipped with a modern electric cooker, larder-fridge, microwave and toaster, pots & pans, utensils, crockery, cutlery, washing up liquid and tea towels, so there is no need to bring any. The utility room has a separate fridge-freezer and a washing machine. The dining room has a table and chairs for six (plus a baby chair) and if required, fold-up chairs are stored under the stairs.

When you enter the lounge your eyes are drawn to the impressive rustic brick chimney breast. The spacious lounge has two cantilever relax chairs and a luxurious L-shaped sofa with lots of comfy cushions around a chunky solid old wood coffee table. The bookshelf has a wide range of books about Anglesey, local history, birds, sea life and geology plus a good selection of novels. All the usual board games are on hand to keep both children and adults entertained. Alternatively, a 42” Freeview LG TV and a digital radio are there to catch up with the evening news and other favourite programmes. Patio doors lead out to a wooden decking area ideal for spending balmy evenings enjoying the sea views and the setting sun with a glass of wine in your hand.

There are two double bedrooms and one with three single beds and a cot. Our king size double bed was extremely comfortable, as were those used by our five family visitors for a couple of nights at the weekend. Extra bedding and pillows are available if required. The upstairs bathroom and the downstairs shower-room each have a WC and hand wash-basin. There was a plentiful supply of bath and hand towels and toilet paper, but we were expected to bring our own beach towels if sun-bathing and swimming was on the agenda.

The most treasured start to the day was the two of us eating breakfast on the small table in the sun-soaked conservatory admiring the view and planning the day ahead. Difficult questions arose; should we go for a walk in Breakwater Country Park, up Holyhead Mountain, along the cliff-top paths, bird and porpoise watching at RSPB Ellins Tower, swim and sunbathe at Porth Dafarch or Porth Trecastell, or drive to one of the many other beauty spots on the island? Decisions, decisions!

On the downside (but some would say mercifully!) mobile phone reception is marginal, and we had to find a good spot in the garden to avoid the signal breaking up. This was not a problem in fine warm weather but it would not be much fun in the gales and driving rain not unknown in these parts! Also, there is no WiFi so googling the internet (e.g. for local history, special events, pubs, restaurants, menus, take-aways, opening times, tide tables, weather forecast) is compromised.

Despite this, we would highly recommend the Lodge and we are grateful to the owners David and Lindsay Entwistle for letting us stay in their charming and obviously well-loved second home. We will be back!

John & Linda, Fulwood, Preston. September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the comforts of home and more besides!
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2014
Thankyou for your very kind review,we love staying there too! We are looking into Wi-Fi,we take a dongle for our laptop the reception can be a bit variable!We hope you will return,David and Lindsay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilWNeil
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Homely, well equipped, with stunning views”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Nice big sofas, with lots of living space and great sofas. We spent time in the conservatory looking at the views while the kids watched TV. Great walks down to the rocky beach and up to South Stack. Would have liked a dishwasher, but otherwise very well equipped.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard O
Abergele, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful stay at Tan y Cytiau.”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Well, Well, Well, Fab, Fab, Fab - Location, Accommodation and even the weather - what more can I say !!

We found the Lodge to be of very high standard in all respects, very comfortable and spacious, very homely, and, needless to say, we really enjoyed our stay.

Everything was provided, and the lovely 'welcome tray' was a really nice gesture to start us off.

The Lodge is in a fabulous quiet location without being remote or lonely, and has stunning views. It is easy to find, has an ample parking area and sits within the spacious grounds - all of which are meticulously maintained.

Anglesey offers a wide variety of attractions - not least the numerous beaches, all of which are within easy reach of the Lodge.

Recommendation - ABSOLUTELY.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue C
1 review
“Perfect Holiday Property”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Driving to the Lodge you can see what a beautiful area it is situated in. It strikes you that there are very few properties around. The Lodge is well away from the road. It is such a peaceful place.

The property has all the equipment you would ever require.

The views from the property especially the conservatory are stunning. It is a well set out property.

There is much to see and do, from the beaches, wildlife and South Stack itself with its lighthouse and Ellins Tower.

We will definitely come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crotonliz...
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is a really special place. As always spotlessly clean and a real home from home. The kitchen and bathrooms were well equipped and the oven is fantastic - much better than ours at home actually! The weather could have been kinder but this is the UK after all. Very helpful and friendly owners and the communication could not have been better. Lindsey and George obviously want to go the extra mile for their guests and the unexpected welcome pack was a real treat! The conservatory is beautiful with lovely views over the surrounding countryside and coast. We will be back one of many lovely holidays

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 9, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from property
Liked least: Dog hairs and bowl on arrival
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2014
Fair revue although a little harsh in the "starring". We had problems with our usual cleaner who was unfortunately unable to provide her usually excellent service due to unforeseen circumstances which required her to draft in additional staff who frankly were not of the same quality - we are greatly relieved to report that she is now back, and we are able to provide the normal high standards of cleanliness which we, as owners and frequent users of the property, expect.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
954Sue
Laindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Lodge & Spectacular Views”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

When we arrived we were blown away by the view from the lodge. It has a home from home feel. Its a place a couple or a family would find ideal. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The lounge has french doors which look out onto the most amazing view. The conservatory is also a lovely feature with views towards the Llyn Peninsula & Bardsey Island.
We had 3 lovely days weather wise even in January. However on a rainy day there was nothing nicer than getting cosy in the lounge and enjoying the peace and quiet.
We look forward to returning very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing