We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Escape to the country”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bodfan

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bodfan, a large traditional farmhouse, viewed from its front garden Front garden and path
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Bodfan, a large traditional farmhouse, viewed from its front garden
Front garden and path
Back garden path from car park
Back garden
Bodfan side garden
Lounge with multi-fuel stove
Dining room with hatch to kitchen
Kitchen eating area
Well supplied kitchen
Kitchen
Twin bedroom
Twin-bedroom
Second twin bedroom
Single bedroom
Single bedroom
Double bedroom
Cloakroom with mixer shower
Bathroom with mixer shower
Back garden
Rural view and front field
Occasional visitors to the field
Sunrise over Snowdonia viewed from Bodfan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holyhead, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mila008
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Escape to the country”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Lovely traditional old farmhouse with spacious gardens. Our dogs Max and Maddie loved the different areas in the garden and the paddock in front of the house. Children will love playing hide and seek amongst the many shrubs. The wild flowers gave off the most beautiful scent. The view of the Menia Straits is lovely.
We were greeted with a very generous welcome pack and especially enjoyed the welsh cakes and wine.
Gillian was one of the loveliest host we have met on our travels. She genuinely cares about her guests. Her local knowledge and contacts helped make our holiday fabulous. She gave us information on hairdressers, dog sitter and even loaned my Mum a piece of jewellery to attend a wedding. The weather was wonderful. and the Island has so much to offer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure having you all to stay. One minor correction the view from Bodfan is of distant Snowdonia and, as you say very beautiful. That is just in case some new guests might expect to see The Strait on Bodfan's door step! Hopefully see you all again soon. Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeteast...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family holiday venue”
Reviewed June 2, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Beautiful farmhouse set in lovely green countryside. Perfect for our family holiday with our 2 dogs. Gillian ( the owner ) had thought of everything and provided us with welcome welsh cakes and wine , and even treats for the dogs! The house is within 15 minutes drive from fabulous beaches , suitable for dogs as well. We had glorious weather and after a busy morning on the beach , we relaxed in the lovely sunny garden.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2018
Janet thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that even the weather cooperated to give you all a wonderful holiday. Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“idyllic week in anglesey”
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Lovely week in Anglesey, staying in Bodfan, to make the experience even better I would suggest a coffee Table to put drinks on in living room and covering gaps in gate to prevent small dogs escaping. Thank you for our holiday would stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Bodfan. Helpful suggestions noted! Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_shortpe...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Absolutely fantastic house and excellent place to spend New Year’s Eve! Gillian was so welcoming and all the extra treats she left were amazing. We have never stayed in such a well appointed house. We really loved that the time had been taken to put up Christmas decorations, it made our time there feel very festive! We hope to be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2018
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed Bodfan so much. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Idyllic country retreat for pet lovers”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Ideal property in countryside setting for those with dogs and looking for a relaxing break. Large paddock attached to house which our dog, Skye (Golden Retriever) loved. Nearest beach situated at Rhoneigr again ideal for dogs for those enjoying watching windsurfing/kiteboarding. Other lovely beaches to visit and country walks a must.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review, I look forward to welcoming you all again in the future. Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We arrived to a lovely welcome, doggie treats and a bottle of wine! The house was beautifully clean and everything we could want was provided, and so much more. The house is a home from home, very peaceful, perfectly located to easily reach all the attractions. Gillian allowed our 3 dogs use of the paddock which they loved. There was a very informative file on attractions, beaches, shops etc. Gillian was contactable at all times and if we needed any information or help she was more than helpful. We would totally recommend this holiday home to anyone. Thank you Gillian for a wonderful holiday.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Thank you Lynne and Mark for your wonderful review, I am delighted that you 'all' enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back any time. Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carvermar...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic family Easter break.”
Reviewed May 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was just perfect for our family weekend Easter holiday.
Gillian the owner was so welcoming and polite,
The house and its location are just fantastic very comfortable and relaxing place to be with your family.
We all enjoyed our stay and will be returning during the summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2017
Thank you so much. I am just delighted when guests love their stay in Bodfan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing