We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful dog and family friendly house”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bodfan

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bodfan, a large traditional farmhouse, viewed from its front garden Front garden and path
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Bodfan, a large traditional farmhouse, viewed from its front garden
Front garden and path
Back garden path from car park
Back garden
Bodfan side garden
Lounge with multi-fuel stove
Dining room with hatch to kitchen
Kitchen eating area
Well supplied kitchen
Kitchen
Twin bedroom
Twin-bedroom
Second twin bedroom
Single bedroom
Single bedroom
Double bedroom
Cloakroom with mixer shower
Bathroom with mixer shower
Back garden
Rural view and front field
Occasional visitors to the field
Sunrise over Snowdonia viewed from Bodfan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holyhead, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JBennell
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful dog and family friendly house”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a super time at Bofan. There was plenty of room for us: 2 couples, 2 grannies, 2 kids and 3 dogs. Gillian was so helpful, efficient and welcoming right from the enquiry to arriving. We've stayed in other houses as a group and usually find although there is enough bedrooms there isn't that much space, particularly in the lounge. Not so at Bodfan, there was plenty of room and the sitting room is comfortable for us all to sit around in front of the lovely stove. We only had the stove lit 2 nights though as we were blessed with fantastic sunny weather. Again, Bodfan was very well equipped for both with plenty of comfortable deck chairs and loungers. Although we has good weather the evenings were a little chilly and Bodfan is very well heated and we were all cosy. The gardens are really lovely and with the field in front of the house available to us the dogs raced around it having the time of their lives. The house is in a quiet location but surrounded with trees and birds and with supper views over the Snowden. Although we originally wanted to be near the coast we found that Bodfan was the better choice as it is well placed for everywhere, so our trips to the north coast or Beaumaris were easy. Overall, it was a well equipped, comfortable and peaceful location and we definitely want to go back.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, comfort
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickFletc...
Altrincham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place in the heart of Anglesey”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a wonderful week at Bodfan. The weather wasn't kind, but the house warm and welcome retreat. Gillian has been warm and welcoming from enquiry stage and throughout our stay.
The grounds are tranquil, views stunning and our family (including five dogs) have thoroughly enjoyed our break.
We feel refreshed and relaxed and will definitely be back.

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesPros...
Nantwich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous farmhouse and lovely friendly owner & dog”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Three generations of our family have just spent a fantastic week at Bodfan. The farmhouse is perfect for a large family group, sleeping 8 comfortably. Lovely spacious rooms, well equipped kitchen and well stocked library were all greatly appreciated. The house is huge with plenty of room to have a quiet time if needed or play games together on the large tables. Gillian, the owner, lives close by and is such a lovely friendly lady, her dog Isis equally so! Isis called for our springer spaniel regularly and they had a great time romping around the garden and the huge field in front of the house - real doggy paradise! We also booked a meal for the night of our arrival with Denise(via holiday contact details) which was absolutely delicious and really appreciated - the last thing you want to do on arrival is go searching for shops or restaurants when you arrive. Lasagne, garlic bread, jacket potatoes, salad and a lovely dessert were waiting for us on arrival - just perfect! I can't recommend this farmhouse enough, it was absolutely perfect and we will certainly be back as soon as possible.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the house, the dog friendliness, the friendly owner
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyneth T
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for extended family break”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a great week's break at Bodfan. What a wonderful place for all ages.
The farmhouse is so spacious and well equipped. All the bedrooms were of a decent size and comfortable. There was ample comfortable seating for everyone.
The owner is very welcoming and always at hand though not interfering in any way.
The grandchildren loved the garden with plenty of space for playing.
The location is ideal as is so central and makes it easy to reach any part of the island.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space for everyone/peace and quiet.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca T
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect stay”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

From the moment we arrived at Bodfan I knew we were in for a treat. From the lovely gardens to the homely cottage it all set our holiday off on the right foot. Gillian is the perfect host who looked after us well. The cottage is well stocked with essentials and brilliant for extended family holidays. There were 7 of us and it didn't feel like we were getting in the way of each other. My children loved the horses the geese and isis the dog. I cannot recommend this place enough. Thank you Gillian. Hopefully will get to come back one day.

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LInda B
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family friendly farmhouse”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A tremendously good space for families and for those with dogs. Secure garden and field are a huge bonus. The house is more than adequately furnished with a good supply of equipment for small children.
The owner is delightful and enormously helpful.

There is no doubt that all members of our party would like to return particularly as this is a central base for exploring Anglesey.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Secure garden and field
Liked least: That we did not stay longer
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie W
1 review
“Excellent Stay, Fantastic Farmhouse, Lovely Owner”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Bodfan because of it's great reviews and were not disappointed.
It is a large comfortable farmhouse with a great garden and paddock for energetic dogs.
The welcome pack provided by the owner Gilliain most appreciated.
The beds are comfortable and made for a relaxing sleep in peaceful surroundings.
The farmhouse is only 10 minutes drive from great beaches will allow dogs.
We would like to than Gillian and Isis her very friendly whippit for their great hospitality.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and already planning our next visit.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet of the surroundings
Liked least: Going Home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing