We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“See you again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hut Guest House
Ranked #7 of 27 Holyhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“See you again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Comfy and clean accommodation. Great, friendly host who was very welcoming and helpful, especially as i had just broken my finger and was struggling with my bags etc. Would definitely recommend and will be sure to saty again when back in the area. Thanks. Stu.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    21
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
12
23
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed in the beech hut on a return trip to Ireland. Got in late to hollyhead and was shown a family room. Paid 60 pound sterling for a family room that had one double bed and a bunk bed in a room that barely could take the bunk bed. Woke at 7.00 in the morning to the sound of someone having a shower in another room. There is serious problems with noise from the plumbing system. Stairs very grubby and over all the place was very shoddy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Its definitely a place where you get value for money; the owner Dave was very nice with us and helped us a lot. breakfast he made was nice as well. He told us a lot about the place and gave ideas where to go and how. We were so happy that we bought him a small gift and a thank you card and gave it to him at the end of our stay- and that is the first time we did that for any host.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameramaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asa, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Personal service and WiFi. Good breakfast. Staff friendly and flexible. Best location to stay in Holyhead if having food and pub nearby is more important than a silent night. Amazing narrow stairway to 2nd floor. I will return for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I arrived here homesick, tired, very late at night. The owner was fantastic. Concerned and anxious to make sure I was ok. He opened the cafe just for me, and in the morning spent over an hour driving me around so I could quickly take some photos of the local archaeology sites. There are several Neolithic stone circles and a large burial site. Then he dropped me off at the train.

The room was clean, the food was great, and the care of a tired, homesick foreigner was brilliant. I was very, very glad I stayed here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myreview1235678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have been staying at the Beach Hut roughly once a month since late 2010 due to my business requiring me to source new clients in Dublin and i do not like flying. My role in the business has changed to an office based job so i thought id leave this parting review (if you like)
I have read the previous comments and most have got it right but some really do miss the point.
Yes the rooms are not very big, but they are very warm and clean. with reference to the last review, 'the rooms are bare' im not sure what they need in the room apart from what is provided? ok it has no da-do rail, no flowery pelmet around the window, no doylies on the edge of the chair, no dried flowers that harbour dust e.t.c thats why i personally like it, its CLEAN. Unlike some old fashioned places i have used in the past.
I have stayed in all 4 rooms so can give my honest assessment on each room.
The front 2 doubles are usually given to me as a single. The showers work fine, they are just the bog standard electric shower units so you need to tweak with them to get the pressure/temperature right, once done its fine.
The sinks are tiny and no where to put shaving items but as they are 'compact' the toilet cistern is handy as a shelf.
Yes there is a bit of road noise around midnight when the 2 night ferries get in (check the timetables, the last one is 12.30am) But seriously, this goes on for about an hour, its never bothered me and as Holyhead is built around the port, im not sure where you'd get a totally quiet environment, oh wait a minute, yes i do, there are a couple of hotels on the outskirts which if i recall charge upwards of £100 a night for a double room.
The 2 rear rooms are pretty much the same as the front ones, one is a twin room and the other is a family room. again not the largest rooms i have stayed in but warm and clean. The family room has a small double bed and wooden bunk beds. This one has a great power shower.
All the rooms are on the 2nd floor so if you struggle with stairs then maybe not ideal.

The 2 rooms i have stayed in recently have had new matresses, The old ones were a bit worn to be honest, but the bedding has always been in good order.

Again i think the last guy missed the point in regards to the cafe.
Its called 'The Beach Hut', its lime washed wooden walls, random bits of drift wood, shells, buoys, pictures of the seaside, driftwood style tables, you get the picture! its supposed to look a bit weather beaten but spotlessly maintained!
The breakfast is amazing!
Not much in the way of fresh fruit and they only have the basic cerials (cornflakes, wheatabix, fruit & fibre, rice crispies)
But the cooked breakfast is very good quality and as much tea, coffee or juice as you can drink

To sum The Beach Hut up.

I have enjoyed my visits here, Dave is always welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for him.
Yes the rooms are small, but clean and tidy. If you want 5* then look for 5* hotels with the price tag!
I have paid £25 each time and for a clean room, a shower, great breakfast, free wifi and free parking. What more do you expect for budget money!
Its a shame that some people feel the need to stick the knife in when their experience hasn't been perfect. The last thing Dave always has said to me is 'if you have any problems AT ALL then just come and see me and i will sort it out'. I feel that if these people had maybe done this then their stay would have been better and their review would have been a bit fairer.
Thank you for everything Dave, i hope you dont mind the honesty and good luck in the future.
John

Room Tip: Sea views at the front, quiet rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
240 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The name ' The Beach Hut' conjures up an image of a quaint, slightly quirky B & B. This place is about as far from that image as you can imagine. Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of a cycling trip with friends. Although the proprietor was pretty friendly and helpful, the place is definitely down at heel (much in keeping with the whole town of Holyhead actually). The guest rooms are up a dark, narrow staircase next to the equally run-down cafe. The rooms, although en suite are extremely poky and small with bare walls and nothing in the way of homeliness whatsoever. Also, if you have one of the front rooms which we did, expect to be kept awake for most of the night by HGVs coming on or off the ferry - the port road is just behind the fence on the other side of the road outside. The breakfast, served in the cafe downstairs, was Ok although nothing exceptional; despite apparently being voted "the best breakfast in wales" by a South (sic) Wales newspaper. After a long wait to be served (there were only 2 other people in the cafe), we were offered fruit juice and tea and had our order taken by the somewhat grumpy Auntie (can't remember her name). However, we had to request cereal which she eventually tracked down. Definitely not a place we'd go back to. Our friend who had booked it was a bit embarrassed that she'd chosen this place when she saw what it was like.

Room Tip: The doubles are at the front but don't expect to get any sleep. Better to go for one of the twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmc12York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
2.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wavecrest
Wavecrest
#2 of 27 in Holyhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Guest House
Crossroads Guest House
#4 of 27 in Holyhead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Boathouse Hotel
The Boathouse Hotel
#6 of 27 in Holyhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hut Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hut Guest House

Property: Beach Hut Guest House
Address: 4 Hibernia Terrace, Holyhead LL65 1DL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Holyhead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beach Hut Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hut Guest House Holyhead, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing