We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If Fish & Chips is your dish, this is the place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Valley Fish & Chip Shop - CLOSED

Valley Fish & Chip Shop
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Seafood
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If Fish & Chips is your dish, this is the place”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very easy access from main road, Superb good size portions from a really clean chip shop. Very Good value and a tasty product

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    0
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned chippy”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Family run straight down the line, quality fish and chip shop. With the option of eat in or take away. A very good menue for children.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh fish? I think not!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Ordered fish, 2 portions of chips and gravy. A note in the display cabinet states that food in the cabinet is for display only so I was shocked to be given the fish from there!! ALTHOUGH the two people in front of me had their fish cooked to order! I had seen her get 3 fish from the back but only drop 2 in the fryer and put the other one back. She most likely though that it was the end of the day and because I had only ordered one fish that she'd give me the shrivelled old thing sat in the display.
When I asked how long the fish had been sat there the woman behind the counter got really angry and said they were busy and that it had been there 2-3 minutes. Soggy batter would not happen in that time frame and if they call 2 customers in front of me busy then the business isn't exactly booming.
As I paid, the woman took my money, looked at the customers in front of me, gave me the most filthy look and shook her head in disgust at me! As I was paying! Who does she think she is I don't know?!? Show some respect! I left in such a temper and wish I had refused the food and hadn't handed overly money! Eating the food was just as bad as the experience in the hell hole.
The chips were like cardboard and warm, (hardly fresh considering they were soooo 'busy') and I didn't get my gravy, incapable server!! Sorry to have wasted my money in such a horrible place! I don't know what the stupid woman's problem is but she better get her act together before someone gives her a taste of her own medicine ( I hope someone does to be honest)!
Will never waste my money there ever again, horrible greasy food coupled with the worse customer service in history! Wish I could give this zero stars as it isn't worth a single decent word said about the place!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CarysX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Am quite shocked that I've read such bad reviews for this place . I stopped off here today and it was completely opposite to what I've just read . I was served by a lovely girl called Katie , who was very friendly and served me some of the best fish and chips I've ever tasted . Delicious ! Such a shame I live so far away , but will definately be back when I'm next in the area .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorrettafandango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really nice place”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Popped in on our jollies and was a very nice lunch, good value for money, really nice staff, nothing more to say, quality grub!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris-bobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Fish & Chip Shop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing