We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 25 Holyhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Really hospitable, great location, good room. Very happy and would recommend without hesitation. Will go back there again. Only thing I would change is the curtains let through a lot of light early in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonaldoBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 102 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2010

I have stayed at Witchingham on several occasions and have always found it to be in a very clean and tidy condition. The rooms are very comfortable and I have never had a bad nights sleep! The staff are always extremely helpful and nothing is ever a problem. There is excellent WiFi access on request and the rooms have tea/coffee making facilities along with a modern TV.

Witchingham is a 5 mins stroll from the town and even less to the scenic seafront. The ferry port and mainline train station are a 2 mins drive away or 10/15 mins if walking. I would recommend Witchingham for both families and business travellers alike.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonmoore1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Claire / Tudor

Sorry this has been so long coming, but just an e-mail to say thank you so
much for what you did for us from staying late to finding a restaurant, that
was far above what we would have expected. It really did kick off our break.

The rooms were great as was breakfast. We wanted for noting and your
hospitality was brilliant.

Anyone travelling that way I will have no hesitation in recommending them to
you

Thank you once again

Dave

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dra9782001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed at Witchingham B &B after the Ireland leg of our holiday, and only because we were unable to pick up a hire car in Holyhead until the next day (Monday). My recollection is that we paid only 50 GBP for a three bed-room suite, (our 21 yr old daughter traveled with us),so I wasn't expecting too much.

We were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, beds comfortable, and ample tea and coffee making facilities provided. Toilet and shower were more than adequate. There is no formal breakfast offered. However there are ample "help-yourself" facilities, cereal, toast, fruit, tea/coffee, juice available for a very nominal extra charge. My wife and daughter took breakfast and were impressed. Very good WiFi access is available upon request ; once again, a very nominal additional charge is involved.

As reported by the previous reviewer, the B & B is located only ten, oh maybe fifteen, minutes walk from the ferry and very central to Holyhead township. We too enjoyed dinner at the Indian Restaurant, (on a Sunday evening you may have trouble finding much else available), and found the food good and reasonably priced.

After dinner, we took a two hour stroll along the waterfront to the end of the breakwater light-house. The area has some very beautiful locations.

We met Tudor after our walk - (our hosts had had commitments earlier and were not present upon our arrival. They had left a note explaining where keys were etc.)
He is a very charming and accommodating gentleman - very easy to talk with.

If you are expecting 4 star hotel appointments for your 50 odd pounds, then you will be disappointed. If you are after comfortable, value for money lodgings, then I recommend Witchingham B.B.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

This B&B is very clean and comfortable. The twin room I stayed in had a very clean small on-suite shower room, tea/coffee making facility and flat screen TV. The bed linnen was clean and fresh and I slept well in the very comfortable bed.
The owners, Claire & Tudor are friendly and accommodating. Although we arrived late in the evening, Claire was there with a friendly smile and found out what time the local Indian restaurant closed for us.
The B&B has a driveway to a small parking area at the rear. After riding for 5 hours we were all comfortable in the knowledge that the bikes were off the road and as safe as they could be.
An Indian restaurant was only a short walk away. The staff were friendly and even stayed open late for us. The food was good quality and reasonably priced.
The B&B is ideally situated, literally less than 5 minutes ride to the ferry port.
Claire and Tudor, thank you for providing the perfect, relaxed start to our long weekend tour of Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OxonJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

wasn't impressed with this B & B at all - the price is very fair at £55.00 but everything is very very old and tired and I would prefer to pay that bit extra and get a much better service - on arrival read the notes in the bedroom outlining the price was 'room only' which was a bit surprising as we had booked on last minute and it def gave the impression of bed and breakfast and no mention of room only there - so really it should be classed as a B not a B & B - the door to the loo which was in the bedroom was a slide door which only closed half way so no privacy whatsoever if you were sharing your room - and as this also held the shower it did nothing but disturb the other occupants , in addition the room was quite small for a couple of people - ok place if you cant find anywhere else, otherwise spend a bit longer looking

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northwestlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guide123, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2010

Thank you for your review, all your comments are noted. We have only recently taken over the management of the establishment and are in the process of refurbishing all of the rooms. We expect that this process will be completed very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Geraldina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
21.1 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,063 reviews
2.5 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wavecrest
Wavecrest
#2 of 25 in Holyhead
146 reviews
2 mi away
South Stack Coastal Retreats
2 mi away
Blackthorn Farm
Blackthorn Farm
#1 of 25 in Holyhead
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witchingham Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witchingham Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20 Walthew Avenue, Holyhead LL65 1AF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range: $66 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Witchingham Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Witchingham is a clean, friendly and comfortable Bed & Breakfast Guest House / Hotel within walking distance of the Port of Holyhead, Holyhead train station, Holyhead Marina and Sailing Club, the town of Holyhead many local restaurants and cafés and the Anglesey Coastal Path. It can be easily found from the main A55 route into Holyhead. All rooms have free Wireless Internet access, 5 rooms are en-suite, There are tea and coffee making facilities, digital TV and towels in all rooms. There is a large breakfast room with a self service breakfast of cereal, toast, yoghurt and fresh fruit, guests may have use of a microwave, and high chair. We have a long gated driveway up the side of the house and an easily accessible lockable bicycle shed for those who require it. In the hallway there are sample menus for local restaurants, many leaflets for local tourist attraction, maps for local walks and telephone numbers for local taxi services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Witchingham Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast Holyhead, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing