We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful b&b!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 25 Holyhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Absolutely loved staying here for the night before we caught our ferry to Dublin. Nice location. Really clean and cozy and afforable. It was comfortable and enjoyable.We wished we had an extra night. I would choose this place to stay again without a secobd thought. No complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jade P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 102 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for the night, before getting the ferry to Ireland. I booked a family room for myself and my 3 year old twins (our first hotel stay alone!). It was really easy to find and is really close to the ferry port, and in a quiet residential area.

The hosts could not have been any nicer. They were genuinely lovely people. We were met and straight away they took my twins off to see their cats (which they loved!!). We arrived a bit later than intended and they had kindly put the bed side lights in our room on. I paid the £4 (per adult) for the breakfast and they encouraged my girls to pick what breakfast cereal they wanted in the morning (a massive treat as they only get Weetabix or shreddies in my house!!)

The room was lovely. It was tastefully decorated and there was a kettle to make a cuppa (and packs of biscuits). It was spotlessly clean and a good size too. We all had a really good night's sleep there.

The breakfast was nice. It was a self service, which was great as we had to get up at 6.30 in order to get the ferry. There was cereal, toast, yoghurts, fruit, tea, coffee and fruit juice (I might have missed some) It was perfect for that time in the morning.

I managed to lock us out of the room at 6.30 am and after dragging out breakfast for as long as I dared (before leaving for the ferry), I had to wake up the owner (sorry!). She was absolutely lovely (despite being woken at the crack of dawn).

All in all a lovely stay. I would have liked to have stayed longer ( as there seemed to be a lot to do in the local area - a couple of parks, a really close walk to the sea, a lighthouse in the distance).

Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clare v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked via booking.com whilst we were still on holiday in the Middle East. Wanted a local B and B whilst doing the Tour de Mon. Just up the road, ideal location. Clean, neat, tidy, warm, simple breakfast but just what was needed for an early start. Great. Will certainly do again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t2cps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I booked this B&B through hotels.com,as a courier driver i had a long day and wasn't due back into Holyhead till 00.45am from the sailing from Dublin.I eventually got through to the B&B after a few phone calls and told them it will be about 1am when i arrive,They kindly left the key inside the porch to let myself in and to my bedroom,the bedroom was first class,thick plush carpets,beautifully decorated,tea,coffee & biscuits,the owners even left the bedside lamps on for me.If you wanted the self service breakfast you had to leave £4 in your room but as it was only cereals,fruit,yogurt,tea & coffee,toast etc i declined and got a big breakfast from McDonalds down the road !.Apart from making contact with the owner by phone i never saw anyone and let myself out in the morning.This might put some people off but i quite liked the freedom this way.Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thefoxesleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Could not have been happier with our accommodation en route to Ireland. The accommodation is extremely good and the hosts just so friendly and helpful, with terrific advice about a great place to eat. The room was spotless, beautifully appointed and the bed very comfortable.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank ckhamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recently stayed at Witchingham B&B before catching the ferry to Ireland. Our room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The owners could not have been more helpful and pleasant. Claire even booked a dinner reservation for us at a local restaurant on the water - lovely! I recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Holyhead, as the location to the ferry and other sights on Anglesey is ideal. As cat lovers, we loved the resident felines!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 860happytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked online, and when we arrived Witchingham , it more than met our expectations. A very easy place to locate. The owners and manager were very accommodating and friendly. Our room was just lovely...smallish but adequate and a quiet haven at the end of a long 6 weeks.
The room was immaculate and tastefully decorated. The self help breakfast was great. There are restaurants nearby for evening meals and the ferry is 5 minutes away. There is a pleasant easy 2 minute walk down to the waterfront from here.
If you have a car we recommend the trip to South Stack lighthouse...a very scenic area and interesting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
13.3 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
328 reviews
10.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
653 reviews
2.0 mi away
Blackthorn Farm
Blackthorn Farm
#1 of 25 in Holyhead
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wavecrest
Wavecrest
#3 of 25 in Holyhead
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witchingham Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witchingham Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20 Walthew Avenue, Holyhead LL65 1AF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range: $65 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Witchingham Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Witchingham is a clean, friendly and comfortable Bed & Breakfast Guest House / Hotel within walking distance of the Port of Holyhead, Holyhead train station, Holyhead Marina and Sailing Club, the town of Holyhead many local restaurants and cafés and the Anglesey Coastal Path. It can be easily found from the main A55 route into Holyhead. All rooms have free Wireless Internet access, 5 rooms are en-suite, There are tea and coffee making facilities, digital TV and towels in all rooms. There is a large breakfast room with a self service breakfast of cereal, toast, yoghurt and fresh fruit, guests may have use of a microwave, and high chair. We have a long gated driveway up the side of the house and an easily accessible lockable bicycle shed for those who require it. In the hallway there are sample menus for local restaurants, many leaflets for local tourist attraction, maps for local walks and telephone numbers for local taxi services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Witchingham Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast Holyhead, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing