We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B GREAT BUT DESERTED !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 25 Holyhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I booked this B&B through hotels.com,as a courier driver i had a long day and wasn't due back into Holyhead till 00.45am from the sailing from Dublin.I eventually got through to the B&B after a few phone calls and told them it will be about 1am when i arrive,They kindly left the key inside the porch to let myself in and to my bedroom,the bedroom was first class,thick plush carpets,beautifully decorated,tea,coffee & biscuits,the owners even left the bedside lamps on for me.If you wanted the self service breakfast you had to leave £4 in your room but as it was only cereals,fruit,yogurt,tea & coffee,toast etc i declined and got a big breakfast from McDonalds down the road !.Apart from making contact with the owner by phone i never saw anyone and let myself out in the morning.This might put some people off but i quite liked the freedom this way.Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thefoxesleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 102 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Could not have been happier with our accommodation en route to Ireland. The accommodation is extremely good and the hosts just so friendly and helpful, with terrific advice about a great place to eat. The room was spotless, beautifully appointed and the bed very comfortable.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank ckhamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recently stayed at Witchingham B&B before catching the ferry to Ireland. Our room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The owners could not have been more helpful and pleasant. Claire even booked a dinner reservation for us at a local restaurant on the water - lovely! I recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Holyhead, as the location to the ferry and other sights on Anglesey is ideal. As cat lovers, we loved the resident felines!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 860happytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked online, and when we arrived Witchingham , it more than met our expectations. A very easy place to locate. The owners and manager were very accommodating and friendly. Our room was just lovely...smallish but adequate and a quiet haven at the end of a long 6 weeks.
The room was immaculate and tastefully decorated. The self help breakfast was great. There are restaurants nearby for evening meals and the ferry is 5 minutes away. There is a pleasant easy 2 minute walk down to the waterfront from here.
If you have a car we recommend the trip to South Stack lighthouse...a very scenic area and interesting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My friend and I arrived in Holyhead by ferry and expected a short walk to the Witchingham B&B. It is not a short walk from the ferry/train station to Witchington, which was my impression from the information shared by the Witchingham. We arrived with our baggage early afternoon and no one was there. An envelope had been left inside the exterior door for us and two other "guests". It contained the keys to the Witchingham and our individual room with a note stating that if we wanted breakfast, we needed to call a cell number and request it for the next day.We were also given a number to call for questions/concerns etc. The letter also stated that "Jo" "usually" came by between 5:30 and 6:00 each day but there was no promise that she would. The room was clean but we chose not to stay there for safety reasons, as there was no one living on the property, any contact with owner/manager had to be by phone and keys to the outside door were left where anyone could get them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSR1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I was worried about staying here as it had the word 'hostle' in the title but it was lovely!! A scheduling snafu had us stuck in Holyhead for a day while arriving mid-morning from the Dublin ferry. We stopped by hoping we could drop off our luggage understanding that it was way too early to expect to check in and the staff was so accommodating!! The room was not ready as expected but they let us drop off our things anyway. What a relief!

The room was immaculate and stocked with tea, coffee, biscuits, and shower toiletries. Quiet, safe, and comfortable.

Breakfast is self-serve and £4 extra per person but it worked well for us to not be restricted to a breakfast time.

Lovely lovely stay...thank you!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LR2Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is very handy for an overnight stay before catching the ferry. It's on a quiet road but only 5 mins drive to the port. We checked ourselves in but staff did check that we were happy with the room. The bed was a bit soft for our tastes but fine for one night. I'd return for the same reason but probably not for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Handy for the ferry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi_L007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
13.3 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
328 reviews
10.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
653 reviews
2.0 mi away
Blackthorn Farm
Blackthorn Farm
#1 of 25 in Holyhead
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wavecrest
Wavecrest
#2 of 25 in Holyhead
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witchingham Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witchingham Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20 Walthew Avenue, Holyhead LL65 1AF, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range: $65 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Witchingham Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Witchingham is a clean, friendly and comfortable Bed & Breakfast Guest House / Hotel within walking distance of the Port of Holyhead, Holyhead train station, Holyhead Marina and Sailing Club, the town of Holyhead many local restaurants and cafés and the Anglesey Coastal Path. It can be easily found from the main A55 route into Holyhead. All rooms have free Wireless Internet access, 5 rooms are en-suite, There are tea and coffee making facilities, digital TV and towels in all rooms. There is a large breakfast room with a self service breakfast of cereal, toast, yoghurt and fresh fruit, guests may have use of a microwave, and high chair. We have a long gated driveway up the side of the house and an easily accessible lockable bicycle shed for those who require it. In the hallway there are sample menus for local restaurants, many leaflets for local tourist attraction, maps for local walks and telephone numbers for local taxi services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Witchingham Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast Holyhead, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing