We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless ...very Friendly, awesome views, nice room”
Review of Blackthorn Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blackthorn Farm
Ranked #1 of 25 Holyhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Faultless ...very Friendly, awesome views, nice room”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We have a 3 week old boy and the break was perfect. Spacious room, Richard the owner was so welcoming and accommodating. clean and tidy, good wye for detail and a lovely breakdast ...I would definafely go back

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilwynrjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    48
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
90
123
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We just spent two nights at Blackthorn Farm and couldn't be happier. We were greeted with a warm cup of tea by Heather and Richard and Nigel were so kind. Wholeheartedly recommend. Thérèse & Karl from Australia.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Have just returned from Blackthorn Farm, we had a lovely time, scenery was amazing and weather was good for the time of year, you can see for miles. The room was very clean, a liitle small but suited us, bed was comfortable, attention to detail was excellent! people in other rooms were abit noisey, however this did not put us off. Heather in reception was great, really helpful and friendly, Richard was very friendly and knowledgable about the area, he made you feel really welcome. Breakfast was lovely and was a great starter for the day, we visited the White Eagle pub, this is a must, food was lovely and reasonably priced. Overall we had a Great time and will definately return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurMaud66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Bus mans holiday for a local couple! Why travel for hours when you can appreciate this beautiful island on your own doorstep? Blackthorn Farm commands superb panoramic views and is really worthy of its prestigious awards. Try it and you'll be coming back soon!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16PaulDodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for a wedding nearby. We really didn't know what to expect but were instantly made to feel welcome upon arrival and shown to a cosy and clean room. The setting is lovely as was the breakfast. The B&B also has lots of nice personal touches such as a shop that you can buy some provisions on site as well as allowing you to bring in takeaways and providing a selection of menus. Would definitely stay again if visiting the Holyhead area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReviewerAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mnachester
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of August in the 2 bedroomed cottage next to the B abd B. It is very well equipped, clean, comfortable and dog friendly. We ordered breakfast on two mornings and had the Friday supper too. it was brought over to the cottage for us which was brilliant. This is a lovely site with pretty views and fantastic walks along the cliff path.

Highly recommended for stay . all of us - kids aged 15 and 11 really enjoyed it as well as Bruce the dog!!

A real find! fantastic service, friendly and informative.

Room Tip: cottage is also dog friendly so great for all the family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Last minute booking for this b and b proved a gem, very friendly and helpful staff, spotless bedroom, with very comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious. The only disappointment was
although supper menu was advertised on the website, on arrival we were informed that they were, nt serving evening meals. As it was bank holiday we found that most restaurants were fully booked, we eventually found a chip shop in Trearrdur Bay. I wish they had told us that before
booking. Nevertheless we would certainly recommend this b and b.

Room Tip: All the bedrooms seemed equally good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
1.5 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
631 reviews
12.4 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
320 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
311 reviews
22.3 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackthorn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackthorn Farm

Property: Blackthorn Farm
Address: Penrhosfeilw | Penrhos Feilw, Holyhead LL65 2LT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackthorn Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackthorn Farm is a family run Bed & Breakfast and campsite. Set in 18 acres of outstanding beauty, Blackthorn Farm has stunning views for everyone, whether you are camping or staying as guests in one of our eight Bed and Breakfast rooms. If you prefer to stay in self catering accommodation, we have a number of options available to you, both on site and in the Trearddur Bay area. We are within walking distance of one of the two Blue Flag beaches Trearddur Bay has to offer, and there are a multitude of coves, rock pools and smaller beaches all along the coastal road that leads in to Trearddur Bay, which is less than two and a half miles long. We are licensed to sell alcohol and we are no more than ten minutes drive away from several popular restaurants and pubs while maintaining the quietness one would expect from a much more rural location. The area itself is popular with people with all sorts of hobbies, from water sports to horse riding to bird watching and has lots of wonderful, well mapped walks to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blackthorn Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackthorn Farm Hotel Holyhead
Blackthorn Farm Holyhead, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing