We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly accomodation”
Review of Blackthorn Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackthorn Farm
Ranked #1 of 24 Holyhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly accomodation”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Booked at very short notice ( morning of stay ) and arrived late but we were given probably the best room - Llanddwyn. Beautifully appointed generous accomodation, extremely comfortable bed, lovely breakfast gazing out at sea views and a friendly chat with the owner. I would find it hard to fault Blackthorn Farm and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garethwilliam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackthorn247, Owner at Blackthorn Farm, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our newest room Llanddwyn - we do get a lot of positive feedback about this room and we were delighted that you were able to experience it for yourself. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope that next time you will be able to stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    45
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
119
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here in late Jan 2013. Richard the owner was great & so helpful. My room was very, very clean. Only let down was that it was a bit chilly, he gave me a heater though. The food was hearty and simple yet a little over priced. Super service at dinner and breakfast by a lovely girl with a warm smile. I'll definitely be back to stay here & take my family. The whole B & B had a warm and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Josephinerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackthorn247, Owner at Blackthorn Farm, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks Josie for your comments about Blackthorn Farm and for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, but sorry that you felt your room was a little chilly. We always ensure the heating is on in each room in plenty of time before the guest arrives and guests are able to control the heating by using the thermostat on the side of each radiator. We were more than happy to supply an extra heater for you.

We are also glad that you enjoyed your meals, but sorry that you felt they were a little over-priced - we do feel that our carefully considered prices ensure that our meals are good value for money and, in many cases, much cheaper than many nearby eating establishments. Many of our guests also appreciate the convenience that dining at the Bed and Breakfast brings. We're delighted that you will be coming back with your family and can't wait to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend and we cannot fault anything. We booked through late rooms so did not expect too much. I travel alot through work and use late rooms alot, usually you get the duff room and no one from the place you stay communicates but Blackthorn farm is very different.

As soon as we had booked, we recieved a message thanking us for the booking and asking if there was anything they could do for us and offering us an evening meal on the Saturday night. the communication was great throughout.

when we arrived Michelle was there to greet us and show us to the room, once we were settled, Richard came up and introduced himself.

The room was really clean and well set out and all the staff were superb. the food was also superb and the atmosphere in the place was great.

The weekend we were there it was the Anglesey tourist awards and It is no wonder at all that Blackthorn Farm won best B&B and best campsite.

I would recommend Blackthorn farm to anyone without a doubt.

Room Tip: From the look of it there is not a bad room here. we had the Traedar view which a family ensuit, thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackthorn247, Owner at Blackthorn Farm, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
What a fabulous review - thank you so much for your lovely comments and we're absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our recently revamped Trearddur View room. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our fourth visit to Blackthorn farm, every visit is equaly relaxing and again made to feel very welcome.we decided to do a bit of self catering this time and stayed in the cottage, what a fantastic Stay, comfortable, warm and cosy, great facillities and the kids loved it.

Blackthorn farm has now become a ritual and we are already planning a return this spring and possibly again in winter to take full advantage of there winter warmer deal, we did this last year and it was brilliant! Dependent on if we have a Summer we also intend on trying out our camping skills here too.

Once again a special thanks to Richard and all the staff for a friendly and welcoming atmosphere

Mark Joan and family

Room Tip: All rooms and accomodation are all of equaly high quality, and we would highly reccomend a stay at B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackthorn247, Owner at Blackthorn Farm, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Your comments are very much appreciated and we are bowled over by your review. Many of our guests return time and again and it's great that this was your fourth time with us and that you'll be back again soon. We are pleased that you liked Seagull Cottage and that you felt the winter warmer was a good offer. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Blackthorn Farm is probably the best place we have stayed !!! Having stayed in a few B&B over the years, this is the one we return to year after year for a long weekend at the end of May.
Richard and the team are second to none. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Shirley has not been seen without a smile and really chatty when she is doing her daily chores !!
The whole team work like absolute trojans and nothing is too much trouble for them.

The rooms are spotless and cleaned to the highest standard you will find. When the weather is sunny, the views are hard to beat. The location offers superb views across the sea towards Llandudno and the Great Orme.....it's a photgraphers dream !! The sunsets are a joy to watch and take pics of !!!!

But one thing we ask........don't tell everyone...its a secret you want to keep to yourself !!!!! (only joking Richard !!)

If you get the chance, get your backsides there and enjoy it !!

Room Tip: The rooms in the roofspace may be restrictive if you are tall due to the low sloping ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JedSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackthorn247, Owner at Blackthorn Farm, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
What can we say??!! This review is just wonderful to read and so we are truly grateful to you for taking the time to give us such fabulous feedback - this has been passed onto the whole team, including our fantastic cleaner Shirley who was delighted. We hope to see you again very soon and you'll always have a warm welcome from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great place to stay while waiting for ferry to Ireland. we had been visiting friends/family in uk and needed a 2 day stopover before getting irish ferry. saw this place in tourist book and thought it ideal for what we needed.
Owners very friendly and brekkie was great. The room was small and no ensuite, had to share but lucky for us we had sole use.
close to seabird sanctuary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corinne1347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackthorn247, Owner at Blackthorn Farm, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This is our third visit to Blackthorn Farm and Richard & Nigel and their little team are so welcoming & hospitable. The rooms are clean and well provisioned and although we have our favourite we can recommend Sea Gull cottage and Treaddur View, both lovely and very comfortable. My partner is a chef and she had a sneak peek at the kitchens and their are very well equipped and spotlessly clean. The menu is simple with a good selection and the quality and presentation is very good. We recommend their dinner menu which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Nothing is too much trouble for them; Michele was very flexible with our initial booking, Ryan and Nigel both the essence of patience when we turned up slightly late for breakfast and Richard even carried breakfast out to our cottage one morning (thanks Richard). They are themselves dog owners so well behaved and clean mutts are welcome. All in all a lovely time was had thanks to Richard and his team - we had a lovely stay and we will be back. Thank you to you all.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowkaffir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackthorn247, Owner at Blackthorn Farm, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Kurt and Annie, it was an absolute pleasure to look after you during your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
1.5 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
20.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Wavecrest
Wavecrest
#2 of 24 in Holyhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackthorn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackthorn Farm

Property: Blackthorn Farm
Address: Penrhosfeilw | Penrhos Feilw, Holyhead LL65 2LT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackthorn Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackthorn Farm is a family run Bed & Breakfast and campsite. Set in 18 acres of outstanding beauty, Blackthorn Farm has stunning views for everyone, whether you are camping or staying as guests in one of our eight Bed and Breakfast rooms. If you prefer to stay in self catering accommodation, we have a number of options available to you, both on site and in the Trearddur Bay area. We are within walking distance of one of the two Blue Flag beaches Trearddur Bay has to offer, and there are a multitude of coves, rock pools and smaller beaches all along the coastal road that leads in to Trearddur Bay, which is less than two and a half miles long. We are licensed to sell alcohol and we are no more than ten minutes drive away from several popular restaurants and pubs while maintaining the quietness one would expect from a much more rural location. The area itself is popular with people with all sorts of hobbies, from water sports to horse riding to bird watching and has lots of wonderful, well mapped walks to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blackthorn Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackthorn Farm Hotel Holyhead
Blackthorn Farm Holyhead, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing