We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a few fatal flaws”
Review of Hotel Cymyran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cymyran
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Holyhead
Reviewed June 24, 2013

LIke many reviewers we went here on a KGB deal, £129 for 3 nights in a premium room with breakfast. The hotel is really easy to find, it's signposted from the junction off the A55 and at almost every roundabout and turning from there to the site, not sure why people are getting so lost!

The hotel is located close enough to Holyhead and indeed the outskirts where you'll find supermarkets and a pub etc. A short drive to Trearddur Bay and Rhosneigr Bay too. We drove all the way around the island from our base and it was relatively easy to do so.

Beware though, the hotel is next to an RAF Base where they train fighter pilots, whilst it's great to see them swooping overhead when you're on Holy Mountain or one of the bays, it's less exciting if you like an afternoon nap after an action packed morning! They tend to fly over the hotel most days between 2 and 5pm.

The other strange thing about the hotel is these so called balconies they promise for the Premium Rooms, that should read "shared terrace" as that's what you get. They really ought to put out some partitions or something otherwise you have to close the curtains every time you step out of the shower or just fancy stripping off in your room, since nothing's stopping the adjoining room's guests from walking past your window!

The breakfast was good, I wouldn't get it if it wasn't included though as it's a bit steeply priced, but as part of a package there's plenty of hot drink options and the fried breakfast is large and with good produce. The continental breakfast is a bit limited though so get down early!

All in all as most people have said it's a great place to base yourself to explore Anglesey, there were just a few niggling issues that soured it for us.

On our way out I was presented with a drinks bill that had nothing to do with us, probably just a mistake but I'm not sure how easy it would be for someone just to order stuff at the bar and make up any old room number!

Room Tip: There's lots of rooms in the basement, best avoid those, 1st floor facing the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattyLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 316 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just spent the weekend at this hotel. After being registered by a very friendly receiptionist we were guided to our room, which was very light, clean and comfortable. Being an even numbered room we had acess to a large shared balcony. Due to our late arrival we decided to eat at the hotel. What a very good decision. The food was excellent and so was the service. The only minor fault was that the plum crumble was served cold. They would have heated it if only we had been informed before hand that it was cold. This did not stop us eating there the second night, The full Welsh breakfast would set anyone up for the day . The bar staff were very friendly but the actual area is a bit clinical/airport terminal like.
Would recommend this hotel and will return for another visit.

Room Tip: Request an even numbered room (2 -12) to have acess to the shared balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail_60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Whether you are looking for the coughs, puffins, et al at South Stacks or, closer to your home for the trip, Valley Wetlands, or the beach, Hotel Cymyran is ideally situated with wonderful balance of friendliness, luxury and comfort (also a brilliant "full Welsh breakfast" to set to you up for, and see you through, the day). Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterAnnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was organiser for a group of 27 birdwatchers from the Leeds RSPB group staying for a long weekend at Hotel Cymyran. The rooms were first rate with very comfortable beds and modern facilites. Everything was spotlessly clean and fresh towels were provided every day. We had a lovely stay in Anglesey, made lovelier by the caring, helpful and unbelievably patient attitude of every one of the staff we came across. The reception staff were helpful and welcoming; the chef could not have done more to accommodate my gluten-free diet; the service of 3 course meals to 27 people all at once while also having others in the restaurant was an amazing achievement and went like clockwork. But the waiting staff were so patient it is almost untrue!!! Coping with 27 different varieties of the same menu and people forgetting what they had ordered and then remembering after they had taken the plate back to the kitchen took some doing but there was not one who did not smile throughout and my thanks goes to them for looking after us all so very well.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulinehogg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

a fab hotel in a fab location. a modern high quality hotel, everywhere was spotlessly clean, towels changed and room cleaned everyday,. staff were very friendly and helpfull. ate in the restraunt both nights, food was of high quality and reasonably priced, scallops with pea puree and chorizo was fab , breakfast was cooked to order and anything you wanted was possible, freshly squeesed orange juice that you made from the machine, fresh bread that you cut yourself, and toasted or ate warm, a great choice of cereal fresh fruit salad croissants etc.
in a great location for south stack lighthouse, or loads of other lovely walks, cymyran beach just a few mins walk away, .
we were upgraded to room 4 , lovely with a balcony, cant fault anything about hotel cyyran, thanks guys.
stayd an a kgb deal , fantastic value

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeNorhWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days at the beginning of June. Everything about this hotel was fantastic. The room was large, comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was well laid out and had an amazing shower. The food was top restaurant standard with a good selection and very reasonable prices. The staff were lovely. Just cannot fault this place and would Defiantly stay there again. I phoned them the day before arrival asking if they could accommodate our 4 year old grandson (at the last min) and they didn't just put an extra put up bed in our room but changed our room for a family room with a proper bed in it for our grandson, nothing was to much trouble and they were great with our grandson. If you are going to Anglesey then I don't think you would find a better place to stay. Thanks to everyone at the hotel for making our stay so lovely.

Room Tip: Stay here it is brilliant. If you are a smoker ask for a family room they are down stairs with a Fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night kgb break in June , very clean ,very large room,and very good breakfast and dinners,.
Convenient location to visit Angelesy. also great estuary walks from the hotel
Very interesting also to see the Jets at Valley about a mile down the road leading to beautiful beach. .

Room Tip: rooms with a balcony facing west
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hywel909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
3.5 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
653 reviews
9.5 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
328 reviews
16.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,038 reviews
18.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cymyran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cymyran

Address: Llanfair yn Neubwll, Holyhead LL65 3LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Holyhead
Price Range: $128 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cymyran 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Cymyran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cymyran Hotel Holyhead
Hotel Cymyran Holyhead, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing