We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”
Review of Hotel Cymyran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cymyran
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Holyhead
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel . During my stay I was unwell, not pleasant at any time but somehow worse whilst away from home. The staff could not have been more obliging sympathetic and caring. They took customer care and service to another level and I thank them all most sincerely. The rooms are vey clean and comfortable , the food is of a good standard with a very reasonable wine list. I will recommend this hotel to my colleagues without hesitation. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 316 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have styed at this Hotel twice and have nothing but high praise for it. The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff are very friendly.
The breakfasts in the morning were really very good, especially the fresh orange juice machine where you put in fresh oranges which are then squeezed into your glass.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ManjUtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here overnight and really Loved this place, it was a little off the beaten track and a little hard to find. The rooms were big and bright (we had two rooms booked and one had a balcony) only issue was there was no lock on the bathroom door. Had dinner in the restaurant, the service was excellent and the food delicious, great quality and reasonable.


If we had to stay in the area again we would definitely be back to stay here, lovely, spacious rooms, but for me the best thing about my stay was the food-really excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shiggymega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our family of five spent a night here before getting the ferry back to Ireland. It's in a very rural area with good views of the surrounding countryside. Our sat-nav didn't know of the hotel, but putting in the postcode got us there.
Our room was in the basement. It was new, clean and comfortable but had very little natural light. One window was curtained off (because it looked out to a brick wall) and the other looked out to a small patio-like area below ground level. This was fine for one night but would have been quite claustrophobic for a longer stay. Other basement rooms may have been structured differently.
Breakfast was nice and staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Basement rooms may have very little light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnbrady33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We normally stay at a Premier Inn, where possible. The nearest alternative in Holyhead was a Travelodge which, for us, was a definite no no ! We were very pleased with the Hotel Cymyran although situated in a windy and rather desolate spot near RAF Valley. The staff were very welcoming and the room very clean and spacious. The dinner and breakfast were both excellent.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Tiddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Really nice hotel off the beaten track. Room was lovely - a good size and well maintained. Food in the restaurant was excellent. Staff were very helpful / friendly and happy to offer advice on the local area. The area is very quiet and within a 5 min drive / 20 min walk of a fabulous beach We walked down at around 10.00 a.m. each day and had an approx mile stretch of beach virtually to ourselves - wonderful!!. We should note that the hotel is situated close to the local RAF airbase who send over jets on a regular basis. Personally it didn't bother us and wouldn't deter us from staying here again. We'll definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElaineM132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were meeting up with our children and grandchildren on Anglesey and wanted a (relatively) low-cost hotel for two nights. Initially we had been thinking of the Travelodge in Holyhead, but were put off by the poor reviews, and we decided to pay a little more and go to the Cywyran, and we are certainly glad we did. The staff were very helpful, even to the extent of making us a delicious mid-afternoon snack (we'd missed lunch, and therefore the chef by about 30 minutes), and the hotel really was a home from home. Our only gripe was that the advertised free WiFi Internet did not stretch to our room (2), there was an ethernet cable, but that was of no use with an i-pad.

Yes there is a pile of hardcore at the back where the landscaping should be, but that's nit-picking and is more than out-weighed by the plus points, including the luxury of freshly squeezed oranges for breakfast! It's difficult to fault

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Around the World in 80 Ways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holyhead
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
3.5 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
663 reviews
16.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
18.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
15.9 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cymyran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cymyran

Address: Llanfair yn Neubwll, Holyhead LL65 3LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Holyhead
Price Range: $119 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cymyran 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cymyran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cymyran Hotel Holyhead
Hotel Cymyran Holyhead, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing