We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy Breakfasts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plas Hafod

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangollen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plas Hafod
Ranked #3 of 28 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy Breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Two night stop to coincide with a Trip to see friends and a ride on a real ale train on the steam railway.
Lovely welcome to a stunning house. We were made to feel very welcome the moment we opened the door. Lovely room ( we were in the Green Room ), clean, comfortable and warm.
Breakfast was yummy, beautifully cooked and served.

Will certainly stop here again !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuffAndNonsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
73
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have just had a long weekend here and found it so comfortable. Great hosts in Margaret and June. The bedroom was wonderful and we both had the best nights sleep we have had for months. The location is ideal, with a 3 minute walk to the town centre. The breakfast was pre-selected off a list the evening before and was cooked lovely, A wonderful selection of cereals and jams with many items locally produced. Our room was the "Green Room" and had a 4 poster bed with 2 comfy armchairs.
We had 3 nights here and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Green room is Ensuite, the others have a private bathroom next to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Di_Traveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I chose Plas Hafod at random in the TI Office, and now completely understand what serendipity means. From the friendly welcome, the well appointed comfortable bedroom, the very generous breakfast, to the helpful local knowledge and advice, my mother and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
It was only a short walk into the town centre, and local information was readily available.
Our bedroom wasn't en-suite but our private bathroom was onkt next door to the bedroom, so wasn't a problem, and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here (in the red room) for one night as had a wedding in Llangollen. We had an efficient and warm welcome from the lady of the house. We literally arrived, dropped our bags off and arrived back late so didn't venture into the living area. For the red room you get a separate toilet and separate bathroom (with bath and shower), which were both lovely and clean, with nice towels. These rooms are all very close to the main bedroom door and you have a curtain to pull over the hallway entrance to the area you are given with the bedroom, which makes it feel more private for when you need to go to the bathroom.

There wasn't a great view from our bedroom but this wasn't an issue for us and my opinion would be that for where this B&B is, you need to get out and see the wonderful views.

We arrived for breakfast and informed of all the local jams etc. which were lovely. Real butter with the toast, excellent choice of cereals and fruit. You need to complete a breakfast form the day before, which I never have a problem with. Breakfast service was very good and the cooked breakfast was lovely (even with a slight hangover)!!!

There is parking for about 3 cars at the front of the property, which I expect is one car per room so be considerate when parking as the space isn't huge but just enough for 3 in a row.

I would highly recommend this B&B as its location is a short walk into Llangollen centre, great service and lovely owner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocsin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed in the green room, lovely big room but the en suite was small and badly finished. The host
was helpful with where to eat but gave far too much instructions on how it was there house and expected people to respect that, also went on about how to lock and unlock the doors as if we were children.Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridgie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Following our one night stay in February, and my subsequent positive review, we decided to return with friends for a longer stay (4 nights) in Llangollen.
Once again Plas Hafod did not disappoint. We actually slept in both the Blue and Green rooms this time while our friends, Rob & Karen, occupied the Red room.
If you stay longer than one night and the weather is a bit dodgy you can use the large comfortable lounge, which was appreciated. We even asked if they could "chill" our champagne which wasn't any trouble.
The breakfasts were once again of the highlights of our stay. Loads of choice. Try the porridge with the full "Welsh" to follow and you'll be set for the day.
Very comfortable,clean and friendly.
The location is superb.
Why this establishment is only ranked #3 in Llangollen is beyond me. It should be #1.
If we come back to Llangollen in the future there is only one place we will be staying.......Plas Hafod.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break the hosts were very friendly and helpful, the house is a lovely victorian town house with many victorian features, the breakfast is excellant and plentyful with many welsh products, it's close to the town centre, railway , pavillion and canel.
We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.2 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cornerstones Guesthouse
Cornerstones Guesthouse
#2 of 28 in Llangollen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Hafod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Hafod

Property: Plas Hafod
Address: Plas Hafod Abbey Road, Llangollen LL20 8SN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Hafod 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Plas Hafod Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing