We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B in a fantastic location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Four Poster Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 26 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our room was perfect, clean, bright and with a four poster bed! Tha bathroom was beatiful. Extra little touches such as sweets in a jar and cotton wool and buds in the bathroom made the room that little bit more special. Superbly located near the bridge with off street parking; eveything is the shortest of walks away (canal 3 minutes, stream train 2 minutes). The hosts were both friendly and welcome with good advice on trips out. We hope to come back with my parents and take them on the Real Ale Train!

We'd recommend:
The Real Ale Train (if you happen to visit when its on)
A drink sitting outside the Corn mill overlooking the river
Horse drawn canal boat trip
Canal boat across the aquaduct with welsh cream tea
Fouzi's restaurant just over the bridge - lovely fresh and large sharing antipasti platter for 2 for around £7, mussels for around £8- considerably cheaper and more choice than some of the high ranking restaurants on tripadviser.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a four poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liverpoolsnorkeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    19
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
99
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Lovely central but peaceful friendly clean comfy b and b with off street parking and great breakfast. Nice to have fresh fruit salad as a breakfast option. Also gave great recommendation for evening meal - which was fab!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tameside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We've just returned from a wonderful bank holiday break in picturesque Llangollen and stayed at the Four Poster for 2 nights. The welcome we recieved from Angie and Liz was very warm and friendly, as was the overall feel of the place itself. Quaint and full of charachter, spotlessly clean and simply decorated and uncluttered. The breakfast was really good and cooked just as you liked it. The bed was warm and comfortable and the room fresh and airy. The location couldnt have been better as it is just on the fringe of town with everything you may want within easy walking distance. Plenty of pubs and great places to eat as recommended by the girls!! We also had a lovely visit to Plas Newydd at the top of the town which was also recommended by Angie, so easy to miss as it's not well advertised, and well worth the short walk to get to it. Steam trains and horse drawn narrowboats on your doorstep...literally! And a very beautiful town altogether. Definatley one of....if not THE best guesthouse we have stayed in! Thankyou SO much ladies! we WILL be back. L and D x

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was very comfortable and quiet. We ate out at 'The Corn Mill' which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithlyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

spotted this b&b while driving past with sign for accommodation with parking & free wifi. Not one bad thing to say about this b&b. The service from the owner was excellent & nothing was too much trouble. The room was fantastic with a bathroom to match. The breakfast was yummy & she even had vegemite for us aussies. The location was walking distance to town. We would recommend this b&b to everyone & we would go out of our way to stay here again. This was one of the best places we have stayed in our worldly travels

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My friend, her daughter, my grandaughter and myself have just spent 5 days in the holiday cottage at the Four Poster Hotel Llangollen. What a lovely place!! Ideal for exploring Denbighshire and North Wales. The cottage was excellent with everything provided for (you just brought your food. Though there are some great places to eat in Llangollen and around.) Angie and Liz were very friendly hosts and we would highly reccommend this holiday accomodation to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have just returned from a 4 night stay here with my boyfriend whilst celebrating my 30th, and the Four Poster has to be one of the best B&B's I have stayed in (coming from an ex travel agent). Having never been to Wales and originally wanting to go abroad for my birthday, i'm glad I found this little gem of a B&B!
This was booked a few months ago and we had the room with the four poster bed in - very comfortable, spacious and bigger than what I expected it to be. Plenty of room in the bathroom too!
The owners Angie & Liz were very helpful and friendly - even going out of their way on my birthday to put wine in the fridge to cool which I had left in the room and provide us with proper wine glasses so I could celebrate - a nice little touch.
Plenty of choice for breakfast ranging from freshly cooked, fruit bowl, cereals, toast, yoghurts etc - you wouldnt be left hungry for your day out!
The B&B is only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Llangollen and I would certainly recommend this to others.
Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirfield_Sian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

As we tavelled by train the fact that this guest house was centrally placed was very convenient. It was immaculately clean and the breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.We could hear the traffic outside but it did not disturb us.
We did not find the shower very powerful and found Angie and Liz a little intimidating in their approach and all the way they wrote the rules but they looked after us well and we enjoyed our stay.and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Poster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Poster Guesthouse

Property: Four Poster Guesthouse
Address: 1 Mill Street, Llangollen LL20 8RY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Poster Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Poster is a cottage style B&B set in the heart of Llangollen within easy walking distance to bars, restaurants and shops. The Four Poster has 4 rooms, 3 double and 1 room which can sleep up to 4 people (4 single beds). All rooms are en-suite and have hospitality tray, free view T.V. And free WIFI. We also have free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Four Poster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Poster Guesthouse Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing