We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Waters Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2010

From the minute you arrive at this hotel, the staff make you feel very welcome. Check in was very fast and attention paid to detail. Sadly, 'Alfie' the Affrican Grey who features in many reviews was feeling the effects of the very high heat from a summer day and had nothing to say!
I had brought my own bottle of wine and was immediately loaned an ice bucket from the bar, without the usual frown I get from other hotels. I stayed in the 'Dee Valley' room, which had one of the most breath taking views down the River Dee I have ever seen. It must be an awesome spectacle after heavy rain. The hotel itself sits right on the river bank, with easy access to the river should you require it. Sadly, I never got the chance to try out the spa, but was listening to others who had and heard no complaints.
The food served here is of a very high quality and is excellent value for money. The town of Llangolen is 5 mins walk away. If you are looking for a really quiet time away from everything, then I would recommend this hotel. Sadly I was just passing thru, but would have happily stayed more than a few nights.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiefBosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 786 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2010

We had a good two night stay at the White Water Hotel.
The staff were good, food was on the expensive side for what we had.
Breakfast was good value.
Generally we were pleased with our overall stay.
One or two comments on room 210 (This is for the staff if anyone from the hotel reads these reviews).
The television kept clicking as if there was water dripping and couldn’t be programmed to get Channel 5. The curtain tie kept falling off (It’s the one on the left hand side).

I’m not picking, I’m just trying to help.
Derek

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekDeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnChurchward, Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2010

Dear Derek

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at White Waters Country Hotel and hope to welcome you again in the future.

I thank you for raising these issues with room 210.

We appreciate all kinds or feedback from your customers as this allows us to improve our service that we deliver, and also improve the standard of our rooms.

Once again I thank you for your feedback and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Best regards

John Churchward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

The whole ambiance of the hotel was welcoming. We felt the warmth and friendliness from the moment we arrived. Staff were efficient and helpful at all times and both public and private areas were clean and comfortable. Menus were varied and extensive and the food served was well cooked and served using good quality ingredients.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolfieStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Having visited here previously for business purposes and been generally impressed, we called in here for a meal with a group of friends after a wonderful walk on the hills around Llangollen. Whilst some meals in our group were acceptable, those that had the steak and ale pie were appalled. The meat was very tough, under cooked and of very poor quality and the 'pie' was a 2 centimetre thick disk of hard dough. All the meat was left by all diners and the only comment we had was that the waiter would tell the chef.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We spent a very pleasant couple of nights ath the White Waters Country Hotel. The room was very good, the food excellent and breakfast was very satisfying. We made good use of the Spa. Would be happy to stay here again and to recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanniP92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

What a great time we had..the location was perfect overlooking the river Dee..we had a room with a river view which was really pretty and very comfortable. The staff & service were second to none as was the fabulous food in the restaurant. Cosy log fire in the lounge area and lovely quiet Spa..truly an amazing stay..I would recommend it to anyone who wants good value and a great break..loved it..I would rate it 5stars..Brilliant..!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurer0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

lovely place,friendly staff,great food,excellent location

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazza7963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
0.5 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
827 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
554 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
423 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Waters Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Waters Country Hotel

Address: Berwyn Street, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range: $95 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Waters Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Waters Hotel is a new hotel situated in delightful surroundings overlooking the River Dee and yet located only one mile from the town centre. The ethos of this new hotel is to offer the highest quality of luxurious accommodation and service with a restaurant dedicated to fine dining and an environment to provide that ‘little extra’ that puts it apart from other hotels in the area. It offers 25 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your White Waters Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Waters Country Llangollen
Hotel White Waters Country
White Waters Country Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing