We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Waters Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was our first stay at the White Waters Country Hotel which my husband had booked for us via a Groupon Deal.

I can honestly say that we will be staying here again in the summer months. Checking in was very prompt and quick and my husband had asked about an upgrade and we were given the Lady Eleanor Suite which over looks the River Dee. The Suite was beautiful featuring a four poster superking size bed and nice sized bathroom which was also very clean.

Staff were very friendly and always willing to assist where possible. Hotel décor was fine this is a period property and where possible they had made sure that the décor and carpets were in fitting with the features.

Food was very reasonably priced and was lovely, also continental breakfast was fine more than enough to fill you, but we also paid for a cooked breakfast due to going out walking.

Weather was the weather for this time of the year slightly wet in the mornings but brightened up by the afternoon. We also took a trip on the Llangollen Steam Train well worth the £12.00 return price and you get to see some stunning scenery.

Hopefully we will be returning either Easter or early summer next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you for your review.

It is wonderful to read your positive detailed review as it gives such an insight to other travellers visiting the hotel.

I am delighted with your comments on your bedroom and it is certainly worth having an upgrade. It is so lovely to hear that you understand it is very difficult to cater to all tastes in décor but as you have pointed out it is a period property and I am pleased that you think it has been decorated accordingly.

We do look forward to you returning hopefully in warmer, drier conditions when you will be able to sit out on the decking taking in the river and surrounding countryside.

Thank you.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 781 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stay five or six times a year en route to the Lleyn, and I've been meaning to say how excellent it is. Terrific views of the Dee valley, very friendly staff, good bar food and welcoming log fire. Not to mention Alfie the parrot who will talk to you if you are patient. Earlier this year, when snowed in and incommunicado during a power cut, the hotel was wonderful. The proprietor made gallons of soup on his private gas ring and helped to dig out the guests' cars.

Room Tip: Very much worth booking a riverside room for the brilliant views and sound of the rapids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you for reviewing White Waters Country Hotel.

I am delighted with your lovely review and that your stays here are always enjoyable.

I do hope we don't get snowed in again this year but it's great to know everyone's efforts were appreciated.

We all look forward to seeing you both again.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We arrived on 26th October for 2 nights on a Groupon deal and were welcomed by friendly staff. Two days prior to arrival, we had requested an upgrade to a river view room if possible, so were pleased to learn that this had been made available (at an extra cost of £10 per night). The room 'Eiranfa' was a delight, on the top floor, with a small terrace with two chairs to sit and enjoy the views of the River Dee and beyond it the Llangollen railway line. We took all our meals in the 'Rafters' restaurant, and they were served efficiently and hot. The prices of the meals were very reasonable. However, we would agree with some comments made previously that some areas of the hotel look a little tired, but on the whole it is a clean, pleasant hotel and we would definately return for another stay. We enjoyed the walk (approx. 20/25 mins) into Llangollen, initially walking along the main road then cutting through a small park and continuing on a riverside path. Overall, it is the staff who make this a nice place to stay and they do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a river facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for your review and once again it's great to read that you were able to upgrade and also had the added bonus of having a balcony to enjoy the surrounding scenery.

I appreciate your feedback that some areas need attention and these areas are being addressed as and when possible.

Thank you very much for your comments on our customer service, it is always rewarding to all of us here that we have done everything possible to ensure our guests stay is enjoyable.

I do hope you return and it would be lovely to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked this on spec as we travelled through Wales. The staff were friendly, informative and helpful. The food was good after a long day travelling. ,The rooms were fairly basic but clean and comfortable. Lots of hot water in a reasonable bathroom (can you believe this is still an issue in some hotels) and a good bed meant we slept well and woke to a hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for your review it is a delight to read that you were happy with all aspects of your stay.

It boosts staff moral to hear that we were friendly, helpful and informative as we strive to give excellent customer service our visitors deserve.

We do hope you return again sometime.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here last weekend on a Groupon deal at £95 for 2 nights, we paid an additional £10 per night on arrival to upgrade to a room with a river view. We had an excellent stay.
I am surprised by the last 2 reviews, especially the review that said fishing equipment was provided. It clearly stated on the website and the Groupon voucher that fishing equipment WASN'T provided. Location was great.

Our room was lovely, very clean, and very spacious. Tea and coffee facilities, shampoos and room service all available along with tv, hairdyer and clothes press.

We ate in the bar on our first night and the food was lovely and under £10 per meal.

Staff were all really friendly and were really helpful on asking for places to go etc

We ate the in the restaurant only for breakfast but the restaurant itself was lovely! Tea and coffee and lots of variety on offer for the continental breakfast that was included in the price.

All in all a great stay and we would love to go back, definitely worth paying the extra £10 per room for a river view! Ask for room 208! :-)
Also worth a drive up to Horse Shoe Pass, really great views!

Room Tip: Upgrade to river view room for an extra £10 per night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xSunSeaSandx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

It is wonderful to read that you had an excellent stay & were able to upgrade to a river view it does make a difference looking out onto the river and countryside.

I am also delighted to hear that our high housekeeping standards were appreciated and I will certainly let them know that their hard work is noticed. It's great to hear your positive comments on the lovely bar food and most importantly that it was good value.

Thank you very much for your feedback it is very welcome and your tips help other travellers visiting the area.

I do hope you return for another stay here at White Waters Country Hotel.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed last weekend on a Groupon deal. First the positives, staff pleasant and friendly. Good service and cleanliness. Location of hotel approximately 3/4 mile from town centre and a nice walk into town. Slight hill on way back but not too steep. Hotel overlooks river which is lovely and pleasant with large decked area. Now for the negatives, as per the previous reviewer this hotel is long overdue for an update. Everything is dated from the patterned carpets to the swags and tails curtains. Our bedroom had well used furniture, evidence of damp around windows (paint flaking, mould around window frame), telephone socket hanging off wall. The bathroom was worse, mould around bath, mis-matched bath seals, huge amount of silicone to create seal around bath panel, cracked floor tiles, missing sink shelf ( brackets on wall but no glass shelf) loose/broken shower slider rail. We had evening meal there and would class food as adequate for the price. We also had a cooked breakfast which was ok, but was an additional cost. Overall we were disappointed with our stay and unfortunately would not return. With some serious upgrading this could be a really good hotel, and once again the staff really help this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerseysidePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for your review.

It is very much appreciated that you found all the staff to be pleasant and friendly and that the standards of cleanliness and service good.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed in your stay and I assure you that all the negatives mentioned will be addressed. The hotel is in the process of having improvements made and redecoration were needed as and when possible which during busy times can be difficult.

Once again I am sorry we have failed you but would appreciate the chance to rectify this if you return.

kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights on a groupon deal last weekend. I booked it for my husbands birthday to fish, ( on only find out the season had ended on arrival! despite a few prior phone calls regarding fishing. The fishing area was small and not ideal. The website on groupon said it provided fishing stuff, which it didn't so we brought our own. The hotel did not provide cots or even a travel cot which i think is poor and a service most hotels give. We upgraded our room at a price to be given a tiny attic room (which smelt damp and very hot) and when it rained ( alot) sounded like being in a tin can. Despite the poor weather we had a nice time and the staff were friendly and helpful. I think its fair to say that the hotel itself could do with a serous update. Although funny its not really hygienic to see a parot in a large cage in the reception and the outdated water feature was a blast from the 70's.
The breakfast was a joke. White sliced cheap bread ( or brown) which kept running out, marmalade and some soggy tinned fruit and cheap yogurts. We paid for a cooked breakfast ( nice but at a price). The evening meal was very disappointing too, over cooked dry trout fillet drenched in far too much butter served with over boiled veg accompanied by very loud cheesy music in the bar.
All in all a pretty disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSaKkkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for writing a review on the hotel.

Firstly may I just point out that it clearly states on the Groupon voucher that the river permit is free but you must bring your own equipment and tackle, I certainly wouldn't want anybody to be mislead. Also although the season may have finished you are still welcome to use the river as a lot of fisherman are happy to just practice techniques and casting.

Regarding the mention of travel cots there are strict health & safety issues that must be met and it was decided that when asked that the majority of parents wished to use their own.

I am sorry that the weather was not kind to you but despite this you had a nice time.

The room that you were allocated is in the old part of the building retaining it's character with sloping ceilings and an outside balcony which takes in the beautiful surroundings although it was raining heavily I assure you that it is a tiled roof.

I am sorry that you found the continental breakfast disappointing but we do find that most people are more than happy to upgrade to a full cooked breakfast at £5.95 a head if they wish.

Obviously we can't cater to all tastes but have tried to create different styles around the hotel to enhance the character of the building if the best way possible.

Once again thank you for your review we do welcome all feedback good or bad.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
493 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
814 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Waters Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Waters Country Hotel

Address: Berwyn Street, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range: $98 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Waters Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Waters Hotel is a new hotel situated in delightful surroundings overlooking the River Dee and yet located only one mile from the town centre. The ethos of this new hotel is to offer the highest quality of luxurious accommodation and service with a restaurant dedicated to fine dining and an environment to provide that ‘little extra’ that puts it apart from other hotels in the area. It offers 25 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your White Waters Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Waters Country Llangollen
Hotel White Waters Country
White Waters Country Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing