We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Waters Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Waters Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here last weekend on a Groupon deal at £95 for 2 nights, we paid an additional £10 per night on arrival to upgrade to a room with a river view. We had an excellent stay.
I am surprised by the last 2 reviews, especially the review that said fishing equipment was provided. It clearly stated on the website and the Groupon voucher that fishing equipment WASN'T provided. Location was great.

Our room was lovely, very clean, and very spacious. Tea and coffee facilities, shampoos and room service all available along with tv, hairdyer and clothes press.

We ate in the bar on our first night and the food was lovely and under £10 per meal.

Staff were all really friendly and were really helpful on asking for places to go etc

We ate the in the restaurant only for breakfast but the restaurant itself was lovely! Tea and coffee and lots of variety on offer for the continental breakfast that was included in the price.

All in all a great stay and we would love to go back, definitely worth paying the extra £10 per room for a river view! Ask for room 208! :-)
Also worth a drive up to Horse Shoe Pass, really great views!

Room Tip: Upgrade to river view room for an extra £10 per night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xSunSeaSandx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review.

It is wonderful to read that you had an excellent stay & were able to upgrade to a river view it does make a difference looking out onto the river and countryside.

I am also delighted to hear that our high housekeeping standards were appreciated and I will certainly let them know that their hard work is noticed. It's great to hear your positive comments on the lovely bar food and most importantly that it was good value.

Thank you very much for your feedback it is very welcome and your tips help other travellers visiting the area.

I do hope you return for another stay here at White Waters Country Hotel.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception

I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    208
    72
    40
    26
See reviews for
118
436
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed last weekend on a Groupon deal. First the positives, staff pleasant and friendly. Good service and cleanliness. Location of hotel approximately 3/4 mile from town centre and a nice walk into town. Slight hill on way back but not too steep. Hotel overlooks river which is lovely and pleasant with large decked area. Now for the negatives, as per the previous reviewer this hotel is long overdue for an update. Everything is dated from the patterned carpets to the swags and tails curtains. Our bedroom had well used furniture, evidence of damp around windows (paint flaking, mould around window frame), telephone socket hanging off wall. The bathroom was worse, mould around bath, mis-matched bath seals, huge amount of silicone to create seal around bath panel, cracked floor tiles, missing sink shelf ( brackets on wall but no glass shelf) loose/broken shower slider rail. We had evening meal there and would class food as adequate for the price. We also had a cooked breakfast which was ok, but was an additional cost. Overall we were disappointed with our stay and unfortunately would not return. With some serious upgrading this could be a really good hotel, and once again the staff really help this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerseysidePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It is very much appreciated that you found all the staff to be pleasant and friendly and that the standards of cleanliness and service good.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed in your stay and I assure you that all the negatives mentioned will be addressed. The hotel is in the process of having improvements made and redecoration were needed as and when possible which during busy times can be difficult.

Once again I am sorry we have failed you but would appreciate the chance to rectify this if you return.

kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights on a groupon deal last weekend. I booked it for my husbands birthday to fish, ( on only find out the season had ended on arrival! despite a few prior phone calls regarding fishing. The fishing area was small and not ideal. The website on groupon said it provided fishing stuff, which it didn't so we brought our own. The hotel did not provide cots or even a travel cot which i think is poor and a service most hotels give. We upgraded our room at a price to be given a tiny attic room (which smelt damp and very hot) and when it rained ( alot) sounded like being in a tin can. Despite the poor weather we had a nice time and the staff were friendly and helpful. I think its fair to say that the hotel itself could do with a serous update. Although funny its not really hygienic to see a parot in a large cage in the reception and the outdated water feature was a blast from the 70's.
The breakfast was a joke. White sliced cheap bread ( or brown) which kept running out, marmalade and some soggy tinned fruit and cheap yogurts. We paid for a cooked breakfast ( nice but at a price). The evening meal was very disappointing too, over cooked dry trout fillet drenched in far too much butter served with over boiled veg accompanied by very loud cheesy music in the bar.
All in all a pretty disappointing stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSaKkkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on the hotel.

Firstly may I just point out that it clearly states on the Groupon voucher that the river permit is free but you must bring your own equipment and tackle, I certainly wouldn't want anybody to be mislead. Also although the season may have finished you are still welcome to use the river as a lot of fisherman are happy to just practice techniques and casting.

Regarding the mention of travel cots there are strict health & safety issues that must be met and it was decided that when asked that the majority of parents wished to use their own.

I am sorry that the weather was not kind to you but despite this you had a nice time.

The room that you were allocated is in the old part of the building retaining it's character with sloping ceilings and an outside balcony which takes in the beautiful surroundings although it was raining heavily I assure you that it is a tiled roof.

I am sorry that you found the continental breakfast disappointing but we do find that most people are more than happy to upgrade to a full cooked breakfast at £5.95 a head if they wish.

Obviously we can't cater to all tastes but have tried to create different styles around the hotel to enhance the character of the building if the best way possible.

Once again thank you for your review we do welcome all feedback good or bad.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here on a Groupon offer and upgraded to the River Dee room - Wow what a view from the large and well appointed balcony with it's rattan table and 4 chairs, great to sit out and enjoy a cup of tea whilst gazing at the beautiful scenery.The bedroom is large with the most comfortable super kingsize bed we have slept in, the facilities in the room are well appointed. Food in the resturant was well cooked and presented, plus a really good choice selection from the Table d' Hote menu. The service from all staff was welcoming and friendly and it's refreshing to stay in a hotel where the staff will engage you in conversation and not just simply serve you.
The hotel is ideally located for touring North Wales.

Room Tip: River Dee room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve-les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for reviewing White Waters Country Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at White Waters Country Hotel.

The bedroom that you had is very well appointed to take in the stunning views from the balcony and I am pleased to read that you had a comfortable night the super king-size bed is always appreciated.

It's pleasing to read that you found the food of good standard and well presented and it's important to have this feedback.

It is most important to all of us here that we create the right level of service and make sure all our customers are made to feel welcome. It makes our day to hear we have been successful at achieving this.

We all hope you make a return visit to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just a quick note becuase other reviews have commented in detail.
We had a great time. The staff were friendly and the food was great.
We had a problem with the room when we first arrived and the staff dealt with quickly and efficiently to our great satisfaction.
It was very hot in the hotel though! but an open window will sort this! Pool and SPA was closed, but I understand the reasons quoted by management. Don't come for the SPA and Pool!.
Many thanks. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Room facing the Castel on the hill - Dinas Bran
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hicksie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for writing a review it is welcomed.

I am delighted that you both enjoyed your stay. It is very pleasing to hear that your room problem was dealt with efficiently and that you were happy with this.

I do hope you return for a further visit to White Waters Hotel.

kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights , first night was a luxury room then two nights in a balcony room.
Both were great , breath taking views , good value , staff are fantastic and great base to get around the area . It is what it is , its a great 3 star hotel . Nothing pretentious good value and would return
Give it a go

Room Tip: Go for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing White Waters all reviews are welcome.

I think you have put it in a nutshell, great review which assists other guests on a venue to visit.

It was a delight to look after you both and I do hope you make a return visit to the hotel.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you need some respite or some 'you' time, definitely visit here. Such lovely views of the river and so quiet. Visited here twice and will most definitely return, the staff are wonderful. Food could do witty a little more attention but good value for money.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HSim4030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It is lovely to read that you have visited the hotel twice and also that you find it tranquil especially by the river, a perfect place to re-charge your batteries!

I am pleased that you found the food good value for money and I am sure there will be some seasonal changes to the menu soon.

We do look forward to you revisiting.

Thank you and kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.5 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Waters Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Waters Country Hotel

Property: White Waters Country Hotel
Address: Berwyn Street, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Waters Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Waters Hotel is a new hotel situated in delightful surroundings overlooking the River Dee and yet located only one mile from the town centre. The ethos of this new hotel is to offer the highest quality of luxurious accommodation and service with a restaurant dedicated to fine dining and an environment to provide that ‘little extra’ that puts it apart from other hotels in the area. It offers 25 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your White Waters Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Waters Country Llangollen
Hotel White Waters Country
White Waters Country Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing