We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put this on your list to stay at!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Waters Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Put this on your list to stay at!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. The staff and parrot are very welcoming and friendly and the room was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. Sitting by the wood burner was a real bonus! Would reccomend staying here and we are coming back again in the spring. One suggestion I would like to make - fresh fruit and yogurt would have been a nice extra on the breakfast choice.

Room Tip: Ask if one is available overlooking the river - for scenary. We were at the front but never heard an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186424Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review White Waters.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. “Alf “the resident parrot may have to go on the payroll soon as he is quite an asset!
I am sorry that there weren’t any yoghurts out on the breakfast table (there certainly should have been- just a little oversight)
It’s always good to have feedback from our customers to see where improvements can be made.
We will be happy to see you return to White Waters in the spring.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    215
    79
    42
    27
See reviews for
127
455
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have just arrived back from White Waters Hotel after staying over for a night. I can sum it up in one word Fantastic. Right across the board from owners to staff to location not a fault. It is a must stay for anyone visiting Llangollen.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antmac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for writing this review.

We very much appreciate your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed everything about your stay at White Waters Country Hotel.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

4th stay here in 4 years still the same as first time we whent( LOVELY) .all staff give nothing but there best. food( LOVELY) hotel spotlesly clean, beds realy(LOVELY) and comfy. walked in to llangollen on the saterday 5min from hotel had a coffee at royal caff very nice. walk round the town lots of littel shops to look around- in it is like going back in time absolutely love it here. cant what to get back to hotel for or evening dinner in front of the big roaring fire a bottle of red and some nice music .coming for christmas this year as a presant for my wife hope it snows cant wate.

Room Tip: ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPARRA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments and continued support. It is very important to us all here at the hotel that high standards are kept throughout.
It’s excellent to hear that you are already looking forward to returning to White Waters Hotel shortly.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

we just had a weekend break in pretty dismal weather, but the hotel was beautifully situated, and if it had been sunny, we had a balcony with river view. The staff were friendly and helpful and the enormous bed gave us a great nights sleep. We didn't eat in the hotel, but had drinks with free wifi in the lounge which we enjoyed. Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: ask for a top rear room to enjoy the view from a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolineneeshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review.

It’s lovely to read that you still enjoyed your stay despite our great British weather! Balcony rooms are very popular and are an added bonus to be enjoyed through the seasons as long as it’s dry.

Kind regards
Sarah Davies

Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Me and my husband booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary mainly for the location. When we arrived we met the receptionist sarah she was very helpful and friendly. We got to our room and was really dissapointed the room really does need updating urgetly, also the tiles were broken in the bathroom which is really dangerous as my husband cut his foot. We spoke to the manager he advised he can upgrade us but we will be charged- really! This room looked alot better as it was a vip room but guess what the bed was awful it was broken mattress had the worst sleep ever. Spoke to the hotel owner ali she was very unhelpful she said ill get someone to have a look at it. She didnt even get back to me to advise what she will do to resolve the matter. Please take my advice and update this hotel also learn customer service from your receptionist sarah. I will not be staying here again but thank you for the time we spent there.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tameena1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

I would like to apologise that you were disappointed with your room, but unfortunately you did not complain to reception until later on in the evening after sleeping in the bed and then reported cracked tiles on the bathroom floor, which we appreciated and moved you to a luxury room at a discounted price as a goodwill gesture. Maintenance went into the room the following day to rectify the broken tiles. Once again we would like to thank you for pointing this out.
There was no report of your husband cutting his foot but what was said that you both walk around with no shoes on and you could cut your feet hence why you were moved immediately.
Once again the following morning nothing was reported to reception regarding a broken bed until late afternoon on your return from a day out. The owner advised that she would get the house-keeper to investigate it whilst you were spending time in the spa.
The house-keeper and owner went up to the room, lifted up the mattress to check the base of the bed and none of the slats were broken, they then checked the mattress which was also not damaged. In the past we have had customers who have asked where our beds are from as they have had the most comfortable nights sleep ever. I am sorry you did not get this luxury.
I can assure you that all the staff and hotel owner was more than helpful and attended all needs possible immediately.

Thank you.

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill town
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We went on a Groupon deal and had a lovely two night break at the White Waters Hotel.
The staff are very friendly and efficient and the room we stayed in was clean and comfortable.
We went in late November so the weather was pretty dreadful however we still enjoyed the views and surroundings and the relaxed and informal feel of the place made us feel right at home.We dined in the restaurant on the first evening - sadly there were only two other diners so the atmosphere was subdued- but Josh was very attentive and the food was served hot and fresh so was very enjoyable- one criticism would be that they use frozen chips which I would expect in a pub not a restaurant- that said the fillet steak was very good quality.
We will be back when the weather is a bit better so we can enjoy the splendid decking area overlooking the river.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tartanteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks for leaving a review on your stay.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay despite the weather and as you say you can still appreciate the stunning scenery.
Thank you for your feedback on the restaurant and that you enjoyed your meals and also the excellent service provided by Tosh.
I agree that a visit in the warmer and drier season is needed to enjoy the decking and outside area.

Thank you and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

My family and I came here for lunch,we had been else where first but wasn't happy with the service, so left. We were so glad we came to The White Waters, it was clean, with a nice atmosphere, the man who took our order at the bar was very welcoming and the other staff were also friendly, the food we ordered was very nice, we had jacket potatoes, which were huge and came with plenty of topping, the children ordered burgers (which seemed to be home made) and were very tasty. We loved the parrot in the entrance, he too was very friendly! We would like to stay here for a night or two in the near future, so are looking forward to going back in the summer when we can sit outside in the lovely area they have there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tinkerlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Waters1, Front Office Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you very much for writing this review. It is important to us here at White Waters Country Hotel to get feedback from all our guests whether staying in the hotel, visiting the restaurant or just popping in for lunch.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your lunch and appreciated the friendly staff and atmosphere.
“Alfie” the parrot is indeed an asset to reception with his chatter and is always a hit with the youngsters.

I do hope to welcome you back for a stay in the spring/summer.

Kind regards

Sarah Davies
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
479 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
395 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,278 reviews
2.7 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#7 of 26 in Llangollen
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Waters Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Waters Country Hotel

Property: White Waters Country Hotel
Address: Berwyn Street, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Llangollen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Waters Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Waters Hotel is a new hotel situated in delightful surroundings overlooking the River Dee and yet located only one mile from the town centre. The ethos of this new hotel is to offer the highest quality of luxurious accommodation and service with a restaurant dedicated to fine dining and an environment to provide that ‘little extra’ that puts it apart from other hotels in the area. It offers 25 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your White Waters Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Waters Country Llangollen
Hotel White Waters Country
White Waters Country Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing