We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Waters Country Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
White Waters Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel for our 5th wedding anniversary. Paid extra for a river view which was well worth it. The food was very good. We too would have liked to have had a bar menu meal in the restaurant but we didn't ask so maybe we should have. The room was very comfortable but a bit small for a VIP room. The staff were very amenable. We would stay here again and look forward to it. Diolch.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room and ask for the biggest one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cwmscwtilass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John186439, General Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Many thanks for finding the time to leave this review on our hotel.

Im delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I must agree with you that the rooms that benefit form a river view are well worth the upgrade charge.

By booking direct with the hotel we can make sure that a river view is allocated to you.

The VIP Double rooms benefit from a balcony with over look the river which do come with a small upgrade charge but again well worth the extra.

Look forward to welcoming you back to White Waters Country Hotel.

Kind regards,

John Churchward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    209
    72
    40
    26
See reviews for
119
436
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

my husband and i had a very memorable time, the hotel was lovely and clean the staff were brilliant and of course alfi the african grey was charming..... food very good and we will be going back at some point. we had a very enjoyable romantic break perfect...
thank you from mrs pierrepoint

Room Tip: 1st floor very handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John186439, General Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Im delighted to ready that you had an enjoyable stay with us Mrs Pierrepoint.

Thank you very much for finding the time to leave a positive review on our hotel.

Look forward to welcoming you back to White Waters Country Hotel soon.

Best regards,

John Churchward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed for three nights and had a great time. The food was great and the only fault was that if you wished to eat in the restaurant you only had a choice of the table'hote menu which was very limited and expensive. The bar food was amazing for the price and I would suggest to the owners that you serve that menu in the restaurant., Bar was full restaurant was empty. Thereby hangs a tale.
We will return without a doubt.
Wish we had known that we could request a river view. If you book this hotel ask for a river view.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John186439, General Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
It’s fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at White Waters Country Hotel and i thank you for finding the time to review your experience at our hotel.

I’m sorry that you didn’t feel that our restaurant gave you much choice.

Our Table d’hôte menu is created from 4 choices from each section Mains, Starters & Sweets in which the menu is changed on a daily basis. We do also allow you to enjoy a bar meal in the Rafters Restaurant should you not fancy any of the mains on the restaurant menu. (Subject to management discretion).

We did try introducing an A la Carte menu into the restaurant which gave customers a wide variety of choice but the feedback was that customers would much rather have a set 3 course menu.

By booking direct with the hotel you can not only request a river view room but you can also check out our rooms on our website and request a specific upgraded room which i feel is well worth it.

I do hope to welcome you again to White Waters Country Hotel in the very near future.

Please keep an eye on our website for the latest offers of contact the hotel direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed for one night after a day on the river, receptionist was lovely and welcoming and Alf (the African Grey) was charming!
The room had good decor and was clean.
The night porter was very accommodating and opened the bar so we could have a night cap. (thankyou!)
The breakfast however was slightly disappointing, there was little choice and not a lot left, although when asked the waiter did fetch the items I requested.
Gorgeous location. In reponse to another traveller's review - it is quite possible that they heard the hoover as i witnessed it being used at approx. 0300!
I cannot comment on the spa facilities as we didn't use them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember07272015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John186439, General Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Again I would like to thank this customer for finding the time to review our hotel.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay but a bit disappointed to read that your breakfast experience did not live up to your expectations. I have forwarded your comments on to the relevant department.

On the other hand again i'm delighted to read that our staff did see to your needs.

Please come and stay with us again in the future so you can see that we have taken your comment on board.

Best regards,

John Churchward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfcangel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the White Waters last week for our tenth anniversary. It was the first time away from our toddler, and as we were chatting to the lady at reception whilst booking in, we mentioned this. After getting the key to our standard room (which was beautiful), my partner went to get our luggage. Upon walking back into reception, the lady who had booked us in asked if we would like a free upgrade to a luxury suite, as it was our first time away from our daughter. Wow, couldn't believe it...we ended up staying in absolute luxury in the Dee Valley room, which was stunning! The views from the room were fabulous, and the room itself was to die for. We had all our evening meals in the bar, food was gorgeous, the free breakfast was too. Couldn't fault the hotel at all, just lovely, lovely staff, would definitely recommend! Infact, we are going back with our parents so that they can sample the food/staff/views next week!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lfcangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John186439, General Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for leaving this fantastic review on our hotel.

Im delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at White Waters Country Hotel.

It’s great to read that our reception team offered you a free upgrade due to your stay being a special occasion.

This is something we do try to promote when we have availability, again this shows that our staff do go above and beyond to ensure that each guest's stay is one to remember.

We hope to welcome you back to White Waters Country Hotel in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

John Churchward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

My daughter and I stayed just one night in this hotel. It was a last minute thing and we payed just £55 for a twin room including continental breakfast. Spa after a long day driving was fabulous. Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John186439, General Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Many thanks for finding the time to leave a positive review on our hotel. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at White Waters Country Hotel. I must agree the Spa is very relaxing. We hope to welcome you back to White Waters Country Hotel in the near future. Remember keep a look out on our website for our latest offers.

Best regards,

John Churchward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

my husband and i have just come home after a couple of days at this hotel.and what a lovley time we had .the hotel is about 1 mile away from the town which was just right for a after dinner stroll.the hotel itself is very pleasant situated right on the river dee so peaceful and relaxing.it is a family run hotel very cosy and friendly .the rooms are very nice and exceptioally clean.plenty of tea and coffee supplied .lovley white clean towels.plenty of hot water.the bed was very comfortable.well done to the house keeping team the hotel was imaculate.you can have bar meals which were delicious or you could book the restraunt which was very pleasant with by folding doors which opened out onto a extensive decked terrace with a stunning view over the dee river and valleys..the staff are all lovley and nothing was to much trouble if you need anything .,and mark the barman is hilarious what a sence of humour.all in all we will definatley be returning as soon as possible .xxxx

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the river the view is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tazzyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John186439, General Manager at White Waters Country Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
I would like to thank this customer for finding the time to review our hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at White Waters Country Hotel, I am also delighted to read that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

I feel that we have a great team of staff that go above and beyond to ensure that each and every customers experience is one to remember and also we pride ourselves on being a family run hotel as we want you to feel that White Waters Country Hotel is home from home.

Must admit that the folding doors do add to the atmosphere of the Rafters Restaurant as its great on a summer’s day to dine in the restaurant whilst listening to the River Dee.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

John Churchward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.5 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Waters Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Waters Country Hotel

Property: White Waters Country Hotel
Address: Berwyn Street, Llangollen LL20 8AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
#2 Family Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Waters Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Waters Hotel is a new hotel situated in delightful surroundings overlooking the River Dee and yet located only one mile from the town centre. The ethos of this new hotel is to offer the highest quality of luxurious accommodation and service with a restaurant dedicated to fine dining and an environment to provide that ‘little extra’ that puts it apart from other hotels in the area. It offers 25 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your White Waters Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Waters Country Llangollen
Hotel White Waters Country
White Waters Country Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing