We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location, great cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Velvet Cottage

Offroad parking bay, cottage frontage and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Offroad parking bay, cottage frontage and garden
Velvet Cottage showing front access steps. Large three seater faux leather sofa in the lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Offroad parking bay, cottage frontage and garden
Velvet Cottage showing front access steps.
Large three seater faux leather sofa in the lounge
Two seater leather settee and views across the valley
Kitchen and dining area
Superking bed
Twin beds
Bathroom showing full size bath and shower
Single bedroom
View across the valley from Velvet Cottage front terrace
The rumour is true - Eliseg's pillar does contain a pot of gold!!
Abbey Terrace and Velvet Hill from Llantysilio slate tramway
Llantysilio Church with snowdrops in Spring
Plas Newydd with Spring crocuses
Clwydian Way (ten minutes' walk from Velvet Cottage) in Winter
Valle Crucis Abbey and carp pond
Horseshoe Falls on the River Dee (ten minutes' walk from Velvet Cottage)
Valle Crucis Abbey in evening sunshine
Valle Crucis Abbey and Dinas Bran castle from Velvet Hill (behind Velvet Cottage)
Velvet Hill from the Llantysilio Mountain tramway
Velvet Hill and the Llantysilio mountain range from Fron Fawr mountain.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kim G
2 reviews
“Lovely location, great cottage”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

It's a long time since we booked a holiday cottage and we weren't sure what to expect. We were attending the Geocaching Mega Event at the Pavillion and had friends camping nearby. This is a lovely little cottage, very well placed just outside of Llangollen. The pub over the road does great beer and food (although they were somewhat disorganised), and the Abbey shop down the road was great for bits we needed.
The cottage is spacious and very clean, the huge bed is great, the wifi was a blessing with our son playing Pokémon !! He chose the smallest bedroom instead of the large twin room as he thought it was great under the eaves.
We did some great walks from here and saw some sights. There's plenty of information provided by the owner about local hostelries, walks etc.
If you're taking dogs the garden isn't secure to let them out on their own, but we blocked off the patio area with chairs so they couldn't get through.
We'd certainly revisit again. Really enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Garden not secure for dogs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaas S
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very accurate description, excellent location”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Actually we cannot add anything else to the description and photo's than our personal opinion after having experienced a 5 days stay, as family with 3 older teenage children. Llangollen is not far away and the owners provide many useful information on different walks. The immediate area around the cottage is already inviting for many beautiful walks. The views from the cottage into the valley are superb.
The kitchen is well equipped and just large enough to sit with 5 (almost) adults around the table. This room we used mostly to sit when we were in the cottage. The living room is quite small, and we found the couches very uncomfortable to relax.
The bathroom is amazingly large for the size of the cottage, with a tub, toilet, separate shower (with curtain) and a sink unfortunately equipped with two separate taps, making it impossible to get moderate temperature flowing water here. On top of that these taps are of the type that you press them once and water starts flowing with high pressure, splashing a lot when you put yours hands in the flow, and cutting off when you need water... I personally would prefer to be able to mix and control the flow freely. We would also recommend more possibilities to hang up wet towels here.
The master bedroom with a large double is perfect. The second bedroom with two singles is also really spacy. One of the mattresses here may have had its longest time, as the springs were painfully present.
The third bedroom we used was small but sufficient.

Our first impression was unfortunately mainly affected by the overwhelming smell of air purifiers and a somewhat damp atmosphere, the latter probably caused by previous rains. Nevertheless the previous presence of dogs could not be concealed. Remaining hairs confirmed this.
Overall, we found the cleaning somewhat lacking, especially the presence of many spiders, cobweb remains and some dust and a really greasy kitchenfan should not have been necessary.
It may be good to know that the parking space immediately in front of the cottage can be easily reached and is big enough for a larger family van.
Our kids liked the area very much, but honestly they were glad when we left. After having bumped my head for the xxth time (despite all the warnings and stickers on the low beams), I somewhat tend to agree.
I guess with better ventilation, no airsprays, a little upgrade of the couches and bringing your own dog, this could be a perfect cottage to stay when you want to visit Llangollen, and you should visit, as it is really beautiful here!

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelljoe11...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“2nd visit beautiful location dont think the views can be beaten”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

just back from our 2nd stay at velvet cottage, pretty much unchanged from last time, perfect views from the front and back, great walks, weather was not to bad for us, plenty to do in and around llangollen steam trains, museums and landmarks, shops cafes bars. cottage has everything you need although it has been mentioned a washing machine would be handy and there is plenty of room for one, only mention that as a lot of walkers only would be interested in renting cottages with a washer didnt matter to us though
brilliant stay and will hopefully be coming back soon

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandie100...
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money and a superb location”
Reviewed January 19, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed at velvet cottage in late 2015. Have to say the location was amazing and the owners Ian and Yvonne could not do enough for us.

We took our two dogs who were very happy there and it was great to have walks right on the door step. The views from the bedrooms, kitchen and living room were amazing and everything was lovely and clean when we arrived. Plus a complimentary bottle of wine helped us to relax after our journey.

Great value for money and a superb location. Would definitely go back again

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaduke...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A really good Family Cottage”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A lovely, characterful cottage within easy walking distance of Lllangollen which was ideal for a family with 3 generations. Very peaceful area, even though there is a campsite across the road - a very useful and well equipped play park at the pub, within sight of the cottage.
Wifi useful, even though somewhat intermittent which is to be expected in a rural area. The youngest generation had great fun exploring Velvet Hill whilst the older generation enjoyed a glass of wine in the garden!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine...
Talybont, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Break Away”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Ideal location. But car needed to get about if not walking.
Well equipped even including all the gear for the BBQ in a separate bag.
Warm and cosy.
Beautiful views.
Low ceilinged but no problem.
Could just have done with a handrail on second set of steps outside.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and peace
Liked least: Steep garden. We could only just manage BBQ area.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon U
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A warm, friendly and characterful cottage.”
Reviewed February 25, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I've loved Llangollen ever since my mum and dad used to stop over there on the way through to Llandudno, for my childhood family holidays.

Since that time, I've visited and stayed many times. Velvet Cottage is about 2 miles out of Llangollen itself, but is an easy stroll down the canal to get into town or via any other picturesque walks. We decided to stay here, due to its proximity to the Llangollen Brewery, sited in the Abbey Grange Hotel and the walking opportunities.

The cottage has bags of character. There is a small cozy living room and a nice, large, well-appointed kitchen. The bedrooms are really comfy and the super kingsize bed is massive!

I tend to judge properties on the atmosphere and 'vibe' they have, rather than if it has ultra modern fittings and decor etc. so this place really scores for me.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The general welcoming feel of the place.
Liked least: The shower was very weak.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing