We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)(Great Value!)
$119
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Hand Hotel(Llangollen)
$114
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abbey Grange Hotel(Llangollen)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$91
$88
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chainbridge Hotel(Llangollen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveler rating
115
193
124
55
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
193
124
55
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the riverturret suitequeen victorialovely old hotelbit datedthe hotel car parkold buildinghigh streetdouble roomfull englishgood sizebreakfast was excellentstaff were pleasanttop floorwould stay againpiping hotriver dee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
423 - 428 of 525 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had booked this hotel through Booking.com and thank goodness it was no deposit needed!!
The booking was for three nights at a "special offer" of £195.
On arrival we were given a key and told were our room was, we are both in our sixties and no help was offered with cases and the room was on the second floor and a good distance away.
The hotel was in need of some serious updating, threadbare carpets and just a general feeling of this place needs some work doing to it. Our room was "drab and tatty" and my wife detected a smell of stale perspiration!! We decided fairly quickly that we felt we were unable to stay and immediately returned to reception and advised them accordingly. The gentleman at reception seemed indifferent to our concerns and did not any apology or alternative. We left immediately. The Royal Hotel looks nothing at all like their website portrays it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here for a night in February and it is just a sweet,cosy,homely little place! It gives you a very happy and relaxed sense, as the rooms are very lovely and comfortable, as are the dining room and the lounge, and even the lobby. I was very lucky to have a room that overlooked the river and the lovely little village, which was such a beautifu and picturesque scenery. The place in which is it located is a very beautiful place as well, with lovely little lakes and shops and areas to walk, as the village itself was a such a cute,peaceful,calm place as it had no crowds of people and was very relaxed. It also had some very great bars and pubs to have a few drinks at. It is actually perfect in the winter and autumn, i would only really go there around those times actually, it is more convenient.

Room Tip: The ones at the front overlooking the river and the town are the best.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

stayed in royal hotel for weekend with a deal from groupon. hotel is clean and lovely tho needs work doing to it. breakfast is buffet style so you can have a feast!

Thank fabfoodhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My parents often stayed at this hotel many years ago, (40+ in fact) returning time and time again, so when it came to needing a three day break, we decided to give it a try. Knowing it's position beside the Dee and the fine old bridge, I booked a "superior" room, hopefully giving us a good view from the bedroom window. In this we were well rewarded, having a room in the 'turret' area, on the corner of the building, with one window facing the bridge and the other the main street. The room was very spacious with a large walk-in clothes cupboard and separate bathroom and toilet. We were concerned that it would be noisy in an evening; well, apart from the sound of the river there were all the usual noises of traffic and people (the latter more so on the Friday evening!) but this tended to subside by 11.00 p.m. and became surprisingly quiet for the rest of the night. As for the hotel décor, it was rather knocked about in places and could well do with being shown a paint brush more frequently (big scratch down our bedroom wall and kick marks on fire doors for instance) and some of the stair carpets were somewhat threadbare. Breakfast was adequate although the hotel did not offer evening meals (at least when we were there in July) but that was fine, since there is no shortage of eating places locally. Our room was clean. The bed, well, not up to home standard but acceptable as things go. Bar area was improved by the outside sitting area - suspended over the river - but the drinks were rather expensive. Would we return? Well, perhaps, but not immediately!

Room Tip: Worth spending a little more for room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews