We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weeknd break.”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just had a nice two night s at the Royal in Llangollen.
Lovely hotel, little bit of up date, but room spotless, wonderful breakfast.
Manager Albert lovely man, staff well presented and very helpful.
Well worth a stay for a short visit to Llangollen.
Not doing main meals at moment due to time of year, but they suggested a good variety of places to eat and drink in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for superior room overlooking river Dee. ( bit dearer but lovely view ).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted5457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 495 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

As most people say, the decor is tired but in fairness it was clean and the room was comfortable. Despite this, it is not a place I would stay again.
On the three days we were there, breakfast was served late. It wasn't clear what the menu actually was - you can have a full breakfast or any thing from it, but as to what constituted a full breakfast was vague. On two of the three mornings they missed out an element of my breakfast and it had to go back. It was also very greasy. The toast looked as if it had bypassed the toaster and could only be described as warm bread, The tea was served in varying pot sizes and on the last morning, the pot was so small we couldn't get two full cups out of it.
On our last morning we had to wait a full 15 minutes before anyone came to the desk so we could check out.
One evening we decided to have some drinks in the bar. A group of 4 girls and one lad plus a toddler were in there. They were very loud and their language was appalling. The lad sprayed his hair with hairspray with no regard for who was around him and the spray doused me. One of the girls was spraying her underarms with deodorant? This is not the clientele you would want to encourage and several people came into the bar while we were there and very quickly left without stopping for a drink. What was worse was the group were obviously friends of the guy behind the bar, and he was giving them drinks at lower prices.
Its position while being a huge bonus, is also a disadvantage as it was very noisy at night and we were woken several times at 2.00 in the morning by revellers.

Room Tip: river view may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank filligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Friday evening and loved it. The staff were very nice and helpful, especially the gentleman on reception. We had a lovely room overlooking the river. The bedroom was spacious. The breakfast was good and plenty of it. The decor is probably a bit tired, not that really matters to us. It is much more important that the hotel was clean, the service and breakfast good. The hotel is also in a very good location alongside the river.

Room Tip: Request a river view and seek a table at breakfast with a river view too, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel early May this has a fabulous location on the banks of the river dee. The hotel is very nice although looking little tired. The staff are very helpful breakfast was nice and substantial. The rooms are bright and airy with tea facilities they were lovely and clean with central heating. We did not have a river view but the noise from the main road wasn't to bad. Steam railway is les than 5 mins walk nice shops and tea rooms several bars and restaurants and three cash points close by all in all a nice hotel will stay again

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We called in to this hotel on the off chance of room availability. The gentleman on reception was charming and very accomodating. He showed us a choice of a couple of rooms, both of which had stunning views of the River Dee. He also gave us a very good rate. We had a wonderful nights sleep, followed by a very tasty breakfast and all at a reasonable price. We will be returning in October for a 2 night break.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location, great staff, easy parking, would highly recommend it! Great value for money, with stunning views, riverside with a beer garden making the most of it. I am taking the in laws later in the year with no hesitation, so must be good!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markerwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel for two nights with 29 others on our annual golfing weekend. The location is great with wonderful views of the river and ancient bridge. My whole party thought the food and service was excellent. One our group accidentally left credit cards and £90 in cash in a bedroom drawer. The hotel very kindly ensured we got everything back. This is not a 5 star luxury establishment, but it does represent excellent value for money and I would have no hesitation in staying there again. I would like to thank Albert (the owner) and his staff for the wonderfully friendly manner in which they looked after us.
Mike Serridge

Room Tip: Room 114 has the outstanding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
781 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
548 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
815 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 7 Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range: $89 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing