We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not So Royal Anymore”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not So Royal Anymore”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The location right on the river and so near to the railway station is the main strength for us choosing this hotel. The price we paid was very good value but we couldn't help but feel that with a certain amount of room renovation how we would have been prepared to pay a lot more. The views from the restaurant, bar and outside decking area are outstanding and the private offstreet parking across the street was very useful as parking near the centre of town is at a premium. I am not sure however if there are sufficient spaces if the hotel is full. The public areas are mainly quite tired but do retain a certain charm and elegance. Our room on the second floor had a view across the street towards the river and railway station but was very, very outdated with a strangely painted vanity table and the bathroom can't have been modernised for years and years. The washbasin was cracked and there was a lot of mold around the window. We were relieved only to be staying the one night and didn't use the bath. We had wanted to eat at the Corn Mill where on a previous visit we had enjoyed a very good dinner but had failed to make a reservation and found it full. We therefore elected to eat in the hotel restaurant and the dinner was more than adequate home cooking and very reasonably priced. Service was prompt and friendly. There were juices and cereals available from the breakfast buffet and hot selections were cooked to order. The trip on the steam train from the station to Carrog was a highlight and we just had time to walk to the local pub in Carrog where the views over the River Dee were stunning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachseeker52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    165
    104
    45
    29
See reviews for
54
235
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for two nights on a Groupon deal and we were a little apprehensive due to previous reviews. We had nothing to worry about. Excellent location with stunning views even in the driving rain. Staff were polite and helpful, particularly when we had issues with parking our car- the owner kindly moved his car so we could leave ours outside the hotel when the car park was full. Our room was warm and clean, with a well stocked tea tray and a good shower in the bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Very reasonable bar prices. WiFi was a decent speed.

Yes the decor is dated and the place could do with a lick of paint and a new carpet but it is part of the charm and we did see evidence of work taking place, though this didn't disturb our stay. The shortage of parking was a minor frustration but the staff were most helpful and it appears that parking is an issue around the town as a whole. Overall we would return and if it's a great location you want, The Royal is very hard to beat.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandmaria2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed one night at the Royal Hotel in Llangollen on our way from Oxfordshire to Criccieth to meet up with family for the Bank Holiday weekend. We loved the hotel. The chap on reception was amusing and very friendly, all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was huge!

Our room overlooked the river and we spotted a heron fishing and it was just delightful.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suegalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

me and my wife had a weekend away in llangolan last weekend 12-5-12 and booked 2 nights bed and breakfast at the royal hotel we arrived on the saturday and found the hotel parking ok with a few spaces available on checking in we were given a room on the second floor(no lift)the room was ok but not the one of the ones shown on the web site but we were only using it to sleep in we were on the roadside of the hoel but was-not bothered by any noise also the riverside decking is great the resteraunt was-not open on the saturday night so we ate out.on the sunday the problems started at 09.30 workmen started to rip up the carpet in the corridor outside the room a couple of minutes later they informed me that they would be taking up the carpet and floorboards in our room i had a word with the manager(old guy with an attitude problem) who informed me thast it was ok to have people working in the room while we were staying there after a heated discussion he agreed to move us the housekeeper(a very nice and polite woman did'nt get her name thank you for you're help)told me we were to be moved to room 111 and all our stuff would be moved for us we then went out for the day on our return and getting our new room key from a sheepish manager we found we had a pleasant room as seen on the web and all our stuff put away.we then left on monday.a few other things the hotel was fully booked on the saturday and the breakfast on sunday reflected the fact the sausages were cheap and nasty the hash browns were deep fried and the bacon not cooked (staff really helpful)we decided not to have breakfast on monday but to eat a a cafe(butterd toast opposite the bus staion full enlish recommended). on the good side we had lunch and evening meal at the winnstay arms just 100 yards from the hotel the staff were great the people welcoming and the food exellent(would recommend the steak all local produce and real ale served also has accomodation).the second place we ate on the sunday was the bridge end hotel across the bridge good company and the food of a high standard and would eat there again(this also has accomodation)all in all i think we just picked the wrong hotel but had a great weekend elsewhere as i have said llangollan is a good base for snowdonia ect and i would visit again but just wont stay at the royal again.

Room Tip: referbished and riverside rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyokeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llangollen hotels

Harrow, Middlesex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed 4 nights mid week. Friendly welcome and all staff were friendly throughout the stay. If the hotel's car park is full, they can give you a pass to park on the street right in front of the hotel. In practice, this means that they have more car parking space in proportion to the number of rooms than many other city/town centre hotels of similar age. I was given a double room which was comfortable and clean. Breakfast choice was limited, but the cooked breakfast was to order and always good quality; better than the buffet breakfasts in many, much more expensive, chain hotels in which I have stayed.

The hotel's location is excellent: right in the centre of the town, by the river. For anyone visiting the Llangollen Railway, or planning to take a boat trip on the canal, you can't do better for location.

It's true that the hotel needs investment. Yes, some of the carpeting is well worn and some areas need redecoration.

Bottom line: I'd consider staying again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMCHarrow_Middlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

The Royal Hotel is in dire need of an update in more ways than one. Dirty windows, threadbare carpet, musty smell, (and thats just the welcoming lobby). Unfortunately, we didn't even get much further than that.

The elderly guy at reception had double booked us, and said we should not be here on a Bank Holiday (as if it was our fault). So, as a 'favour' he sent us down the road to the (superior) Hand Hotel for our 2 day stay. I wasn't too worried as it looked nice with a garden looking over the river.

By the time we reached our replacement Hotel, (10 mins) he had changed his mind and phoned ahead to say we should stay for just 1 day and have to return for the 2nd, which meant we were already running around through no fault of our own.

In the morning, after checking out at 9am and begrudgingly returning, he then let wouldn't let us check in to his hotel until after 3pm, leaving us to carry our luggage around all day.

He was so arrogant and old fashioned, we decided to stay elsewhere, even though I had paid upfront.

Llangollen is a lovely town on the River Dee, and well placed to explore Snowdonia. We found friendly people in every establshment... except one.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We reserved a twin room with a river view. Confirmation via email that we would have a lovely twin room with river view.

Arrived late afternoon. Not enough parking but management allowed us to park in front of garage door.

When we arrived at our room we noticed we did not have a river view. When I asked the elderly gentleman at reception about our river view room, he said they were full. I asked why they promised us the river view room. He stated rather abruptly that they would NEVER promise us such a thing. I was very upset by this and told him as much. He said he'd see if he could move us the next day as a very special favour. (Special favour?) I was still not happy with the attitude but there was not much that could be done.

The room we were given was right on the corner of the main road, and was very noisy. The room itself was old and worn. The bathroom was fine.

From approximately 10pm our next door neighbours arrived back in their room and thats when the noise started. The walls are paper thin. Every word could be heard. The TV must have been mounted on the other side at my head. It was blaring in my ears.

That was the least of our worries. We found out the next day it was a young couple celebrating a late valentines day and celebrate they did. They spent the whole night enjoying "adult activities" of which we were forced to hear. This was incredibly unpleasant.

I was with my elderly mother and she was incredibly unhappy by the experience. She spent most of the night in the lounge just to get away from the noise She complained to reception (when she could finally find them). But unfortunately this made no difference.

This carried on until around 6am. We literally had no sleep the whole night.

Breakfast choices were limited but the quality of the food was fine. Service was very good in the restaurant. We were impressed.

We made some serious complaints the next morning. They finally did find a river view room for us. The second room was stunning. It's definitely been updated, as apposed to the very sad first room.

Stunning view of the river. Incredible relaxing (if not noisy) sound of the river was devine.

If we had been given the room we were promised we would have had an incredible experience and would have given a much better rating. But because they had not given us the room they had confirmed, we had a terrible first night and thus it has really spoiled our experience at this hotel. Such a pity as I had been waiting for years to have the opportunity of staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atravelfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
1.2 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 7 Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing