We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last time........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gales Of Llangollen
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to this quirky little spot a couple of years ago and had a good time. Reasonable room, good wine bar, which is all we wanted. This time we went for a suite and looked forward to another meal and drinks in the wine bar. Although we knew the place was closed on the Sunday night, we were given the impression it would be open on the lunctime but it wasnt............ which half defeated the objecxt of staying there in the first place..... The room was spacious but disappointing overll - the showerhead came a way from the pipe, only one channel on the TV, and complimentary port bottle was nearly empty from the guests the day before. The rate quoted was for B&B but when youi get down to the breakfast area its continental only, if you want anything hot its an extra £5. No problem with the £5, but more openness when booking would be better. Still an ok place - but only OK now - 2 years ago it was good...............

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodbeer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 279 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in the summer holidays for a night with our son. We had a really comfortable and homely room that was more than big enough for the three of us. With a fabulous, warm welcome and delightful meal at night we were even more chuffed to be given a full-on Welsh breakfast the next morning. Extremely reasonable, fab service and we'll definitely return if we're in that part of lovely Wales.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMTK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Breakfast good but the tables looked like they had not been cleaned from the night before.
The shower was really awful very difficult to control, also bathroom was grubby.

Check in was very easy and all the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: ground floor room at the rear very quiet in the night. Good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here last weekend for just one night. Very friendly, informative, relaxed and efficient owner and staff. Pleasant bedroom, comfortable bed, liked the quaintness of the place. Enjoyed the complimentary carafe of port- a great idea! Didn't eat at night as we had made other other arrangements but enjoyed a fantastic cooked breakfast in the morning - £5 each extra to the room rate but well worth it. Tastiest bacon in a long time! Parking slightly difficult but happy to leave our key with the staff - they did move it a couple of times without any problems. No problems with noise at night. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudeG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely weekend at Gales. Aftwer reading some of the reviews we were quite worried what to expect. We arrived and the 2 young men on the desk ( 1 been the owners son) were lovely couldnt do enough for us even went outside to the car-park to find us a space to park our car. The room was very old fashioned and mis-matched but it all added to the character of the place. The bed was huge and very comfy and everyting was very clean. Nice toughes such as 2 glasses and a little decanter of Port and lots of different teas ands coffee by the kettle all added to the experience. We ate in the wine bar and the food was fabulous the staff looked after us very well constantly asking if we needed anything. We met lots of lovely local people who welcomed us into there evening and we really enjoyed it. Next morning my husband had the extra £5 Breakfast which was lovely and worth the extra I had the continental
breakfast included in the price Toast ,Cereal, Yogurt, Fresh Fruit. We foun d everything added to a lovely weekend and we will definately return to Gales in the near future.

Room Tip: WE had room 1 which over looked the high St and you could see lots going on but it could be noisy la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disappointed17358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We are just back from an excellent few days away in lovely Llangollen.Gales is an excelllent place to stay but beware no lift & stairs very steep.
Staff were all very friendly,rooms clean fresh towels each day.
Breakfast was lovely & they didnt mind changing anything on it for you
Had a lovely evening meal in the restaurat & lovely bottle of wine
Overall a lovely place to stay in a lovely part of the country definately stay here again !

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms opposite reception then you dont have to go across the forecourt for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie161270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

NEVER again will i visit this establishment, room was cold, breakfast was awful, staff were unhelpful and VERY unwelcoming, i felt like it was very clicky and therefore me and my partner felt uncomfortable. No car parking space on arrival, (also must state that carpark was used as a smoking area). I wish we had tried elsewhere, llangollen is such a beautiful place, shame the same cant be said for Gales! The only positive i can say is that the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
493 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
548 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
814 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gales Of Llangollen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gales Of Llangollen

Address: 18 Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Llangollen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llangollen
Price Range: $81 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gales Of Llangollen 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gales Of Llangollen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gales Hotel Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing