We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$83
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Llangollen)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Abbey Grange Hotel(Llangollen)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chainbridge Hotel(Llangollen)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveler rating
116
158
103
40
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
158
103
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmale voice choirlive bandriverside gardenthe riverbeer gardena large car parkfriday eveninghotel barbuffet stylebay windowcentral locationfriendly hotelenjoyed my staytwin roomstaff were really friendlystayed for nightssteam railway
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 445 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

It's best to avoid The Hand Hotel as it is shabby, dirty and unwelcoming. Our corner room had wonderful views to Dinas Bran on one side and LLangollen Church on the other and the room was a good size. The mattress was unbearably hard and uncomfortable and the bed linen and pillows were cheap and of poor quality. The bottom sheet didn't cover the whole of the mattress and the valance was filthy. The duvet was thin and there were no spare blankets or pillows in the room which had no central heating. The shower was temperamental and the sink was in the bedroom. The person who checked us in was wearing Chef whites which were anything but white and couldn't find our booking. The corridors were not clean and there was an unloved feel about the communal areas except for the breakfast room. The breakfast was adequate and edible but there were no smiles or engagement from the waiting staff. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. We were asked to pay on arrival and in retrospect I can understand why. We might have chickened out there and then had we not paid up front. We will put it down to experience, one that we will not repeat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank markanddoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

After arriving on site following a 3 hour drive the local work lads asked where we would be staying, when we said the hand hotel they all laughed and said what a mess and badly run place it is. We decided to give it the benefit of doubt and give it a go. First impressions of the outside wasnt too bad as the carpark was relatively tidy, nearly missed it driving past though. The receptionist was helpful and got us checked in quickly. But as soon as we got to the rooms we realised what the lads on site had said. My room has got to be the smallest room i have ever stayed in, the tv diddnt work neither did the lights in the bedroom, the bathroom was the only light i had in the whole room, as there is no central heating the rooms have electric fan assisted heaters, maybe quite a good idea 20 years ago but now are very noisy as they seem to be well past there best. the single bed was tiny leaving my legs hanging out of the end by the morning, the mattress was solid, great if you like sleeping on a what feels like a wooden plank!!! After my first night i asked reception to have a look at the tv as being a contractor away from home all week having a tv helps! the receptionist said it would be sorted by the time i returned, it wasnt! so i asked to be moved rooms which came from a slightly disgruntled member of staff who seemed to be running reception and the bar. the new room was a little better well at least some of the lights and the tv worked. But the headboard of the bed was filthy and had three tears in it showing its age!
small rooms
tv not working
grubby
noisy heaters/bathroom fans
very old fashioned
food 2/10
do serve a nice pint tho

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomo8422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a few days spare and decided to to go to North wales. Not sure where to stop and found the Hand Hotel. A little gem next to the dee. Not a great lover of the modern type of hotel with lots of bland decor etc. The Hand has character and the old fashioned charm in bucket loads. Sunday lunchtime was the jazz band great stuff. We stayed for 3 nights - the room was comfortable and clean, and the food and beer was brill, problem if we stayed any longer would get like a barrel even after all the walking. Thanks to all at the Hand and see you again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucysnoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a 1 night stay and were charged £85.00 bed & breakfast.
The room was extremely small and basic, but more importantly " tatty ", the bathroom ( just a shower) was dirty.
The bed was so uncomfortable you could feel the springs along your back.
The kettle had wires sticking out of it !!.
We had to use an Extension Lead in the bedroom.
The food was not too good and breakfast was just a joke with no where to sit until the staff decided to clear a table for us, bearing in mind there were around 20 plus tables.
The hotel boasts free Wi Fi but there was none.
By the way, there was NO mobile phone reception in Llangollen, although that's not the hotel's fault.
All in all, we were extremely disappointed with the hotel, the room, the food and the service.
I would not go back there if they paid us to.
On a lighter note Llangollen is a lovely little town with plenty of Restaurants and Bars. Take a Steam Train journey from Llangollen to Carrog, this was very picturesque.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lesl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I loved the quirkiness and quaintness of this hotel. Our bedroom was small but adequate and overlooked the courtyard . It has a long history and was a favourite haunt of the ladies of Llangollen. The front bedrooms overlook the river Dee and has views of the distant ruins of the dramatic Welsh castle of Dinas Bran.The food was good and I loved the small beer garden facing the beautiful river. On weekends evening we could join in with the fine singing of a local Welsh choir or take a walk through the town and along the river walkway to one of the many pubs and hotels.

Room Tip: The front bedrooms allegedly have beautiful views, according to our fellow travellers.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GALLESE355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews