We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like ghosts then this is the hotel for you!”
Review of The Hand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night with 3 friends to visit another friend who lives in Llangollen. The hotel is situated in a beautiful location. The room was average-bit dusty and the kettle was broken but I didn't expect glamour for the price! Breakfast the next morning was lovely-you could help yourself to a range of food and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only downside was that we did not have a very good sleep...knocking on walls, floorboards creaking closer and closer towards our bed until we sat up and they stopped, whispering voices of a man and a bedside table which rocked from side to side on it's own. Take out the ghostly goings on at night and we would have enjoyed our stay here more!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahBe1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 434 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times and have enjoyed the meals until now. I had dinner in the hotel last night the 25th and I would have enjoyed a burger restaurant better. This morning I was wanting a cooked breakfast as arranged at 07:30 it arrived at 07:50 . 20 mins may not sound bad but when you have a coach load of passengers on a schedule then it makes a big difference. I will now recommend food here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benidorm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with friendly staff who are always there to help. Hotel is lovely and set in a wonderful location overlooking the River Dee. Our room was lovely and spacious with a great view of the river. Food was excellent and was impressed with the traditional full English breakfast. Can't wait to pay the hand hotel another visit

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmangp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had a lovely time. Whilst the hotel may be in need of some updating it has a warm cosy feeling and is certainly not below standard. The room was spotlessly clean. My sister even had a river view for the same price. The staff were exceptionally helpful. We had forgotten our tickets for the eisteddfod and they let me check email, print out and even contacted the venue for us at no extra charge. We spent a blissful afternoon in the riverside beer garden before our evening out. The location is great, just off the main street, easy walking distance to railway and canal etc. The bed was very comfartable and rooms have tv and tea coffee facilities. Only complaint would be that whilst the shower was lovely and hot the shower head was very small and the flow poor. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. Overall a great place to stay for avery reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask if river view is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyphillips7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

stayed for 2 nights in a twin room. There was mould around the bath and the shower was difficult to manage. The water pressure seemed poor. The tray with tea and coffee was on a glass topped unit which meant it was apt to slide about. There was no introductory information in the room. The beds were too firm. The view from the room was beautiful and the garden area was very pleasant. The staff were helpful. We were dismayed to see the eggs at breakfast and the bacon swimming in oil or something. Make your own toast was a bit hit and miss.

Room Tip: no lift in this hotel so be careful if you have difficulty with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night for a wedding the staff were very friendly and the riverside location and beer garden was very pleasant, perfect for wedding photos. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. The only thing that let it down was our room which was at the back overlooking the entrance it was very noisy even after the live band and disco had finished playing, two inconsiderate men insisted on having a very loud conversation at 1.45 in the morning so aim for a room at the front, the room and ensuite however was very clean which is the main thing, so overall we had a pleasant stay. .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakewell15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here one night but I had a great experience. Awesome view over the river and cute little rooms. Wifi was good but only outside in there riverside beer garden and downstairs. Breakfast was very good as well. Definately recommend the hand hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lukehump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangollen
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
517 reviews
0 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
294 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
578 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
835 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hand Hotel

Address: The Hand Hotel Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range: $77 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing above a beautiful stretch of the River Dee close to the centre of the pretty market town of Llangollen. The Hand Hotel with its stunning riverside garden, old world charm, ample free parking and home cooked food from our popular restaurant, is ideal for romance, for families, and groups, whether private or business, as well as for your wedding or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Hand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hand Hotel Llangollen
The Hand Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing