We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money. Will definately stay here again”
Review of The Hand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had a lovely time. Whilst the hotel may be in need of some updating it has a warm cosy feeling and is certainly not below standard. The room was spotlessly clean. My sister even had a river view for the same price. The staff were exceptionally helpful. We had forgotten our tickets for the eisteddfod and they let me check email, print out and even contacted the venue for us at no extra charge. We spent a blissful afternoon in the riverside beer garden before our evening out. The location is great, just off the main street, easy walking distance to railway and canal etc. The bed was very comfartable and rooms have tv and tea coffee facilities. Only complaint would be that whilst the shower was lovely and hot the shower head was very small and the flow poor. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. Overall a great place to stay for avery reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask if river view is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyphillips7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 417 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

stayed for 2 nights in a twin room. There was mould around the bath and the shower was difficult to manage. The water pressure seemed poor. The tray with tea and coffee was on a glass topped unit which meant it was apt to slide about. There was no introductory information in the room. The beds were too firm. The view from the room was beautiful and the garden area was very pleasant. The staff were helpful. We were dismayed to see the eggs at breakfast and the bacon swimming in oil or something. Make your own toast was a bit hit and miss.

Room Tip: no lift in this hotel so be careful if you have difficulty with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night for a wedding the staff were very friendly and the riverside location and beer garden was very pleasant, perfect for wedding photos. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. The only thing that let it down was our room which was at the back overlooking the entrance it was very noisy even after the live band and disco had finished playing, two inconsiderate men insisted on having a very loud conversation at 1.45 in the morning so aim for a room at the front, the room and ensuite however was very clean which is the main thing, so overall we had a pleasant stay. .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakewell15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here one night but I had a great experience. Awesome view over the river and cute little rooms. Wifi was good but only outside in there riverside beer garden and downstairs. Breakfast was very good as well. Definately recommend the hand hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lukehump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our EF tour. It was a nice, quaint town although most of the shops were closed by the time we arrived. We hiked along the river and the kids enjoyed there time. The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our group enjoyed this hotel, even though it was not a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so ......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kennys622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Five friends and I stayed at the Hand Hotel for two nights 12th June 2013. We were on a golfing tour in North Wales. Our requirements were for clean and comfortable single rooms with en-suite bath rooms and substantial breakfast to set us up for a day on the golf course. The Hand Hotel satisfied all our requirements and gave excellent value for money. Please note that is the limit of our requirements so I am unable to give an opinion on anything else. As always, would I recommend to a friend? In these circumstances, yes. Would I book again, for accommodation for a golf holiday, yes. It is highly likely we will book again for golf in Llangollen in 2014.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed on Saturday night in single room for a stag weekend.
Good size, but bed was hard, shower poor, tv did not work, sash window broken, although it did open. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, lots of choice.
Bar, Lounge and Gardens were better than expected, the hotel is just old, and needs some investment, as does most of Llangollen.

Good value, I would recommend it for a short stay only.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pecabarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.9 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
548 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
815 reviews
1.9 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hand Hotel

Address: The Hand Hotel Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range: $76 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing above a beautiful stretch of the River Dee close to the centre of the pretty market town of Llangollen. The Hand Hotel with its stunning riverside garden, old world charm, ample free parking and home cooked food from our popular restaurant, is ideal for romance, for families, and groups, whether private or business, as well as for your wedding or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hand Hotel Llangollen
The Hand Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing