We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place!”
Review of The Hand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here one night but I had a great experience. Awesome view over the river and cute little rooms. Wifi was good but only outside in there riverside beer garden and downstairs. Breakfast was very good as well. Definately recommend the hand hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lukehump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    131
    92
    36
    24
See reviews for
71
131
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keystone Heights, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our EF tour. It was a nice, quaint town although most of the shops were closed by the time we arrived. We hiked along the river and the kids enjoyed there time. The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our group enjoyed this hotel, even though it was not a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so ......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kennys622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Five friends and I stayed at the Hand Hotel for two nights 12th June 2013. We were on a golfing tour in North Wales. Our requirements were for clean and comfortable single rooms with en-suite bath rooms and substantial breakfast to set us up for a day on the golf course. The Hand Hotel satisfied all our requirements and gave excellent value for money. Please note that is the limit of our requirements so I am unable to give an opinion on anything else. As always, would I recommend to a friend? In these circumstances, yes. Would I book again, for accommodation for a golf holiday, yes. It is highly likely we will book again for golf in Llangollen in 2014.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed on Saturday night in single room for a stag weekend.
Good size, but bed was hard, shower poor, tv did not work, sash window broken, although it did open. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, lots of choice.
Bar, Lounge and Gardens were better than expected, the hotel is just old, and needs some investment, as does most of Llangollen.

Good value, I would recommend it for a short stay only.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pecabarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
216 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a pokey little room - TV didn't work, window didn't shut properly (it needed carpentry work as the wood was distorted) shower took ages to get warm. Just a place to stay so I could live with it and even though the buffet breakfast was great, with lovely bacon and tasty sausages, at £55 a night I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llangollen hotels

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Visited Llangollen to go on a barge trip in Trevor with 20 family members.10 of us stayed at The Hand.Very friendly service on arrival.Lovely olde worlde place , lots of room to walk about and sit.All rooms had more beds in than we needed , 1 single room had 3 beds , my family room had 5.Had a meal at dinner , steak , but wasnt anything special but fine.Breakfast was amazing , all sorts on offer in a big breakfast room.Entertainment on saturday night was a great rock/ rok n roll band , very loud , and surprising considering there were 50 or so older people on a trip from Luton! Great stuff. Right in the middle of town , large car parking , When I go back to Llangollen this is where we will be staying.Great views from room of the river and its own large garden area , lovely

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is centrally located in Llangollen and has a lovely garden attached which overlooks the river. I paid £50 for a single room which had three single beds in it. Usually that would mean the room was very cramped but the room was huge. This did lead to the room becoming quite cold because there was only a small electric heater but it wasn't too bad. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there was a nice atmosphere at the hotel. It was mostly older people staying there but also some bikers and our large family with children.

The breakfast was included and was very good. I would definitely stay here again. There are no lifts however, so if you are a wheelchair user or can't handle many stairs I would give them a call first to check how they will cater for you, as the breakfast room is also up a flight of stairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doubleshiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llangollen hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.9 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#5 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gales Of Llangollen
Gales Of Llangollen
#3 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hand Hotel

Property: The Hand Hotel
Address: The Hand Hotel Bridge Street, Llangollen LL20 8PL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing above a beautiful stretch of the River Dee close to the centre of the pretty market town of Llangollen. The Hand Hotel with its stunning riverside garden, old world charm, ample free parking and home cooked food from our popular restaurant, is ideal for romance, for families, and groups, whether private or business, as well as for your wedding or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Hand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hand Hotel Llangollen
The Hand Hotel Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing