We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and quiet without the remoteness.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Capel Pennant

Capel Pennant
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Capel Pennant
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Capel Pennant
Archway in bedroom with view down into the sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and quiet without the remoteness.”
Reviewed November 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It's a struggle to find anything negative to say about Capel Pennant. The location is glorious, the peace complete (there are more chickens and geese than cars on the adjacent narrow lane, the views beautiful, the hosts charming without being intrusive and the cottage characterful, clean and comfortable. It's well placed for more days out than you could fit into a week, from Chester Zoo to Portmeirion and there are even some excellent pubs not too far away for when you don't want to cook.
However, nowhere is perfect and there were a few snags, chief amongst which was the non-existent internet service. Of course, those wishing to get away from it all may embrace this as a good thing, but with no mobile signal or land line either, it does make mundane tasks like looking up opening times and booking table reservations difficult. Still I understand this is BT's fault, so Nick and Derek can hardly be blamed for that. There were a few minor maintenance issues that really should be addressed, but listing them would give the wrong impression and it's near the end of a busy season so we can forgive a few blemishes. The only thing I will say is that the kitchen knives badly need sharpening and if that's the worst I can think of, you can draw your own conclusions.
Picking up on a couple of recurrent themes in other reviews, we to were mystified by the comment that the parking was a long way from the cottage: it really isn't. The bed is exceptionally good quality but it is soft: being used to a firm mattress, we both had backache and slept little on the first night, but the second was better and we had completely adapted by the third and found it really snug and comfortable thereafter.
Overall then, well deserving of it's five star reviews and thanks to the owners for sharing such a glorious spot.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2016
Thank you so much for going to the trouble to leave a review and particularly for giving us five stars. We will certainly get the knives sharpened and appreciate you bring this to our attention. We're sorry the internet wasn't working when you were here - it does usually work although only strong enough for e.mailing etc rather than streaming films and the like. BT has actually laid a conduit for fast fibre broadband all the way up from the village but we're still waiting for the cabling or whatever to be installed. We live in hope! We're pleased as well that you got used to the bed and had a good night's sleep eventually. It is actually classed as a firm mattress with an inbuilt soft topper and most people have reported sleeping extremely well. So we very much we will see you again some time at Plas Pennant.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Thank you very much for the feedback Patricia - it's much appreciated. I'm sorry you found the ceiling height in the bedroom a problem. That's the trouble with historic buildings - they are a bit quirky - and at 6'6" your husband obviously needs more generous headroom. We're really glad though you had an enjoyable week overall. Best wishes, Nick & Derek
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ann208
Birmingham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet in the most beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Capel Pennant was just superb. We were met by Derek on our arrival who made us feel so welcome. We were so impressed with the accommodation, everything was just perfect. The bed was just the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and made mine at home feel inferior!! The grounds of Plas Pennant are just beautiful and we were made to feel at home. The roads in and out of the estate are tiny but you soon get used to them (we only got lost once!). We would most definitely recommend this beautiful property. Breakfast al fresco was superb, (shared with a selection of chickens). Weather was kind to us. You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Wifi wasn't the best but why would you need it in a place like this!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Thank you so much Ann for going to the trouble to leave a review - it really is very much appreciated, particularly as your comments are so positive. Thank you also for being such considerate guests and leaving the chapel so tidy when you left. We really hope to see you again at Plas Pennant in the future. Keep in touch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dido B
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Could not recommend Capel Pennant enough. We had a lovely weekend making the most of the scenic walks and surrounding towns (easily accessible, even without our own car!). Arriving from London was very simple as there is a nearby station. Nick was friendly, picking us up from the station, answering all our questions and advising us to visit Llangollen, a lovely nearby town. Our stay was very private however and we thoroughly enjoyed spending time in the garden and cooking in the well-equipped kitchen. The rooms were thoughtfully decorated and had everything we needed, including an extremely comfortable bed! The perfect getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, and particularly for your very positive comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Plas Pennant and very much hope you visit again. Thank you also for being such hassle free guests and leaving the chapel so tidy when you left. Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueI1176A...
Crymych, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Capel Pennant has been beautifully restored and has the most wonderful views. We stayed for four nights and loved it here. Spotless and very comfy. A great base to explore the area too. We would love to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and views
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2016
Thank you so much for your positive comments - they really are appreciated. You were the perfect guests - happy, positive and left the chapel just as you found it. We very much hope to see you again at Plas Pennant in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philip r
bucklebury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique accommodation in a quiet rural setting.”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were delighted with Capel Pennant as it provided just what we were looking for - a quiet country location, interesting character building, beautifully decorated and fully equipped. The bonus of friendly horses, chickens and geese made our 3 day stay even more special. We couldn't stop staring at the view and the lovely front patio bench was perfect for relaxing and enjoying the surroundings. This place is well-worth a visit and there is a lot to see nearby. We'd also highly recommend the Segway tour in the Chirck castle grounds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful character and beautiful decorative style of the chapel.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2016
Thank you so much for your feedback and such positive comments - it really is appreciated. We hope to see you again at Plas Pennant.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning place”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A beautiful location, cosy, well maintained property with all the essentials for a week away.
There are lots of walks from the door in any direction and we had the added luxury of good weather in Wales.
Derek and Nick are attentive but not intrusive owners and made us very welcome.
Mobile and Internet reception are elusive at times but that's the joy of rural hilly Britain.
I would recommend this property to anyone who likes to be out and about all day and cosy and cosited on return or who just wants to sit about and enjoy a quiet,beautiful location.
Having reviewed previous comments I am a little mystified about the distance between door and car........ It's a few yards. And bed, it's a double bed and supports the average BMI very well.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2016
Many thanks for your review Jane - it's much appreciated. You were great guests and we very much hope to see you back at Plas Pennant again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing