We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GORGE WALKING - A BRILLIANT EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safe and Sound Outdoors - Day Tours

Safe and Sound Outdoors - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.45*
and up
Full or Half-Day Gorge Walking in Llangollen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Safe and Sound Outdoors is a customer focused outdoor activity company based in the stunning Dee Valley in Llangollen. We organise any number of outdoor activities for a number of clients. Whatever you require we'll be able to help. Choose from Whitewater rafting, Gorge Walking, Canyoning, Rock Climbing and Abseiling, Kayaking or Canoeing we're here to help!
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GORGE WALKING - A BRILLIANT EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect but it was fantastic!
Helmets and wet suits were provided but we could've done with knowing that Walking boots as opposed to trainers would've been best as although you are completely submerged in water at various times during the activity, smacking my ankles on the rocks below made for some nasty bruises that are still purple today (10 days on).
Guide was good and kept a steady pace so everyone could keep up.
As it's January it was pretty cold (to be expected) but after 10 mins or so hands and feet felt numb so didn't spoil it too much.
Would definitely recommend and as i ordered it through 'groupon' the price paid was excellent value.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mandm6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    14
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out...even in January”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My partner and I did the 'Rock Climbing and Abseiling' followed by the 'Gauge Walking' and had a fantastic day. The instructor was excellent with great knowledge and a superb attitude that helped get everyone involved. I would fully recommend the activities and the company and would certainly use them again in the future.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PASTA_Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“excellent gorge walk experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked a gorge walk with groupon. Met a the meeting point for introduction and instructions to follow the guide to the river some 10minutes drive away. You change at the side of the river into wetsuits and helmets (no means a fashion statement). Then it's off to the river and into the water and off you go. Our guide was excellent, very informative and unassuming and gave the impression that safety and enjoyment was paramount. You go into water of all levels, ankle, knees and chest deep throughout and having to swim very small distances to get out of the pools you either slide down into on your backside, face down (this is a choice) or jumping. It was freezing at times but you hardly notice as your having so much fun. Nice group of people when we were there.
Could not recommend highly enough, an excellent afternoons adventure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank aew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on trent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorge Walking & Climbing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked this trip from a Groupon and ended up going in February and it was freezing. We were given plenty of safety equipment we needed including 2 wet suits. The only thing missing were some kind of footwear as the water was so cold trainers were not enough. The climbing was great with good tuition who seemed to have the time and patience for everybody. A good day out with the best behaved dog we have ever seen!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lydsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rock Climbing and Abseiling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked this as part of my brothers stag weekend. It was an excellent afternoon and we started off with a small climb and a small abseil before taking on some bigger climbs and a 80 foot abseil at the end.

Craig was very helpful and at all times we felt safe, especically when challenged on some of the bigger climbs and abseil.

It was an excellent afternoon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safe and Sound Outdoors - Day Tours also viewed

Llangollen, Denbighshire
 
Llangollen, Denbighshire
Llangollen, Denbighshire
 

Been to Safe and Sound Outdoors - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing